We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hornell

Days Inn Hornell
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Hornell to your Saves list
Days Inn Hornell
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Rte. 36 & Webb Crossing, I-86 Exit 34 South, Hornell, NY 14843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Elmira, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Worst experience ever! Checked in to find rooms so damp the bedding felt wet. I have high allergies & throat closed up within a half hour, felt like mold problems. Bathroom towels were GRAY (supposed to be white) and spots of feces on the bathroom wall. We had to immediately find another hotel. When I asked for a refund, the clerk said - you pre-paid - "sorry". What a joke this place is!!! Looks and feels like a 20 minute motel - no cars in the lot, difficult to find, etc. Went to the Comfot Inn and had an outstanding experience in a real hotel. Go there instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    50
    25
    11
See reviews for
78
24
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stay at this hotel in the Spring and Fall when visiting relatives in the area. It's an "okay" hotel. The people are nice, rooms are fairly clean, and the price is right. But the towels are dingy and paper thin. They're clean---just really old. But I am not willing to pay the high price of another hotel in this same city. We stayed at the other big chain hotel a few years ago and for the price difference, we still go back to the Days Inn. The other hotel is overpriced in my opinion. The Days Inn definitely needs some updating, but it is still the best value in Hornell. Free internet and the staff has always been super. We have stayed there twice a year for 5 years now--2 nights at a time. One other note---it's alot quieter on the weekend. This last trip we got there on Thursday night instead of our normal Friday night check-in. Our room was a non-smoking room---no problem there. But the hall was smokey smelling for the first time in five years. But when we got back to our room on Friday night, the folks who were there Thursday night (truck drivers mainly) were gone so we didn't smell any smoke in the hall.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This hotel is average at best. The staff was very good, the only complaint here was that we waited a couple minutes at the front desk before someone showed up. We booked a suite and the room was very large. However, that was probably the only positive. Our room was non-smoking but had faint smoky smell. That alone made us feel like the room was not cleaned appropriately. The room needed a ton of basic maintenance (stains on the ceiling and floor, cracked window, loose door, etc). I know Hornell is a small town and there are not alot of hotel options, but unless we just got their worst room (suite), then there must be a better place to stay in this town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hornell hotels

Shirley, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

rooms looked newly redone, friendly check in and out - good breakfast - near Alfred Univ. - located down the road from a shopping center - price was good -

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Room was cleaned, but smelled of horrible cig. smoke the entire stay! It's as if they kept all of the furnishings and linens from the pre-mandated banned smoking days, and just tried to clean and cover up the odors. The walls and doors are also super paper thin! We were awakened by loud yelling in the halls at 2:00AM...
Def. won't stay there again. Advice: Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Get a room on the second floor. I stayed on the first, and could hear the person above me taking every step.

Just an okay hotel, nothing great.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

The bathrooms were disqusting. The grout had mildew. The tubs have a stain on them that looks like set -in urine. This was not exclusive to just one room either. Upon leaving I noticed that many empty rooms were left open and I peeked in to check if there was possibly a better room available. Needless to say that there wasn't. There was no closet available. No iron and ironing board in the room. I was very surprised of my findings. I notified the front desk and checked out. I don't know what their plans are to rectify this situation. Since Days Inn is a Wyndham property I was veryy surprised with my findings.

Don't forget your shower shoes!!!

  • Disliked — The bathroom and lack of pillows.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Hornell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hornell

Address: Rte. 36 & Webb Crossing, I-86 Exit 34 South, Hornell, NY 14843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hornell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Hornell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hornell Hotel Hornell
Hornell Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hornell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.