We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Kiambi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiambi Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lower Zambezi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiambi Safari Lodge
Save
You added Kiambi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
P.O. BOX 360073, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time at Kiambi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've been three times in Kiambi, one time camping, one time self catering and the last time the luxury tented chalet. All of the times we had a great time. The view is stunning, the staff and host is very friendly and cooperative and at our thirth time they did us a wonderful favor by upgrading our accomodation for the same price. We would really recommend the sunset cruise, you get the most fantastic views and it's so quiet and amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I just came back from Kiambi and what a fantastic time we all had. The service is great, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms are cozy and clean and the food is tantalizing!
A lodge that will do whatever they can to suit your needs and make you have a comfortable and joyful holiday. Thank you Janine and rest of staff for all, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have been to Kiambi three times now, twice on my own.I love it here!! As a fishing lodge, i dont think you could get better, as i have caught many big tigerfish, my biggest being just over 8kg's. My guide has always been Tobias, as he is brilliant,very patient and has done it for many years. I always go for two weeks, as if you are fishing, u need that time to bed in. The view is breathtaking high above the river where u can see hippos everyday, and sometimes u can see elephants crossing the river to the island..The rooms in the lodges are fine, very comfortable but if you are going in the summer,maybe get the air conditioned ones as it gets very hot. The food is ok, always enough. The staff are all fantastic, especially Janine who is the best host i have ever had and makes Kiambi basically!!
Drinks can add up, so the best thing to do is buy alcohol at the shops in lusaka before you come down, and buyb a lot as you will be drinking a lot!! There is no entertainment to speak about,but sitting around the fire at night, listening to the sounds of Africa is maybe priceless!!There are 2 small pools there,so u never have to worry about the heat too much.
Negatives include the tranfer from Lusaka, no coz of the company(if Janine picks u up!!), but because of the price. I spend a lot of money on that lodge,and they still charge me 400 us to pick me up and drop me back.Since im from Africa,across the water actually, i know how much fuel costs and its an absolutly ridiculous price. Also, they need to do a package deal as when everything is added up, it can easily go into many thousands if you there for a while.
All in all,i still love it, and hope to be going back this year(if i get a good deal!!)I love it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early December, the low season. It was nice, sometimes we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. We self-catered so have no reviews on the meals offered. The pools were cleaned each day, and one pool has a shade cover over it which was nice for our pale skin. Some of the rooms have better views than others, so might be worth asking before booking. We worked with Janine via email who was very helpful answering all our questions so there were no surprise costs when we were there. The prices of beer are not that bad, but the internet is pretty expensive - but you are in the middle of no where, so why would you want to be on the internet anyways? The sunset cruise was awesome! We saw elephants, hippos, alligator, and tons of birds. Our driver was very knowledgeable. The views over the river are stunning, our favorite spot was the upstairs balcony on the air-con bar. If you are adventurous, you can walk to nearby villages. There isn't much there, but the locals will great you with excitement.
We were in a luxory tented cabin with a fan. We had no problems with the heat and the bathroom was nice. Our room was cleaned everyday. Just be prepared to be in the wilderness, and expect to meet some wildlife in the bathroom, as it is outside.
The water is drinkable, which is nice so that you don't have to spend a ton of money on bottle water.

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify what is included in your price, and what is not. The rack rates that were sent to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights over Christmas at Kiambi. We had a great time.

We stayed in the luxury air on rooms and found the rooms comfortable. The bathroom water pressure was a bit of a problem, as was not having a separate toilet, but otherwise we didn't want for anything. The meals were fine and the drinks were cold!

We were lucky to have great weather meaning we spent plenty of time in the pools, which were a huge relief from the heat of the valley!

The lodge standard is good, but certainly not great.( let's say a good 3 1/2 star) but great for a few days on the river with family and friends!

We will go back, however if you do go in the summer season, make sure you book an air on room, otherwise it would be unpleasantly hot! The views are amazing........probably the best sundowner view on the river!!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived to find a quaint lodge with few guests, beautiful settings, and a wonderful view of the Zambezi River. The people we met were friendly (from fellow guests to employees). The full bouquet DSTV in the room was a wonderful addition as the cartoon channels kept the kids occupied during quiet times. It is a very nice lodge with a lot of potential. My only concern is that the name 'luxury lodge' was a little misleading for me. There are two areas the lodge must look into quite seriously:

1. Accommodation quality: We were sharing a room with my 2 children and found no mosquito nets for the extra beds, so the kids slept on the main bed and my wife and I took one of the single beds each. However, the mosquito net for the main bed was too small and we had to improvise. Lastly, we did not get insect repellent throughout our trip or any insecticide on the first night. These are basic supplies for a luxury bush safari otherwise you end up as we did - a bug and insect fest in and outside the room
2. Food/ general catering: when we found lunch on the first day consisted of a choice of ham or vegetable pizza (no starters, no greens, no dessert) we should have known costs were being cut. Supper consisted of rice, beef satay, green salad, and fruit crumble for dessert (full stop). Most people have a wider variety at home. I could go on, but all the meals were just as limited.

The value for money was a little wanting, after all the basic requirements for any holiday is to sleep and eat well; then everything else is a bonus. I would recommend the lodge to others, but with heavy caveats on the 'luxury' part. If they sort that bit, I would happily visit again

Room Tip: With a family, the self-catering I believe is the best option, otherwise the air conditioned rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located 4 hours drive south east of Lusaka. if you don t have your own vehicle get prepared to pay 300 USD for one way. Nice and spacious tents with bathroom and shower but no airconditioning available while outside temp gets easily above 40 C. The pool is very very small. Meals are very basic as to quality. The view on sunset and sunrise is breathtaking, but like everywhere else in Africa I dare say Suset/sunrise cruise is nothing like so special, unless you get easily excited by few hippos and maybe 4 elephants on the (private) island. Price on Full Board for two 300 USD/night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiambi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiambi Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. BOX 360073, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lower Zambezi National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lower Zambezi National Park
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiambi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.