We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa San Gallito Hostel

Save Saved
You added Casa San Gallito Hostel to your Saves list
Casa San Gallito Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa San Gallito Hostel
Hidalgo 47 | Centro Historico, Queretaro 76000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 Queretaro B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hostel had a nice vibe and is very cozy. When I was there there where not a lot of people staying so it was a little quite. The hostel has a nice courtyard. The staff was very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights before moving in with our host family for a study abroad session. We hardly spoke any spanish at the time and we showed up in the middle of the night, but the people there were very friendly! One or two speak serviceable English.

If I could describe the feeling of being here, it would be like staying at a friend's house. You feel welcome to wander around like the place is yours.

It's no 5 star hotel but it's pretty much what you'd expect for a hostal in Mexico for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

In general a clean hostel. Staff seemed rather stand off-ish. Despite the fact that there was no alcohol on sale other guest stayed up partying till around 3 am. This is usually not an issue and even expected on a Saturday night in a hostel. But the common area is right outside the bedrooms with no buffer for the noise. Decoration in the rooms was rather poor. On the upside each bed has curtains for privacy, a reading lamp and wall socket. Bring your own lock if you need a locker as otherwise you will have one sold to you for $25 pesos. For only $40 ($15 if you need a lock) I'd recomend staying at the Kuku Ruku hostel which is a thousand times nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Clean, comfortable room. Free wifi covered most area of the house. The water heating is not very efficient, as it takes a while to warm up, but not a big issue.

Very nice and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Hostel is safe, staff is nice and in a good location.Breakfast is pretty simple. Bunk beds have curtains for privacy and come equipped with a reading light and fan. Cons: I had to request to change my bottom sheet (third time it happens to me in hundred of hostels I have been) as It was full of hair from another person and this is unacceptable. I have to say the rest of the hostel was spotless. Few unfriendly long term customers living there but this is not hostel fault.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We went to about 10 cities and stayed in many hostels and this one was by far the best in all areas. Safety, location, clean, comfortable and the owner/managers made us feel as if we were in a home!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

One of the best of the 20 hostels during my trip. Very spacious rooms, great common areas, excellent location, always clean, great kitchen, good breaky, friendly staff, fast wi-fi. Just 3-4 blocks from the center, with many inexpensive restaurants for those on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa San Gallito Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Gallito Hostel

Address: Hidalgo 47 | Centro Historico, Queretaro 76000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > Queretaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Queretaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Queretaro’s Historic Center, surrounded by its great architecture and all the incredible museums, galleries, historic parks with live entertainment and artisan alleys, Casa San Gallito [san guy-e-toe] Hostel is the newest and coolest addition to all the great places this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa San Gallito Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa San Gallito Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.