We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Save
You added Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company to your Saves list
The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is truly wonderful. It is the oddest feeling to sleep in a bed in a room in the middle of nowhere, in Africa, and not have any doors and a missing front wall. Oh, and by the way, the bathroom doesn't have a roof! There were bats flying in and out and elephants eating the trees not 20 feet front the end of my bed in the middle of the night. It really is something special.

Georgie, the camp manager was most welcoming and very kind. James, another manager who took over when Georgie had a break, was excellent and we enjoyed great conversations at dinner.

The food was outstanding, as good as you will find anywhere.

In the morning there was a bush walk and in the late afternoon a game drive. Both were well led by our guide James (not the manager) and he was very very knowledgeable. We never asked a question he couldn't answer. He even took us on a walk across the dry Luangwa river to watch a colony of Carmine Bee-eaters, it was magical sitting on a dry sandbank watching the birds as the beautiful Zambian sun went down.

Overall we had great service from The Bushcamp Company. They met us at the airport, transferred us to Mfuwe Lodge for a freshen up and early lunch and then took us on to Chamilandu. Everybody was very professional and very friendly. We would use them again.

Give Chamilandu a try, it really is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Third out of 3 bushcamps we stayed at, this one only having 3 'tree-houses', giving it the right intimacy, great views on (at that time, mostly dry) luangwa river, a loo with a view, open bathroom (just had to watch out for the baboons above us), great food with dinner under the sky, everything to make us feel good, also great attention given to the room (more details and differently furnished), small is really beautiful in this case.

This camp only stays open till end of October, if there is one reflection to make ,and which makes for us the difference with Chindeni, is that we felt a bit it was 'the end of the season' (certainly for the female camp manager), we did found guiding over here also a bit less compared to the 2 other camps (too much, maybe obvious, attention on the big cats, missing out on some possible action on other wildlife)

Anyhow, this camp for sure also recommended by us, but suppose it's more worthwhile to visit it in the beginning of the season (depending also if you want to have a look on a less dry river).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

In brief, no! Another wonderful Bushcamp with an excellent staff and stunning accommodation. Our bedroom was full of beautiful local accessories, delicious toiletries and crisp bed linens. The view from bed and bath on to the river changed from sunup to sundown with elephants,baboons, many different birds and lions strolling by. The guide was excellent and food superb. The afternoon in The Hide provided another experience, the animals so close that one could (but didn't of course) touch them from the porch. Walking in the morning with drives at night was the perfect combination - every day at Chamilandu was a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It is very difficult to compare the Bushcamp facilities one to the other, as each is uniquely wonderful in its own way. Sitting on the edge of a wide river bed, each of the rooms at Chamilandu is completely open giving an extraordinary view of the wild life along the river--baboons, elephants, impalas, exceptional birds. The game in the area was both plentiful and varied. An afternoon in the camp hide brought us within feet of an elephant grazing in a small lagoon. The dining experience during our stay included a Mongolian stir fry followed by quite possibly the best dessert souffle (passion fruit) I have ever had. As always at Bushcamp, the staff goes to great lengths to see that guests enjoy a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This stunning camp with it's wonderful rooms on stilts overlooking the Luangwa River is a must visit for the discerning traveller. Great food, tastefully prepared and presented and super service from Georgie and the staff. More than ample room space and very nicely furnished. A "Loo with a view" as well!!! A must stop if in Luangwa National Park. 3 nights here was well worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, the Honeymoon Room is on it's own. Be aware of Baboons who like soap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and I had 2 wonderful nights at Chamilandu. The rooms and setting are really spectacular - open-fronted stilted house which look out over the Luangwa river. The furnishings are beautiful and I've certainly never had a shower with a better view than at Chamilandu! There are blinds you can put down for more privacy if you wish but you would be missing out. We woke up at midnight to see a family of elephants passing right in front of our room, which was one of the highlights of the whole trip. The staff are lovely, the food delicious and they even made a special private dinner for my parents' wedding anniversary. The game viewing is also great from there, I've stayed at another Bushcamp locations and this was by far the best. Apparently the camp to go to if you want to see leopard! I would really highly recommend Chamilandu, it had a really special feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

All the Camps of the Bushcamp Company are beautiful, but I have to say, Chamilandu is even more incredible than the others! We had 2 beautiful days there this August! The staff went out of their way for us, organizing continuously special moments we will never forget in an incredible setting! Thank you so much, Georgie and team!
Caroline Aitken & Family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s nothing quite like waking up at The Bushcamp Company's Chamilandu. Early morning views don’t get much better – the rippling waters of the Luangwa River, the gentle rise of the Chindeni Hills and a vast African sky especially when you’re lying in a four poster bed in a stilted tree-house. Camp can accommodate up to six guests in three raised tree-houses and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from June to November). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.