We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head for the Royal Zambezi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Zambezi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Zambezi Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Zambezi Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P/Bag CH42, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Head for the Royal Zambezi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This lodge oozes atmosphere and charm. Guests and staff have to be on the lookout for elephants who wander through the grounds on their way to the river yet you feel quite safe with the staff looking out for all the guests. The staff is superb. The cottages are so charming. There are a variety of options to choose from to be active from fishing and canoeing to game drives. The 4 days we were there were the most exciting, satisfying and thrilling of our 19 day tour. The variety of animals and sheer numbers of elephants and cape buffalo makes every game drive exciting. The staff works hard to be sure you get to see a variety of animals. The food was wonderful, served on an open terrace next to the river. You fly in and out using the private runway --which then becomes the local road to take you to the lodge! So much fun! You will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage that is the pathway to the water --- number 9. It does not have some of the spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
60
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Africa on the Odyssey Wildlife Tour to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. It was a sixteen day, five hotel stay. A great trip with great people. Among the hotels we stayed in are the best in the region: the Michelangelo Hotel in Johannesburg, the lovely Stanley and Livingstone in Zimbabwe, the Chobe Marina Lodge in Botswana, and the luxurious One and Only Hotel in Cape Town.
These are all wonderful places, providing not just comfortable accommodations but delicious meals and extraordinary service.
But by far, the high point of our stay was the Royal Zambezi Lodge in Zambia. Located on the northern bank of the Zambezi River and adjacent to the wildlife rich Lower Zambezi National Park, the Lodge provides the ultimate wildlife experience. You see the wildlife on comfortable sunset cruises down the river, on guided canoe trips, and on safari drives deep into the Park with 4-wheel drive vehicles holding just six passengers. Or catch a 12 lb Tiger Fish if that is your thing. Complete novices on our trip did. The guides are knowledgeable and friendly, as are all of the people at the Lodge. The meals are wonderful. The accommodations along the bank of the river-- with elephants, hippos, exotic birds and more within a stone's throw-- are large and comfortable. They have decks looking out over the river and private plunge pools. Yes, there is no air conditioning. But consider where you are! It didn't bother us in the least.

Joan and John Sculli
Merrick, NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Zambezi Lodge for three unforgettable nights as part of a Smithsonian Journeys safari, and we couldn't rave enough about the comfort of the lodgings, the attentiveness of the staff, the quality of the food, the expertise of their guides or the amazing setting of the lodge.

Situated right on the banks of the Lower Zambezi River, this very secluded lodge is made up of a number of separate "tent" cabins. The word "tent," though, hardly describes the accommodations. Although the walls of the structure are canvas, the tent is situated under a beautiful thatched roof and on a solid wood foundation with exterior decks and walkways. Our "tent" featured a day bed, a private plunge pool and two terraces to sit and enjoy the elephants, hippos, baboons and other animals amble by.
Natalie, the Lodge Manager, couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. The staff is extremely friendly and take care to ensure that your safari trips are well planned and interpreted along the way. We were even able to enjoy a nice selection of guided walking tours in the adjacent preserve, canoe trips or skiff adventures to see the hippos, crocodiles and an amazing array of birds within a matter of feet.
The Lodge has a beautiful central lounge area and outdoor patio where most meals are served. There is also a bar area near the pool that will provide any refreshment you can imagine!
We really appreciated that although many safari jeeps hold nine passengers (three per row), the Royal Zambezi jeeps almost always limited the number of passengers to six so that no one had to sit in the middle to view wildlife or have their pictures obscured by the other passengers. A very thoughtful accommodation!
I don't know when we will make it back to Africa, but one thing is sure: when we go back to Zambia, the Royal Zambezi Lodge will be high on our list of places we intend to stay!

Room Tip: It costs a bit extra fro the private plunge pool, but we would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord Twp.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My trip to The Royal Zambezi Lodge was Oct 8-11, 2013. I traveled 7 weeks in Europe in 2005 but nothing could compare to this. The rustic, peaceful wilderness left me longing to return. A family of 3 Elephants wandered next to our canvas walled tent at 12:12 AM. Where could this ever happen in Ohio! I can't praise the staff enough for the wonderful things they did to make the trip so enjoyable and memorable. We ate all meals outdoors and under the star lit skies. Many activities to choose from: open-vehicle game drives, late afternoon drives, boat safaris, birding, sunset cocktail cruises, canoe excursions. Our safari guides: Simeon and Chris were wonderful with explanations and history of the area and made sure we were safe and comfortable. Thank you to Natalie and to all your staff.

Kathe Brown

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What magic! Luxury tents on the Zambezi River with beautiful places to eat wonderful food. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Beautiful grounds and common areas. We had terrific game drives, sunset cruises, canoeing and fishing. The elephants were all around our tent and even drinking from our plunge pool. I loved the copper bath tub on the deck, so I could soak and watch the wildlife. I would go back here in a heartbeat. No A/C but really did not need it. What a treat to hear the hippos all night and to awaken with the Zambezi sunrise just over our toes.

Room Tip: We had room eleven, right by the elephants mud wallow. If you want to be close to elephants this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

As part of a Smithsonian Institute travel group to an African Safari tour we stayed at the Royal Zambezi Lodge.
This place is magical, very serene and even the basic tents are well appointed. Some upgrade rooms also have plunge pools. No air conditioning, tv , cell phones but wifi worked from our tent and throughout the main reception and restaurant.
You can look at the lower Zambezi river watching elephants walking by. next to white egrets and hearing hippos groaning during the night all from your deck or even from your bed .
Went canoeing down the river with a guide as one of the proposed activities and attended several safaris. The staff are wonderful and most attentive to your every need.
the General Manager Natalie is passionate about taking care of everything and making sure her guests are satisfied.
Will love to go back there for awhile away from our turbulent world to just enjoy what beauty our planet has to offer if we take time to stop and look.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights September 17-20th, 2013. We felt we were in paradise. They had welcoming cocktails when we arrived and an elegant dinner prepared for us that evening. The staff was amazing. We had Chris for our guide on several outings (game drive, bush walk, boat safari) and he was professional and knowledgeable and kept us safe!
If you need to be on your cell-phone or laptop all day, then this is not the place for you. Stay home. But if you are in Africa to enjoy the beauty of the land and it's inhabitants, then there is not a better spot!
I was hesitant to take an afternoon off for the luxury of a massage, but so glad I did. Jill worked all the kinks out of my neck and I felt revitalized!
Two evenings there was short entertainment at the lodge which was delightful. The sychronized, harmonized voices of the young men who preformed was relaxing and romantic! Nicely done men!
We had a really wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zambezi Lodge

Address: P/Bag CH42, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lower Zambezi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lower Zambezi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Zambezi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Zambezi Lodge, a spacious but intimate privately owned lodge, situated in Zambia on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River just minutes from the Lower Zambezi National Park and directly opposite Zimbabwe's famous Mana Pools World Heritage Site. Royal offers the ultimate in luxury and cuisine while enjoying and participating closely in the sights and sounds of the African wilderness. Royal provides the perfect romantic setting for honeymoon couples, while its customised family suite works perfectly for family holidays. There is lots of space for all to enjoy their unique stay. The central building and individual private suites are designed to let nature play a leading role in ensuring the relaxed pace and magical experiences are enjoyed by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Zambezi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zambezi Hotel Lusaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Zambezi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.