We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Zambezi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Zambezi Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Zambezi Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P/Bag CH42, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superlative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Firstly, apologies to Lackson, Natalie et al for the lateness in writing a review for Tripadvisor. It's just that I've been so relaxed since visiting the amazing RZL in July that I've started being late for pretty much everything.

My wife Rachel and I had the privilege of staying at the RZL for a full 8 days in July as part (indeed the highlight) of our honeymoon. Don't let people tell you that you only need a few days - we enjoyed the second half of our stay even more than the first. The other reviews say it all - just pick any number of superlatives - and we'd agree with them all. You could travel the world and not have a better experience with nicer people.

And we'll be back - I think about it every single day.

Graeme and Rachel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
60
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are a younger 30s honeymooning couple who went on a 2 week safari, staying at luxury or near-luxury accommodations throughout S. Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Zambia. This was organized through Odysseys Unlimited, and each location and experience got progressively better and better, highlighted by the finale of our trip, the Royal Zambezi Lodge.

We flew a chartered plane to the private landing strip, to be greeted by a majority of the staff. Wow! Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming, and new Land Cruisers took us to our accommodations right on the Zambezi. The Lodge is in a relatively remote area on the Zambezi, which we felt brought a lot of peace and relaxation. The main lobby and dining area sit overlooking the river, which was one of the most amazing views from our entire trip.

There are only a handful (10-15?) bungalows on site. The grounds are well kept, and although you might expect different for such a secluded location, the rooms were amazing. We stayed in a honeymoon-type room, which was a canvas walled, thatched roof bedroom, with an adobe bathroom attached in the back. We enjoyed a private deck with our own plunge pool, shower, bath, and day bed overlooking the river. The furniture and bedding really added a classy touch to the room.

As great as the grounds were, the people were amazing. The management, guides, and staff were all friendly, welcoming, and very helpful.

As with many Safari lodges, there were numerous daily activities to choose from. We went fishing for tigerfish, canoeing, paid a visit to a neighboring village, took evening cruises, went on a hike (with armed guard), and of course, went on game drives, including some night drives. All of the activities were led by skilled guides, who were amongst the most personable we met on our entire trip.

The Lodge gets supplies brought in by boat once a week. They recently (April 2012) installed enough generators for round the clock power, and even though you are escorted by a guide to your room from the main lodge (in case you encounter a curious animal), we felt completely safe.

For receiving supplies once a week, it was an amazing surprise when the Lodge was able to accommodate the numerous dietary restrictions of the other guests. Even more delightfully surprising was the quality and variety of food offered. For having the most obstacles to provide a diverse menu, they delivered the best out of all the places we stayed.

I don't want to ruin any surprises, but I would pay money for a Royal Choir CD!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A group of us stayed at the RZL for the first week in September for fishing and game viewing, and had a simply fabulous week. Nothing was too much trouble for the team led by the lovely Natalie who as well as providing lovely shore lunches for us (so we didn't have to go back to the lodge every day for lunch and could spend as much time out on the river as possible) also organised a lovely birthday cake and a splendid bottle of wine for me! I have recommended RZL and the Lower Zambezi to everyone I have spoken to since, and can't speak highly enough of the lodge and staff from the setting, to the rooms, the food and the service. Roll on next year as I have been having sundowner withdrawal symptoms ever since!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left, it was perfection. This luxurious and sensitively-built Lodge borders the mighty Zambezi, so every day you see many animals come to drink. Elephants have right of way when they come into the grounds, hippos grunt, lions roar. The Lower Zambezi National Park is only minutes away and drives into the bush are possible day and night. Hugely knowledgable (and very delightful) guides point out spectacular birds and a great variety of animals. We saw lions nearly every day and a leopard once. You can go for hours without seeing another person - just the sounds and sights of the wildlife. Canoe trips, fishing grips, massages as well - it's all there.
Guests stay in separate, large, thatched 'tents', all fronting the river. Pure luxury. Dinner by candlelight, accompanied on occasion by haunting African singing by some of the staff. Without exception, the staff are immensely helpful and courteous - nothing is too much trouble from the. Just perfect.
Far and away the very best holiday we could ever have. THANK YOU, Royal Zambezi Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA Bradenton FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Unbelivable place. All sorts of wildlife surrounds you. Sit on the deck of your "tent" and watch the hippos in the water, the monitor lizards walk by you etc. We even had 3 small frogs hanging out in the soap dish in our shower. The staff is excellent and could not be more accomodating. Meals are scheduled around your safaris and if you're out longer they adjust beautifully.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A wonderful lodge in the Lower Zambezi, where you will feel entirely relaxed in the most luxurious place in the bush. The lodge is in the most stunning location, right on the Zambezi River where wildlife grace you throughout your stay. From the moment you arrive you feel at ease. From the design of the lodge which frames the surrounding landscape beautifully, to Royal staff who work faultlessly together to make your stay magical. The tents are luxurious, with the most incredible bathrooms. When you think things can’t get any better, the activities the lodge provides you with the most exceptional wildlife whether you go on a morning drive, canoe safari or night drive. I encountered so many lions (out hunting and fast asleep), a leopard eating its kill with her cub, mongoose, elephants, hippos, buffalos and so on.
When you are ready to relax again, you can sit on the lodge’s snug sofas in front of a roaring fire or sit on your personal porch. I cannot recommend enough a visit to spa, the massages are miraculous and to top it all off the spa is situated towering over the lodge and the river.
This place is a jewel – and I cannot to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have recently just returned from royal Zambezi lodge based on the river. It is a beautiful place where you can feel at one with nature, it truly is a magical place. The staff are all very gracious and go out of there way to make you feel at home. Their are so many once in a lifetime things to see and experience I would recommend this destination to everyone it's a once in a lifetime .

Room Tip: If you can get room number 11 beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Zambezi Lodge

Address: P/Bag CH42, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lower Zambezi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lower Zambezi National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Zambezi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Zambezi Lodge, a spacious but intimate privately owned lodge, situated in Zambia on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River just minutes from the Lower Zambezi National Park and directly opposite Zimbabwe's famous Mana Pools World Heritage Site. Royal offers the ultimate in luxury and cuisine while enjoying and participating closely in the sights and sounds of the African wilderness. Royal provides the perfect romantic setting for honeymoon couples, while its customised family suite works perfectly for family holidays. There is lots of space for all to enjoy their unique stay. The central building and individual private suites are designed to let nature play a leading role in ensuring the relaxed pace and magical experiences are enjoyed by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Zambezi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Zambezi Hotel Lusaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Zambezi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.