We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding camp in an unmatched location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris)
Save
You added Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris) to your Saves list
South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An outstanding camp in an unmatched location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed three days at Kaingo – followed by two at Mwamba - in October 2013. We completely endorse the positive comments made by other reviewers - Geoff G in particular has got it exactly right.

Kaingo is in a beautiful location overlooking the Luangwa, which the deck provided for each cabin makes the most of; and the comfort and catering are first class for a safari camp. From the moment we were met at Mfuwe by James (good to see that he has now secured a place on the web site) we were made to feel welcome, and the care from by all the staff and guides throughout couldn’t have been more attentive.

Wildlife highlights: carmine bee-eaters (the hide is really what brought us here); lions actually doing something other than just lying around; hippos everywhere: a days-old Thornicroft’s calf still with its umbilical cord; massed elephants and buffalo by the Luangwa.

Many thanks to everyone at Kaingo-Mwamba for a fantastic few days, but we have to make special mention of Andrew, who guided us on the majority of our drives and on our walk to Mwamba - great hat; terrible jokes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear John and Sue!

Thank you very much for your review, it is wonderful to know that your safari at Kaingo and Mwamba was to your satisfaction! And so glad you noticed the update on the website for James :)

We will certainly pass on your feedback to our staff and to Andrew. Thank you for them.

We hope to see you again soon in South Luangwa!

Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
57
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The guides, scouts, and staff were all fantastic. Very knowledgeable and accommodating. Our experience was beyond expectations. Hard to describe the feeling of being in such a beautiful natural landscape with all the wildlife. Our room was very nice, comfortable, a bit rustic, which suited us just fine. The deck over looking the Luangwa river at Kaingo was amazing. Our stay was in October with 3 nights in Kaingo and then 3 nights at the Mwamba bush camp. A bit hot during mid day and evening. So many animals mixing together near the river for water. We will definitely return. Tom & Lisa Thornton-Neu, Carmel Valley, California

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tom & Lisa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I'm so delighted to read that your safari was to your satisfaction, and that our guides and staff made your stay special.

We all look forward to having you back some day!

Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife, Sue and I, recently spent 9 days in Zambia, 3 at Kaingo, 3 at Mwamba and a further 3 back at Kaingo. We've travelled as photographers in most countries and many times in Africa but Kaingo/Mwamba camps are very hard to beat. The welcome from Izzy and her colleagues was exceptional and the service level can only be descibed as superb thoughout the trip. Kaingo isn't a 'bush camp' but it is in the bush and so we weren't expecting high-end cuisene, we were very pleasantly surprised to find the food is indeed of an exceptionally high quality. The staff are friendly and very knowledable when it comes to wildlife and the night drives should not be missed, however, the highlight from the perspective of a photographer was the hides at both camps. Without these some of the shots we got would have eluded us. We would recommend a trip to Kaingo and/or Mwamba without any reservation. In fact we are taking our owm advice and returning in 2015.
Rob & Sue Brookes, Cumbria, England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sue and Rob,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your safari with us! It was a real pleasure to have you both in camp, and it is fantastic to read that you are already planning a return visit!

Thank you for your feedback; it will be shared with all the staff.

Most sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Personal bespoke attention. Amazing staff/ client rapport. Sorry it wasn't longer than 3 days. The knowledge and humble way it was delivered with both humour and understanding was exceptional. Attention to detail was good and the food incredible - particularly considering the remote location and limited facilities - such as shops! There was time to rest as well as time to socialise and game view and our interests were catered to by the staff. Thank you. It made the celebration of our thirtieth wedding anniversary one we will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Julia T!

I am so happy that you have enjoyed your safari so much, and that our staff and facilities were to your satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to add the review,and we hope you will be back for future anniversaries as well!

Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying four nights at Kaingo and in that time we were made to feel like family.
We have travelled extensively throughout Africa, and have done dozens of safaris in Kenya, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and South Africa. This camp is most definitely our favourite.
It is special for many reasons.
The camp is located in a wonderful setting and the rooms are clean and comfortable, although you do not spend much time there.......there simply is just too much to do and see.
The wildlife is plentiful and we saw leopards, lions, elephants, buffalo, hippos, crocs in good numbers. So many other species of animal and birds also including porcupine, mongoose, civets, genets, etc. etc. the list goes on and on.
The food is very good and plentiful, and considering the logistics involved by being three hours from the nearest township and the capabilities of the kitchen, they manage superbly.
The guides are the most "tuned into nature" guides that I have ever had. Their knowledge of the animals, birds and surrounds are second to none. My wife and I learnt so much from them.
We saw some amazing sights whilst at the camp, and it was the wildlife that we had come to see......but......the one thing that is truly outstanding at this camp, is the people there that are looking after you. We had only four nights at this camp, and in that short time we felt like family. Nothing is too much trouble for you from any of the staff. We laughed and smiled with them all the time. The Zambian guides have a lovely sense of humour and you just sense that it is a happy camp. We were made to feel special, and we thank you for all of your attentiveness.
There are some outside factors to consider however.
Firstly, if you understand nature then you will realise that there are no certainties when it comes to seeing wildlife. We saw everything that we came to see, and on more than one occasion. ie. leopards. Lions we saw every day along with elephants, hippos, crocs and buffalo. As a birder we saw Pel`s fish owl at a distance of ten meters, and one night we saw pennant-winged nightjar, but these are never guaranteed. The only thing that I would say is that the guides at the camp work so hard at finding these things for you. The night drives are superb.
Secondly, it really does help if you have pleasant and considerate people staying there with you also. We were very lucky and everybody blended in well together.
Over all this was a wonderful experience as so many before me have said also.....just read the reviews and I can assure you they they don`t lie.
To Izzy, Yvonne, Johan, Patrick, Andrew, Maxwell, Peter and all the staff thank you so much for all the treasured moments that we had with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Geoff G!

Thank you SO MUCH for this extremely kind review, we will make sure to forward it to all our staff members. Reviews with a few glitches help us improve our services, but your review will go straight to the heart of our staff, and reward them for their hard work.

So from the bottom of our heart, THANK YOU!

We will of course strive to continue providing such service, and train our staff to be courteous & fun, and dedicated to our guests. This is what matters. And of course, the wildlife! We are so privileged with our area.

We hope to see you again in a future visit!

Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Kaingo was our first bush camp experience and wow...what an introduction. The pace is high as to pack as much as possible into your day which suited us fine. From the early morning drum beating you are on the go, there is literally not a dull moment to be had. The staff are excellent, and our guides were outstanding! Andrew and Patrick's knowledge, friendliness and sense of humor made the experience just so enjoyable. Although the camp we moved on to was very good Kaingo is the one we would return to in the blink of an eye.

Room Tip: For the photog's..I took several lens's but almost exclusively used 300mm f2.8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear "Gonein60",

Thank you very much for your review of Kaingo Camp, I'm so glad to read that your first bush experience was a success, and that our staff did contribute to that! I will let them know of course.

Don't wait to long to come back!
Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Kaingo this September. Many thanks to Izzy, Yvonne, Johan, and guide Andrew for that. The rooms are roomy and on the river. You have a patio overlooking the river where lunch is served privately which is a very nice touch. There is also a large platform over the river where you can spend the afternoon relaxing or doing photography of whatever might be in the river. Electricity is solar powered and there is a hut with many outlets to recharge your equipment. They use refillable water bottles which is eco friendly. Food was excellent and plentiful. It is almost a food safari with wildlife added!

There were many photo ops here. You should not miss the hippo hide which is right above them in the river. Also, in season, the Carmine Beeater hide is a DO NOT MISS! There seemed to be plenty of game including elephants, giraffe, buffalo, leopard, and all the usual hooved animals, and there were two prides of lions in the area as well.

Birding is excellent as the waterholes dry up and birds come to drink. It can be warm to hot even in mid September and the cabin was a bit warm at night but small fans were installed when we were there that made getting to sleep no problem. It is an extremely comfortable cabin with a large bathroom and excellent hot water. There is a breeze at night from the river which also helps to cool the room.

All in all an excellent stay in an excellent camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShentonSafaris, Manager at Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Michelle S!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your visit at Kaingo. It is a pleasure to read that you feel your stay was excellent, and the sightings spectacular. That's what we want to hear!

We've had a very hot month of September indeed, a bit unusually early. It is interesting in South Luangwa to go from quite cold to extremely hot in just 3 months.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Izzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris)

Address: South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaingo Camp is a privately owned and run safari camp located deep in the South Luangwa National Park. Set alongside the perennial Luangwa river, the 6 chalets have an outdoor bathtub and private viewing deck. Kaingo Camp, and its sister bushcamp Mwamba, have a unique set of observation hides offering unmatched opportunities to watch and photograph wildlife. The rates include 3 game viewing activities per day, and all meals and beverages. The rates are per person, per night. Kaingo and Mwamba are seasonal camps, and are opened from May 26th to October 31st. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris) Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaingo Camp (Shenton Safaris), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.