We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Bush Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Save
You added Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company to your Saves list
The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Bush Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Chindeni is one of our favorite bush camps. Why else would we bring groups of friends here year after year? Like the outdoors and wildness of the bush? You'll get it here. Want to see lots of wild animals wondering around outside the camp? You'll get it here. Want luxury while you enjoy the bush? You'll get it here. Want the best food and service anywhere? You'll get it here. Don't want crowds of people when you go on game drives. Won't get them here. Enough said?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Chindeni is simply stunning. It cannot be called a "camp" since it has all the luxury of a lodge, but the intimacy of only 4 cabins. Beautifully and tastefully designed, inside there is an open plan sleeping and bathroom area, with shower and all the comforts of home. Solar power makes the camp very eco-friendly.
The view from the outside deck area is fantastic, and we could see a variety of animals drinking at the waters edge.
Our guide Peter was excellent, as was our tracker. We had some wonderful animal sightings at night, including several leopards, hyenas,and an aardvark. The morning bush walks were great, we learnt a lot and got a real feeling for the sight and sounds of Africa.
Food as expected didn't disappoint. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chindeni.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

After our stay at Chamilandu we then went on to Chindeni, another Bush Camp, part of the BushCamp company. This was a tented camp which was simply incredible. The tents were luxurious and were situated on the banks of the lagoon with lots of game in the distance on the open plain. The Chindeni hills provided a beautiful backdrop to the camp, with our morning breakfast spent watching the sun rise over the hills - something i will remember for a very long time! We had some incredible game viewing and on our first evening, saw vultures feeding on a kill, watched from the camps deck! The managers, Tamsin and Brendan made our stay perfect and were always there to help. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We thoroughly recommend this trip into the bush and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We enjoyed Chindeni very much. The view of the lagoon provided for excellent game viewing and spectacular sunrises. To call this a tented camp is a bit of an understatement-these are very luxurious accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I spent two nights here on a trip to the South Luangwa National park that took in a couple of the other bushcamps as well. The location of this camp is amazing. It is right on a lagoon that houses resident hippos, and in the afternoons is the watering hole for many many animals, so it is a great spot to lie on the provided hammocks and watch / take pictures.

The guide (Peter) is a very gentle person, who imparts his knowledge of all things bush (plants, animals, birds and insects) in a quiet and studied way. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and no question was too silly.

The only thing I would warn about, is the baboons that run overhead in the trees at night. This is not a negative, as it is great being so deep within the bush with the animals close by, but it can give you a bit of a fright when they move swiftly about in the trees and drop fruits etc on the tents in the early hours of the morning - if you are light sleeper I would suggest ear plugs so as not to be woken up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Having stayed at Mfuwe lodge, 3 nights at Zungilila (which was beautiful), 2 nights at Kapamba (which is great, but not for wimps - very open rooms), we finally arrived at Chindeni Camp. Overall, i would rate it at the top. Tamsin and Brendan are wonderful hosts, great fun and really want to make your trip a happy one. The wildlife is incredible (we were lucky enough to get a glimpse of a leopard), the guides very knowledgable, the food was varied and absolutely delicious and the rooms are amazingly cosy. I would highly recommend adding Chindeni Camp to your camp wish list if you are visiting the South Luangwa National Park!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had two families travelling together. Two couples and six total children between 9 and 17 years old. We had the entire camp to ourselves. All of our expectations were exceeded in every way and we had a marvelous time. I recommend this camp without any reservation. The setting is beautiful, the accommodations are first class and extrememly comfortable and the food is wonderful. While all these ammenities are top notch, they are exceeded by the knowledge and hospitality of the managment and staff. Oli managed the camp perfectly, Peter guided us to unbelievable animal sightings (we saw it all) and the balance of the staff met our every whim and desire with quiet elegance. I cannot imagine a better experience.

Room Tip: there are only 4 cabins and all are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chindeni Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.