We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really 3-1/2 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple City Inn

Save Saved
You added Maple City Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maple City Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
East Bay, near San Francisco
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Really 3-1/2 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We like the Comfort Inn & Suites chain. This was no exception. The advantages are: a nicely sized room with very comfortable beds, a table with 2 chairs, a desk, and mini fridge. The breakfast is served in the lobby and consists of the standard Comfort chain options. The disadvantages (in addition to the railroad, which has been mentioned in other reviews) are: a small and awkward bathroom, no elevator, and a television, set at an unpleasantly loud volume in the breakfast area. Also, our room (#203) was located right near the ice machine and the stairs. If you need a quiet room, ask to be away from these features.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Breakfast buffet as we all know that it is the most important meal of the day. We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
16
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoosick Falls, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in several hotels/motels over the last six months while visiting colleges in the northeast and New York, and this ranks among only a few we'd stay at again. All staff we encountered were quite helpful and pleasant, our room was very clean and comfortable, the pool and fitness room were equally clean, and breakfast had several options for vegetarian and lower-fat diets without just offering pastries. Location is a little tricky to find with a GPS. Passing trains, although noticeable, didn't bother us since we knew the tracks were there and expected some noise. Overall, we had a really nice stay, and will stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

chose this place due to proximity to I86. There is not much right on the highway in this region (which is a very scenic area) so you need to drive several miles into Hornell for the hotel. The hotel itself has no elevator (we had to lug our bags up the stairs, which I did not appreciate!!!) and the front desk receptionist seemed rather indifferent to our needs on many other levels. The beds and room were fine. Breakfast the usual low-end hotel food. The location was problematic from another POV - hotel is across the railroad tracks from main part of downtown and not only is hard to get to, but you have to drive back around even to go to a restaurant you can see from the hotel. Being waken up by the midnight Amtrack didn't help either. If you must stay here, ask for rooms away from the RR tracks.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from RR tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. We here at the Comfort Inn do our best to accommodate all of our GUESTS. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spacious room with new flat screen tv, dvd player, fridge and microwave. Rooms were cleaner than any hotel I've stayed at in the past 2 years, even much higher priced ones. Room Heat/AC unit worked really well. No A/C in the rest of the building so hallway was quite hot as well as fitness center (2 treadmills, 2 elipticals, 1 weight bench).
Down sides: Rooms are clean but in need of updating... vanity was cracked and held together with duct tape. Also, there is a train near by that blows its whistle. It wasn't loud enough to wake me up if one went through in the middle of the night, but it might have bothered a lighter sleeper.
Night staff was super helpful, morning staff slightly less so, but still not bad. Over all, I'd say this was the best hotel I've been at in a while for this price range hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the Great review. We have a great long term staff and they do very well to keep the hotel as clean as possible. We will soon go through renovations, so we hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and I felt right at home. Lisa is a hard working, friendly and accommodating employee, and we will definitely stay here again! Thank you Comfort Inn Hornell!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review. Lisa is an asset to the hotel. We here at the Comfort Inn like to make each and every guest feel at home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visit our son in college at SUNY Alfred and though this isn't right next door to the college (short drive), it is centrally located in downtown Hornell to restaurants and shopping. The accommodations are spacious and breakfast is included and can't be beat. The staff is very friendly and there is even an indoor swimming pool. I recommend this hotel and have stayed here several times. For dinner, go to Marino's on Loder Street. Great italian food and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for the GREAT review. We here at the Comfort Inn do our best to accommodate each and every GUEST.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staying at the Hornell Comfort Inn, is like a second home. Recently checked in for an eight day stay and found the experience better than ever.

Beyond the usual friendliness of an accommodating staff, the breakfast buffet is the best encountered in moderately-priced motels like this one. Scrambled eggs, sausage, juice, coffee, fruit cocktail and now bacon make the most important meal of the day one to look forward to. Open at 6.00A, one can get an early start or else sleep later and still make the buffet before a 9.30A closing.

New within the last few months is a copy of your bill pushed under the door before you arise. I find this very convenient, allowing an examination of a weeks worth of expenses long before reaching the front desk for checkout. My experience in traveling is that only higher priced hotels offer this amenity. Hornell Comfort Inn eliminates your usual checkout experience of being given a bill at checkout and then having to check each item while an impatient desk clerk waits.

One note of caution. A nearby bridge adjacent the motel is being repaired resulting in weekday jackhammer noises beginning shortly before 7A. If you're a late sleeper, get a room on the other side of the motel.

Otherwise, enjoy the best sleeping experience in Hornell at the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are very happy to have you as a guest in our hotel. We are fortunate enough to have a wonderful staff I will share this with them. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple City Inn

Address: 1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple City Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 62 room hotel features an indoor pool & fitness facility & is located in the heart of the Maple City. The rolling hills of the Fingerlakes region surrounds the hotel. Alfred University & State College are just minutes away. For business or pleasure, make us your destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maple City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hornell
Comfort Inn Hornell Ny
Hornell Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.