We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, would stay there again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maple City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Maple City Inn to your Saves list
Maple City Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice hotel, would stay there again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Hornell for a wedding. The wedding guests had all but 3 rooms in the hotel. The staff was very accommodating for our big group. Unfortunately, the only room left for us was a smoking room. They said they ionized the room, but it still smelled like smoke. Others who had a non-smoking room said there was no smoke smell. It was snowing the entire time we were there. The parking lot was kept clear. There was a pool that looked nice, but we didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
16
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and we enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and what you would expect for a comfort inn, and yes, like the other reviews stat...,the train is an annoyance. But the staff is what really makes this place. We were offered ear plugs for the train, given a list of recommended restaurants in the area, brought extra pillows and towels, had holidays treats brought to our room and even had breakfast extended one morning when we were late waking up. The staff are so friendly, from the breakfast staff, to the cleaning staff to the front desk staff. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays as well. The pool was nice and warm (the towels could use some upgrading). So other than being woken by the train a few times during the night, which obviously is not the fault of this hotel, I would recommend it. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you really enjoyed the amenities, and that you return again soon. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stay at the Hornell Comfort Inn at least three times a year!!! There are many wonderful features! The staff, warm and friendly many have been there for years, Clean rooms with fridge,TV DVD in all rooms, A daily breakfast with many choices bacon and eggs,waffles to fruit and cereal, it is an older Comfort Inn and yes it is in a Rail Road town for those who don't know Hornells history which is rich with the railroad and gave many folks work in the past and to this day! Part of the charm! There is a workout room,pool (indoor) and the hotel sets in the base of the beautiful mountains of the Southern Tier of New York State! It has a homey feeling about it yet the staff is professional and ready to help their guests whenever possible!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was suggested to us, we checked out the reviews and were skeptical at first. After much consideration, we decided to reserve two rooms for two nights to attend a wedding in Canisteo. I can honestly say that our visit was A+. The lobby was decorated with a Candy Land theme for Christmas, including a huge handmade Gingerbread House that was magnificent. The hotel staff was excellent, making popcorn each night for our three young grandchildren, they opened the pool whenever we wanted to use it and in fact, the water was like taking a bath. Our king suite was great for three little ones to run around, as their parents were across the hall. The bed was comfortable, and in fact, we stayed an extra night since our stay was so enjoyable. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise as well. We did hear the train throughout the day and night. It was a pleasant sound, however we were on the first floor and the fresh snow probably muffled the sound a bit. The only down was the room had an odor of smoke and age but that was quickly covered up with a $3.00 candle. We did end up with our four year old grandson sleeping in our room. Much to our dismay , the sofa was not a sleeper but that was ok too. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We here at the Comfort Inn do our best to please each and every customer! Our theme for the Christmas season this year is Candy Land, our entire staff took time out of their personal lives to come in and decorate, we are very pleased with the end result, Thank you for noticing the hard work that was put into it. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Honestly, I could not find a Marriot or Holiday Inn near where I wanted to stay so this was not my first choice. However, I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. for the price it was a great deal. The amenities were suitable and the staff was very accommodating with any requests I had. This Comfort Inn made much more comfortable than I expect to be. The staff was friendly and helpful and I slept well. The location is not immediately visible but it was easily accessible and close to all of the places I needed to visit that week. If I return to Hornell I will most certainly use this Comfort Inn again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If any of the above appeals to you, this is the place for you. Otherwise, although there are few other options, you need to stay elsewhere.

Check in experience - 6 of us waited 20 minutes with a sign on the front desk saying Be Back Soon. Turns out there is only 1 employee in the whole place in the evening, and she had to go change a battery in a smoke detector. So we all waited.
Carpets in the stairwell were worn through and the whole hallway had a terrible musty smell. Got to my room and the sink looked like someone had dropped a bowling ball in it. Deep cracks through out which were filled with peeling caulk. The vanity was also cracked, duct taped over, and the duct tape painted.
The whole place seems like they know that there are very few other hotels within 20 miles and so they spend as little as possible on the place, and it looks like it. At $69 a night, I might not expect more. At $109, I do.
Although we were scheduled for 3 nights, we checked out the next morning and drove 45 minutes the other way to stay at a Hampton Inn in Olean. Well worth the extra $10 a night and 15 minutes drive time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know of your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn apologize to you that things were not up to standard. We have taken your comments and will do our best to make sure that things are better. We hope that you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let's start by saying this is a comfort Inn so I had to have realistic expectations. I was told this was the best hotel in the area and after a short exploratory drive I have to agree. the hotel is clean, pool is very nice and breakfast typical. Staff is very accommodating. The rooms are clean. Be prepared for the freight train to pass by your window three times a night with the horn blasting. The location is industrial and the town has seen its day with many shuttered stores. Keep in mind the hotel does not have an elevator so if you're on the second floor (where the non-smoking rooms are) then you will have to carry your luggage up two flights.

Room Tip: second floor on the left side (odd numbers) are a little quieter. Train runs on the right side (eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your experience! We hope that you will join us again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple City Inn

Address: 1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 62 room hotel features an indoor pool & fitness facility & is located in the heart of the Maple City. The rolling hills of the Fingerlakes region surrounds the hotel. Alfred University & State College are just minutes away. For business or pleasure, make us your destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maple City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hornell
Comfort Inn Hornell Ny
Hornell Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;