We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chikoko Trails Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chikoko Trails Camps
Save
You added Chikoko Trails Camps to your Saves list
8 km upstream from Tafika, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I always wanted to sleep on a tree house, and that is pretty much what is on offer at Chikoko, with a great sense of remoteness, wonderful views and wildlife, knowledgeable guides and helpful and very pleasant staff. The food produced from a oven in a hole in the ground and on fire is fantastic and I have rarely tasted such good bread.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Chikoko Tree Camp. It was quite an adventure getting there, crossing the river by canoe (alongside the hippos and crocs), then a drive to another river crossing, via Tafika and another canoe and then a 10 - 15 minute walk to camp. We were then greeted with a cold drink and delicious lunch. Our hut was comfortable and clean, and we soon got the hang of the wooden steps up to the sleeping area. We felt privileged to be guided by Isaac, and I don't think there is anything he doesn't know about the flora and fauna. The food at the camp is of a very high standard - all cooked on a traditional fire or the oven which is a hole in the ground. Toast (from delicious home made bread) is made over hot coals from the oven. The service in the camp was excellent. The walking was a wonderful experience, and although you don't get as close to the animals as on a drive, you feel part of the landscape. Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I spent 1 night in Chikoko and 2 nights in Crocodile Camp and loved every minute. Isac is a fantastic guide, who also is active in HIV projects. The food and the service is absolutly outstanding. I was luckily the only guest for 2 nights, which made a very personal experience. I felt safe all the time. Highly recommended if you are in real walking mood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Like its sister camp, Crocodile River Camp, Chikoko Tree Camp is a small rustic camp situated in an area where there are no roads. We arrived here after a four hour walk with Alex ( our guide), Timothy ( our ranger) and George ( our tea bearer) from Crocodile River Camp ( see my review of that camp on Tripadvisor). The routine at Chikoko Tree Camp was identical to that at Crocodile River Camp, the food and staff were of the same excellent standards and the accommodation was very comfortable so I will not repeat my high praise of those qualities in this review. The only reason that I did not give Chikoko Tree Camp the five star rating that I gave Crocodile River Camp was that I was not enamoured with the two storey configuration of the wood and thatch chalets. The second floor bedroom offered a wonderful view of the surrounding area and was positioned to take advantage of any breeze that might arise. However, I think that anyone that has any difficulty negotiating steep stairs should be aware that a midnight trip to the first floor facilities could be a little daunting. Apart from this minor quibble I would recommend this camp to everyone that appreciates being out in the bush enjoying nature with excellent guiding, food and service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent two nights in Crocodile River Camp and two in Chikoko Tree Camp. Both camps offer relatively easy walking for about 6 hours per day, 4 in early morning and 2 late afternoon, the walks are led by an experienced and very knowledgeable guide, Alex or Isaac, supported by a ZAWA Ranger and the vital tea porter/spotter.
The walks give a different perspective on the area taking in the bigger picture of flora, fauna and birds with an opportunity to learn some of the detail – tracks, droppings, bones, trees and bushes. Whilst sightings of game may not be as close from a vehicle they are probably more rewarding and exiting. Watching Lions on a kill or standing very still while a group of mature male Buffalo pass close by is certainly stimulating.
Each camp can accommodate a maximum of six people in three simple but well equipped comfortable chalets, complete with very nice resident bat in Crocodile, whilst sharing a common pedigree of Remote Safaris they are different in style. The quality of food is good and varied, to fully appreciate what you are eating ask to see the kitchens and meet the chefs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We (two Couples) stayed at Crocodile Camp for one night and Chikoko Camp for two nights in Mid September. It was amazing walking in the African bush with none other than Isaac our guide and Timothy our ranger. The weather was great, not too hot or humid and the uncharacteristic winds for that time of year helped to keep us cool and comfortable. Safariholic in previous reviews has outlined superbly the daily activities and workings of the camps and I cant really add anything else other than it was an awesome experience and cant wait to get back there. If you get the chance, go. You will love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, Surrey, England
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed 3 nights this time (early Oct 2011) with a 4th at Crocodile Camp, linked with Tafika (3 nights there) - just a delightful experience from every stand point. Very comfortable accomodation, despite a slightly breezy couple of days (unusual for this time of year) and pleasingly, not boiling hot (at 25C and not 40C+). Great food (too many sweet treats, if anything), service and location. Fabulous walks and we saw loads, including a Honey Badger in broad daylight, Buffalos (herd of c. 800+), Leopards, Hyenas and Lions on a kill, and tons else. This is ideal for folks who really want to get away from the lot, re-awaken the senses and clear the mind and would like to have the wind in their hair or in their Mosquito net at night - we had a Squirrel entertain us for hours (once we'd realised that that was indeed what it was and that it was harmless !). Wildlife abounds (in the Bush), so be aware, it lives here and it is you that is the Visitor. ALL part of the fun, but Creepy Crawly worryers - be warned. No windows, curtains, doors, AC nor CNN, so enjoy it for what it is. Starts are very early (around 06.00) and the better for it. With a tea break (or coffee) in the Bush, we were invariably back in Camp by 11.00. Chill, Luncheon and a nap (what luxury) before the 15.30 Tea and Cake (fresh baked every day). Then out for the afternoon walk, which is short, as one HAS to be back by dusk - 18.00(ish). Ablutions with a G&T or Beer (a fridge is in operation and stocked), and an evening meal with drinks round a log fire under the Stars, while one swaps Bush Yarns makes a typical day. Travel very light, pack any chargers necessary. Teens/Kids caveat - remain cautious as to whether this is a good option for the young (as I said last time). Our Guide was non other than Isaac and Tim was our ZAWA Ranger, for all 4 days, so they were sick of us, but not we of them. We also lucked-out by having both Camps to ourselves for the entire 4 days - Thank you all so very much

Room Tip: Of the 4 Rooms, I believe only 1 has a double bed, but as they all look out over open areas of grass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chikoko Trails Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chikoko Trails Camps

Address: 8 km upstream from Tafika, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Also Known As:
Chikoko Trails Camps Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chikoko Trails Camps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.