We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Newfoundland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We thought the Econo Lodge was a great place to stay, and we both agreed we'd have been happy to stay a few days longer if we could. The price was great, and the area was nice and green and quiet. We were in a separate building down in front of the main building and next to the restaurant (which was also separate).

The room was a good size with a little refrigerator and microwave, which would have been handy if we'd stayed longer. There were two double beds as well as a table and chairs and TV. The bathroom was small but nice, although the sink was outside the room (which can have its advantages with two people). The coffee pot was not washed out, though, which was disappointing and not impressive. Otherwise, the room seemed clean.

The free continental breakfast was appreciated, with a good selection including toast, english muffins, bagels, and cereal. There was also a waffle maker and batter for making your own waffles, which unfortunately we didn't have time or enough appetite to try - but they looked really good. There's not a lot of tables there, but it was enough when we were there.

Will likely stay there again if we get back that way.

  • Liked — Nice quiet location, great breakfast provided
  • Disliked — Should make sure utensils/appliances are checked and cleaned
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
20
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

If I could give the hotel a negative raiting I would. This was absolutely horrible. When I checked in, there were HOLES punched into tbe bathroom door. When I went to hang up the towel bar, it FELL OFF THE WALL. Not to mention, when I turned on the Air Conditioner, it was dripping INTO the room! It was absolutely the worst experience I've ever had at a motel or hotel. I had to pay almost 90 bucks for that room, so I expected it to be decent. It was awful. Trust me, their corporate HQ heard from me on this one.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — See Review. Oh and the staff were condescending.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hornell hotels

NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

Location was quiet country location up on hill and still close to highway. Spacious room with fridge and micro. Everything very clean. Breakfast was very good with waffles and also bagels, bread and fruit.

Quite impressed with this Econo Lodge.

Able to walk to Club 57 restaurant down the hill across the street. Excellent selection of meals. Another restaurant on property, Ruperts, but it was closed.

  • Liked — Location , size of room and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

The place is very clean,spacious and quite. We alongwith our friends got two side-by-side second floor rooms on memorial day weekend. The mountainside view from balcony is very good. The rooms are neat,clean and all amenities are present. There is a restaurent(Rupert's) next to it which we tried one time(it was ok).The breakfast was average,we loved the fresh waffle-making part of it though! The internet connection from our room was problematic coz you get it only in the rooms next to the central lobby.Overall it was a good experience.

  • Liked — Space and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor Internet Connection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

I've stayed at this Econo Lodge twice. It was perfectly comfortable and clean. One stay was over the weekend when freshmen college students moved in, so lots of parents and students, but even though it was busy, there didn't seem to be any problems. The breakfast was somewhat basic, but certainly nothing to complain about. I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wi
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2004

When reserving the rooms, I had asked for rooms on first floor or with an elevator and together. When we arrived we were given rooms on second floor that you could only get to by stairs. One of the people had knee surgery and couldn't climb stairs. I explained the problem and we were switched to two other rooms, this time in different buildings which diffinately wasn't together. She said that was all they had. The room I was placed in smelled musty but we decided to not complain, that is until after the water came out the bathroom during a shower and wet the floor. That was mopped up but when my room mate sat down on the bed the floor between the beds was wet. That wasn't from the bathroom unless the pipes were leaking somewhere. I again explained the problem and they now moved us to another room. Much better smelling but not in the same building.
The elderly person staying in the other building by herself had a nice room but the maids didn't clean the room, make the beds or change the towels. She had to call and complain about that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2004

This is an excellent place to stay. We have stayed here several times in the past 2 years. It is much better than most Econo Lodges. The rooms are spacious and clean in both the new and old sections. The rooms have large TV's. We have had a refridgerator and microwave everytime. The rates are very reasonable. A much better value than the Comfort Inn downtown. the resturant on premisies (Rupert's) is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 7462 Seneca Rd N, Hornell, NY 14843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRAVELING MORE OFTEN IS IMPORTANT FOR YOUR HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!!!!! Hornell Econo Lodge is located directly off I-86 over looking the small quaint town. It's nestled in a quiet secluded area with a beautiful scenic overlook. We offer outdoor PET FRIENDLY rooms that you may drive right up to, or you may prefer our two story balcony rooms to enjoy our view. If you rather an indoor Corridor, well we offer that as well! Our townhouses and suites are fully furnished and include all the amenities offered. Each room is spacious with microwaves/ fridge, table and seating for two, full sized beds or upgrade to king.(our king room Offers a wonderful writing/work space, great for those traveling on business or maybe just a getaway for rest/relaxation). Faxing and printing available as we are open 24 hours. All rooms have HIGH SPEED INTERNET streaming through them and include HBO. We have partnered with many area restaurants and lounges; they are offering discounted items on their menu as well as specials. JUST SHOW YOUR ECONO LODGE ROOM KEY! We have just updated our rooms with New Beds and New Flat Screen televisions. We have also, partnered up with the Hornell YMCA. The YMCA have given us some passes to their facility for 2 years, We are allowed to use there facility and many amenities that they offer. Come stay with us and check out the new updated rooms that we have and also the YMCA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hornell
Hornell Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.