We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bush-Spa

Bush-Spa
South Luangwa National Park, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
+260 979 306 826
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in the beauty of indigenous bush in Zambia, creating a sanctuary of pure simplicity for those seeking tranquillity and rejuvenation of mind, body and soul; the Bush-Spa in South Luangwa National Park! With views over the lagoon, all guests enjoying their Safari experience can easily arrange a visit to the Spa facility either during game drives, or just right after them. Discover a wellness sanctuary in the heart of nature at South Luangwa’s Bush-Spa.The Bush-Spa is located at Mfuwe Lodge offering their resident guests an additional service in the form of Spa treatments. Luckily the set up of the Bush-Spa is so unique, there would be no reason to limit these amenities to resident Mfuwe Lodge guests only. Having a separate entrance, a private deck and views over the lagoon, all guests enjoying their Safari experience in the Luangwa Valley can easily arrange a visit to the Spa facility.We gladly arrange transfers to and from the Bush-Spa to any of the South Luangwa Camps or Lodges within the vicinity.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely Spa and so relaxing to have massage, pedicure, whatever, overlooking the lagoon. Sat there watching hippos and elephants on my last visit. I really like the fact that the Spa employs local people too and develops its own products from local resources.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Magical Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved the atmosphere, it was an almost perfect African Spa adventure. They promptly picked us up from our lodge and took us directly to the spa. The greetings from the staff to the tea when we entered made the whole adventure very relaxing.
The only thing is, the time increments seem to be a bit off. Our 60 minutes really was only about 30-45 minutes, with time for tea and chatting being included in our service time. Personally, I was hoping for the whole allotted time to be for the actual spa experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bush-Spa, Owner at Bush-Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback and sharing your concern. Yes, the Bush-Spa prides itself on the relaxed atmosphere, the amazing views from our deck and the wildlife about us.
Spa's all over the world operate differently and since there are not too many Spa's located inside a National Park and even less constantly surrounded by an abundance of wildlife, we always wish to spend a little extra time with each individual guest. The location and our Flora & Fauna neighbours make our Bush-Spa unique! There are plenty of places in the world where one can have a massage, but only a few where your massage might be extended due to unique sightings of visiting wildlife.

Unfortunately we are unable to look back at the finer details of your booking, but we indeed also offer complimentary pick ups for guests residing at various Luangwa lodges upon scheduled appointments.
All bookings and appointments are kept in a specific timeframe and although we do our utmost best to extend the times where possible, we do ask guests to be able to check in at the Spa 5-10 minutes prior to their appointment. This allows guests to take in the beautiful scenery and share a nice herbal tea with us. Unfortunately, late arrivals may not always receive an extension of scheduled treatments, so as not to inconvenience other spa guests. Obviously when arranging a transfer for guests, the additional small drive to the Spa falls outside the time for booked for treatments.

We pride ourselves in high quality, professional treatments which are according to time slots booked by our valued Spa guests. The possible wandering by of various animals often causes an extension of the African Spa experience.

We apologize for the service deficiencies you noted, our treatments are booked and carried out per time slot ordered, our welcoming tea, relaxing foot washing ceremonies and the fresh juice afterwards are additional to the time of the treatment. Please be assured that we are investigating your remarks as to avoid disappointments for future guests.

We highly appreciate your frankness that our destination did not "tick all your boxes", however hope that the good memories of the Bush-Spa, our team and the stunning South Luangwa, far exceed the not-so-good ones. Our endeavours to delight each and every guest will continue, and your valuable feedback will be utilised in this effort. We welcome feedback from our all our Spa guests!

We look forward welcoming you back one day!

With warmest regards
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Amazing massages surrounded by nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

DH and I made time for a couples massage while we were in South Luangwa and were so glad we did. The massages were outstanding. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massage in the Bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Both my husband and I had simultaneous massages while staying at Kuyenda. The massage therapists were absolutely fantastic. There is nothing quite like laying beneath the shade of an Acacia tree, surrounded by the muted sounds of the birds with the beautiful mudcloths enclosing the private therapy area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Both adults and children loved the experience, we will certainly be visiting Mfuwe lodge again, hopefully in the not to distant future

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush-Spa also viewed

South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
 

Been to Bush-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush-Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.