We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kafunta River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kafunta River Lodge
Save
You added Kafunta River Lodge to your Saves list
Box 83, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

South luangwa is amazing and Kafunta is a wonderful place.to stay near the park. Alison, the manager, and the team could not have made our stay more comfortable. Martin, our guide, was fantastic in finding the birds in the park, which was our interest as well as the larger animals having booked through Naturetrek. The food was excellent, the view superb, the chalets beautiful. Cannot recommend this lodge more. We will be back at a different time of year for some Walking in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Delia, I am sure Alison, Martina and the team will be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's a great time of year for birdwatching but I now you'll enjoy your walking safari just as much next time we see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed six nights,wonderful location,you really do feel the wildlife is all around you,the hippos really are at night! Great to hear all the wild sounds as you go to to bed and look forward to the day ahead.Chalets are comfortable and clean,with good views toward the river,you can birdwatch from your varanda,had great views of Kingfishers and Spoonbills.
Really enjoyed stay, wonderful food, excelent wildlife. Security in much need of updating, sad to say. Were hoping to have heard back from Lodge.

Room Tip: All chalets are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Kafunta River Lodge. I know the owner has been in contact with your agent since but let me apologise again that there was an issue with security and rest assured we are conducting a thorough review and will be taking firm action. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the game viewing and bird watching. The South Luangwa is an excellent wildlife destination and the lodge lets you be in the thick of it, in comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schöllkrippen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in there for three days, having several interesting and marvellous activities in the park ! Very very friendly service, perfect rooms and every time the feeling of being save and very very welcom. Absolute superb guides on the trips with much knwolegde over Zambia in comon and the park. All people took care of us and we definitivly come back again. Enjoyed the stay very very much.
The best place to stay in the South Luangwa National Park !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for this lovely feedback and I know that the team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much. You are more than welcome and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The best about the Kafunta Lodge ist its great location just outside the park with a special entrance to the park, so you can go on safari where less cars go than near the main entrance!
And we had elephants and other animals just walking through the area at night.
They probably have the best chef, the food was amaaazing, and the natural outdoor hot tub is a special extra only at Kafunta!
The rooms are impeccable, very comfortable and with great views to the plains.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks very much for this excellent review. You've touched on points that we take pride in and that we think make Kafunta extra special. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ended up here by coincidence to celebrate the end of our self-drive trip through Zambia and it was the best choice possible (obviously it's not open to camping, so self-drivers must stay in lodge). Everything was just perfect about this little paradise. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the manager Mario is such a great guy doing every effort to make it an unforgettable experience. The guide of the safaris was excellent, entertaining and knowledgeable. The swimming pool was clean and it was a great place to relax and watch all the animals passing by. Despite the dry season, there is always a little water in front of Kafunta (very rare). The rooms were stylish, comfortable and clean. The food was of the highest quality and it was a delight to enjoy dinner in candle light every night. You can't get it better, this is paradise that you will never want to leave again. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We're glad that a happy coincidence led you to Kafunta River Lodge. We too think the South Luangwa is a slice of paradise and we enjoyed sharing it with you. Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recently returned from our third visit to Kafunta-having travelled on safari holidays in Africa for many years-Zambia is one of our favourite countries and Kafunta is one of our favourite lodges!!The game,the accommodation and staff are all first class and most of the guides have been here for many years-cannot fault it and the big plus is that it is still affordable when compared to other lodges that have hiked-up their prices in recent years-would not hesitate to reccomend a stay/safari here. Barry and Sue Cozens UK Feb 4th 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Kafunta and for the lovely feedback. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. It was a pleasure hosting you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kafunta family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A beautiful setting in the Zambian bush. The waterhole and floodplain attracts animals and birds and at different times we were able to watch a large herd of elephants; giraffe; even a baby puku taking its first few steps, right from the deck, while enjoying a glass of wine! The bird life too is absolutely fantastic. The service was amazing and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. One of the most enjoyable places I have ever been to. Thank you to Alison and to Anke and Ron for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Public Relations Manager at Kafunta River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
The team will be thrilled to read your kind comments and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We will hopefully see you again in the future and we will be sure to organise the elephants on the plains again for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kafunta River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafunta River Lodge

Address: Box 83, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kafunta River Lodge is set in the riverside forest on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park, Zambia. This classic safari lodge offers our guests all the comforts, while being situated in unspoilt wilderness. There are 8 private chalets and 2 luxury suites, all overlooking a game rich flood plain. We offer game drives, night drives and walking safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kafunta River Lodge Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kafunta River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.