We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maple City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maple City Inn to your Saves list
Maple City Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Chatham, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is in bad shape. The downstairs hallway smelled of cigarette smoke and an unidentified odor, it was so bad I almost turned around and left. Thankfully our room was upstairs and the smell was not quite as bad up there. Our room was ok, but I we had stayed in a really nice hotel the night before for $20 more than this one so I felt that this place was not worth the $120 that we paid. The linens were clean the bed was ok but the carpet was stained. There was a large gap under our door so we heard everyone talking in the hallway all night. Apparently there were a couple of wedding parties staying so a lot of people pasted our door during the night. The problem is there arent many options of hotels in this area, they all looked dated and in need of renovations, so good luck if you need to stay in or around Hornell. We didnt stay for the free breakfast, the smell in the hallway was enough to put us off, so I cant comment on the breakfast.

Room Tip: If you must stay here try to get the second floor, the smell is not so bad up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them in late fall which will include: all goods in rooms such as beds, carpets etc. the entire lobby area and breakfast area. When we are complete we will become a Best Western. I hope that you will give us a second chance. When you are back in the area and need a place to stay please call me personally to make your reservations and I will make sure that your stay will be an excellent one.

Thank you

Kelly K
General Manager
607-324-4300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
17
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we first climbed the stairs to our room I was a little leery. The carpet on the stairs was worn, making me wonder what we would find inside the room. The room itself was quite comfortable and extremely clean. The biggest surprise was the morning breakfast (included). It was amazing, scrambled eggs and sausage, toast, pastries, waffles, fruit, yogurt. Not at all what we expected!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, even at 10 at night!
The only complaint I would have is the firmness of the beds. I have back trouble so to me they were just to hard, but my husband had a great sleep so I would think for most people they are fine.

Room Tip: They warned us that the train travelling on the tracks was quite loud and they did provide ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them shortly. We try our best to make each guest feel at home when they arrive. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we are glad that you enjoyed the great breakfast that we offer. And last but not least we do have a train that goes through the town so we offer ear plugs if you are a lite sleeper. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very friendly front staff. Fast complimentary WiFi in room. Large, clean room.
Not much to complain about.
There is the occasional noisy train that passes through town, or so they say. We all slept well and never heard one.
Nice free hot breakfast. Basic, but it included scrambled eggs, waffles and sausages which most hotels do not offer.
We would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff Darlene (desk), Penny (spelling?) (breakfast), and Coleen (Mgr) provided great customer service to me and my family. The place was clean, safe, and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the GREAT review. We here at the Comfort Inn take pride in our hotel. We have an excellent staff who are very accommodating to all of our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Hornell for a wedding. The wedding guests had all but 3 rooms in the hotel. The staff was very accommodating for our big group. Unfortunately, the only room left for us was a smoking room. They said they ionized the room, but it still smelled like smoke. Others who had a non-smoking room said there was no smoke smell. It was snowing the entire time we were there. The parking lot was kept clear. There was a pool that looked nice, but we didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and we enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and what you would expect for a comfort inn, and yes, like the other reviews stat...,the train is an annoyance. But the staff is what really makes this place. We were offered ear plugs for the train, given a list of recommended restaurants in the area, brought extra pillows and towels, had holidays treats brought to our room and even had breakfast extended one morning when we were late waking up. The staff are so friendly, from the breakfast staff, to the cleaning staff to the front desk staff. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays as well. The pool was nice and warm (the towels could use some upgrading). So other than being woken by the train a few times during the night, which obviously is not the fault of this hotel, I would recommend it. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you really enjoyed the amenities, and that you return again soon. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stay at the Hornell Comfort Inn at least three times a year!!! There are many wonderful features! The staff, warm and friendly many have been there for years, Clean rooms with fridge,TV DVD in all rooms, A daily breakfast with many choices bacon and eggs,waffles to fruit and cereal, it is an older Comfort Inn and yes it is in a Rail Road town for those who don't know Hornells history which is rich with the railroad and gave many folks work in the past and to this day! Part of the charm! There is a workout room,pool (indoor) and the hotel sets in the base of the beautiful mountains of the Southern Tier of New York State! It has a homey feeling about it yet the staff is professional and ready to help their guests whenever possible!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple City Inn

Address: 1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 62 room hotel features an indoor pool & fitness facility & is located in the heart of the Maple City. The rolling hills of the Fingerlakes region surrounds the hotel. Alfred University & State College are just minutes away. For business or pleasure, make us your destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Maple City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hornell
Comfort Inn Hornell Ny
Hornell Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.