We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Canisteo Square, Hornell, NY 14843-1954 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stay at the Hornell Comfort Inn at least three times a year!!! There are many wonderful features! The staff, warm and friendly many have been there for years, Clean rooms with fridge,TV DVD in all rooms, A daily breakfast with many choices bacon and eggs,waffles to fruit and cereal, it is an older Comfort Inn and yes it is in a Rail Road town for those who don't know Hornells history which is rich with the railroad and gave many folks work in the past and to this day! Part of the charm! There is a workout room,pool (indoor) and the hotel sets in the base of the beautiful mountains of the Southern Tier of New York State! It has a homey feeling about it yet the staff is professional and ready to help their guests whenever possible!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was suggested to us, we checked out the reviews and were skeptical at first. After much consideration, we decided to reserve two rooms for two nights to attend a wedding in Canisteo. I can honestly say that our visit was A+. The lobby was decorated with a Candy Land theme for Christmas, including a huge handmade Gingerbread House that was magnificent. The hotel staff was excellent, making popcorn each night for our three young grandchildren, they opened the pool whenever we wanted to use it and in fact, the water was like taking a bath. Our king suite was great for three little ones to run around, as their parents were across the hall. The bed was comfortable, and in fact, we stayed an extra night since our stay was so enjoyable. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise as well. We did hear the train throughout the day and night. It was a pleasant sound, however we were on the first floor and the fresh snow probably muffled the sound a bit. The only down was the room had an odor of smoke and age but that was quickly covered up with a $3.00 candle. We did end up with our four year old grandson sleeping in our room. Much to our dismay , the sofa was not a sleeper but that was ok too. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLAngell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We here at the Comfort Inn do our best to please each and every customer! Our theme for the Christmas season this year is Candy Land, our entire staff took time out of their personal lives to come in and decorate, we are very pleased with the end result, Thank you for noticing the hard work that was put into it. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Honestly, I could not find a Marriot or Holiday Inn near where I wanted to stay so this was not my first choice. However, I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. for the price it was a great deal. The amenities were suitable and the staff was very accommodating with any requests I had. This Comfort Inn made much more comfortable than I expect to be. The staff was friendly and helpful and I slept well. The location is not immediately visible but it was easily accessible and close to all of the places I needed to visit that week. If I return to Hornell I will most certainly use this Comfort Inn again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If any of the above appeals to you, this is the place for you. Otherwise, although there are few other options, you need to stay elsewhere.

Check in experience - 6 of us waited 20 minutes with a sign on the front desk saying Be Back Soon. Turns out there is only 1 employee in the whole place in the evening, and she had to go change a battery in a smoke detector. So we all waited.
Carpets in the stairwell were worn through and the whole hallway had a terrible musty smell. Got to my room and the sink looked like someone had dropped a bowling ball in it. Deep cracks through out which were filled with peeling caulk. The vanity was also cracked, duct taped over, and the duct tape painted.
The whole place seems like they know that there are very few other hotels within 20 miles and so they spend as little as possible on the place, and it looks like it. At $69 a night, I might not expect more. At $109, I do.
Although we were scheduled for 3 nights, we checked out the next morning and drove 45 minutes the other way to stay at a Hampton Inn in Olean. Well worth the extra $10 a night and 15 minutes drive time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know of your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn apologize to you that things were not up to standard. We have taken your comments and will do our best to make sure that things are better. We hope that you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Let's start by saying this is a comfort Inn so I had to have realistic expectations. I was told this was the best hotel in the area and after a short exploratory drive I have to agree. the hotel is clean, pool is very nice and breakfast typical. Staff is very accommodating. The rooms are clean. Be prepared for the freight train to pass by your window three times a night with the horn blasting. The location is industrial and the town has seen its day with many shuttered stores. Keep in mind the hotel does not have an elevator so if you're on the second floor (where the non-smoking rooms are) then you will have to carry your luggage up two flights.

Room Tip: second floor on the left side (odd numbers) are a little quieter. Train runs on the right side (eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your experience! We hope that you will join us again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Not well marked so hard to locate. Staff was friendly and helpful, recommended a very good restaurant. Room was clean and comfortable EXCEPT for the trains that ran behind the building all night! I put a pillow over my head and got some sleep but my husband waas up most of the night listening to their whistles. Also, no elevator. Breakfast was the cardboard stuff typical of these chains. Coffee was quite good

Room Tip: Farthest from train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your experience! We are sorry for not meeting your expectations . We hope that you will return and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here while attending a friend's wedding for the weekend. There were many positives but a few negatives too.
The room was VERY clean. The sheets were fresh and the bathroom was spotless (Yes! Finally!) I can not stand to find stray hairs/dirt in a bathroom and I was not disappointed! The staff was very friendly and courteous. They knew that we were there for a wedding and saw us leave and complimented us on our dresses. The next morning while leaving they even asked how the wedding was when they saw us in the hallway!
The continental breakfast was by far the best one that I have ever had. The coffee, not so much. It was horrible, I know it wasn't made wrong, just a very bad supplier! The location is very good. Hornell is a small town and this was close to everything and everywhere that we had to go to.

There was a train that went by at night. We were still up so it didn't bother us. The only other "bad" or "annoying" thing was, we were on the second floor and there is NOT AN ELEVATOR!! Seriously?? I had several bags beings I was there for a whole weekend and a wedding! Try lugging the weekend bags of 4 people up the stairs, not fun!
All in all, we had a very enjoyable weekend and I would stay there again..on the FIRST FLOOR!

Room Tip: If you're staying for some time and do not want to lug your luggage up the steps, request the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We do our best to please each and every GUEST!! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornell
20.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
16.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
18.3 mi away
Best Inn Wellsville
Best Inn Wellsville
#3 of 3 in Wellsville
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Budget Inn Bath
Budget Inn Bath
#2 of 4 in Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
21.1 mi away
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
Vinehurst Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Hammondsport
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Hornell
Days Inn Hornell
#2 of 4 in Hornell
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn

Address: 1 Canisteo Square, Hornell, NY 14843-1954 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn newly renovated hotel as of June 2015 features a heated indoor pool & fitness facility, a hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We are located in the heart of the Maple City with the rolling hills of the Finger Lakes region surrounding the hotel. Alfred University & State College are just minutes away. The hotel is conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations such as: Alstom and Trikeen. Start your morning right with a deluxe hot breakfast which includes: hot scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles (different flavors daily) breads, muffins, Danishes, juice and 100% Arabica coffee. In-room amenities include a coffee maker, hairdryer, DVD player and a 37-inch flat screen TV. Enjoy nearby Letchworth State Park known as the "Grand Canyon of the East", Swain Resort for snow skiing and snowboarding, Corning Glass Museum and Watkins Glenn International Speedway just to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hornell
Comfort Inn Hornell Ny
Hornell Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing