We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company
Save
You added Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company to your Saves list
The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Mfuwe Lodge is in a completely different league to the vast majority of other places that offer this type of holiday. The guiding was the best I have ever encountered - their knowledge was unbelievable. Also the night game drives (which many other locations don't offer) were really good fun and amazing for viewing so much wildlife you simply don't see during daylight hours, as well as looking at elephants walk through reception, literally three feet away from you as you madly try to take photos - not many other places offer this! Mfuwe Lodge is very comforable, the rooms all have fabulous views with wildlife all around, the spa is the best and cannot be recommeneded more highly, all the staff are so helpful and friendly, the sundowners were truly magical overlooking the river - it really was a simply incredible holiday.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
102
28
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were a group of 9 and set out on a journey to S.Luangwa and decided to stay at Mfuwe. Having personally done minimum research, we were greeted to a warm welcome by a gentleman 'Peter' that was simply... great. This set out an expectation that purely stated 'welcome home'. The journey from there on was smooth. Genuine hospitality was the highlight of the stay (of course the safari was a category of its own). The little surprises along the way was outstanding & the African dance by 4 local folks gave us something authentic. The spa was a surprise mix where we spent most of our time after they caught our attention by making us feel uber relaxed. Overall fabulous 3 nights including NYE. Please keep the spirits high guys. Cheers & look forward to coming back in the near future.

Room Tip: They have rooms situated at designated areas overlooking animals. Crocodile room had a view of the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingairloch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This really was a trip of a lifetime and I would recommend anyone considering a safari holiday to go here. The lodge was first class, extremely comfortable and served great meals- there's even a spa! Our guide was fantastic- a true walking encyclopedia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Mfuwe Lodge for our hooneymoon. What an amazing place. The night safari is a must do! We were lucky enough to have the first elephants of the season roam through the hotel reception area. The highlight of our stay was the bush breakfast. Seen so many animals. Service was amazing, food was amazing. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our break at Mfuwe Lodge was simply beautiful. We were welcomed so warmly before, during and after our stay. Probably the best thing about the lodge is the staff who were all so friendly and helpful we really felt like members of the Mfuwe family by the end of our visit and we were very sad to leave. I can highly recommend the lodge to anyone looking for a place to stay at South Luwangwa. It's right inside the park in a lovely location with all the cottages overlooking the water. The accommodation is great, the food is great, and your stay will be great!

The lodge itself has been furnished to a very high standard. All the communal areas, and our cottage were beautifully decorated and very well presented. The rooms are clean and very well kept. It was a very relaxing place to be when you had a bit of down time to go for a swim or read a book... or grab a massage at the perfectly situated bush spa. We indulged in a set of treatments and thoroughly enjoyed listening to the hippos while we enjoyed the open air treatment rooms.

Probably the second best thing about the lodge is the food. A typical day at the lodge involves an early start for a lovely buffet breakfast before the morning game drive. We were lucky enough to visit at the right time of year to enjoy our breakfasts with the elephants who were visiting reception for their breakfast too!
The morning game drive lasts 4 hours with a leisurely tea break half way. When you arrive back to the lodge you have a short time to freshen up before a large brunch is served - usually as a big buffet. You then have a few hours to yourself to relax and perhaps enjoy an early afternoon pimms (they know how to make them properly!) before they serve afternoon tea (usually cake and savoury snacks) which precedes the evening game drive.
The evening drive is also four hours and is broken up by a stop for sunset gin and tonics. When you get back to lodge you'll again have a few minutes to freshen up before a sit down 3 course dinner is served.... after which you'll be ready to roll straight into bed and start again the next day.

One of the nicest things about our stay was the friends we made. My friend and I were collected from the airport along with another couple who had arrived on the same plane. We were collected by the man who would become our guide for the rest of our stay and would take us on every game drive together with the couple we arrived with. We also shared meals with our guide and the other couple which meant that we all bonded really well over our few days together and became wonderful friends.

We visited the lodge just after the first rains, but just before the rainy season really took hold. This meant we were met with sunny moderate days (not the unbearable heat of Zambian suicide month in October) and lovely green landscape. I had seen photos taken by some friends who had visited in the midst of the dry season and it looked almost depressing to me with all the bare dry brown land (I was living in Africa so getting quite sick of the brown-ness). I was so pleased when everything looked green and lovely as the land was beginning to come to life again, but I can definitely appreciate that this additional foliage made it much harder to spot the animals, so the dry season may well be the best option to really see the wildlife.

After having visited the lodge and hearing about the bush camps, I'm really excited to hopefully go back in the future and give one of the camps a go. I am sure anyone would have an amazing time at either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Mfuwe Lodge was amazing. They met every need before I asked. The meals were top-notch and healthy and the accomodations are luxurious and beautiful. In early December there were wild elephants walking through the lobby to eat mangoes. I love how sincerely friendly everyone is. My daughter and I treated ourselves to massages at the spa. That was one of the best massages I've ever had and certainly the most exotic location, worth it just for the view! I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lion." All the rooms are wonderful, far as I know. I'd just rather b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our previous visits to the South Luangwa National Park have been made in the dry season. Having heard a great deal about the attractions of the green season we decided to find out for ourselves. We were not disappointed, new life all around us - lion cubs, new born impala, warthog piglets, a baobab tree in leaf, wild flowers in bloom, new grass on the plains, occasional dramatic rain storms and of course Wonkie Tusk and her family’s regular visits to the Lodge in November and December contributed to make a memorable and exiting trip.

Thanks to the Mfuwe Lodge team for their usual warm and friendly welcome. The level of comfort, care and hospitality made for a relaxing stay in a style to complement the Bush location. The guides and spotters knowledge and humour ensured that game drives were always stimulating and enjoyable.

We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ease yourself into Luangwa life at The Bushcamp Company's award-winning Mfuwe Lodge; set beneath a canopy of ebony and mahogany trees, its thatched buildings are arranged around the banks of two lagoons where an endless stream of wildlife will keep you enthralled as you lounge on the open deck or take a dip in the swimming pool. Located inside the park, in the most prolific game area of the South Luangwa, Mfuwe Lodge is the perfect place to enjoy excellent game viewing, recharge your batteries, or to start and finish your journey to our bushcamps. The lodge has 18 spacious, en-suite thatched chalets with private verandah, plus a spa and curio shop. The lodge offers day and night game drives, plus (upon request) guided walking safaris & cultural visits to the local village, school and textiles market. Located 40 minutes from Mfuwe International Airport (open year round). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company Hotel South Luangwa National Park
Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mfuwe Lodge - The Bushcamp Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.