We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Save
You added Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company to your Saves list
The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Zungulila and enjoyed every minute. All the staff were extremely welcoming and went out their way to make sure that our stay was the experience of a lifetime. The food was outstanding and the "tent" superb. We visited in October when the temperatures around midday were about 40 degC so the plunge pool was exactly what was needed to cool off. Special mention must go to the Camp Manager, Oli, who was a great host, and to our Guide, Mishek, who is one of the most knowledgeable individuals I have ever met.

Come to Zungulila - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband, 2 friends and I recently spent 4 nights at Zungulila Bush Camp......after a very tiring day of small planes and long drives we were met at 10pm by a hugely smiling manager Julius...and his very welcoming staff with cold face towels and drinks....we were then treated to a magnificent dinner prepared by an amazing chef...Joseph.....at a beautifully set table under a sky filled with stars....what a way to start a 4 night stay at a very remote Bush Camp!!....the rooms were beautifully decorated and most comfortable....no detail was overlooked..... the days were spent with safari on foot and by jeep with a wonderfully knowledgeable guide Misheck and scout Lenado ......we saw a lot of game and birds and learned about the habits of the smallest insects.......cant wait to go back...congratulations to Julius, Mike and everyone involved and a huge thank you for enriching our lives!

Room Tip: every room fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Although we were supposed to stay only one night and then move to another camp, we fell in love with this camp and stayed our entire stay. The rooms are charming overlooking the river with an external plunge pool to cool down after the walking safaris. The view onto the landscape is incredible and we actually spent 2 afternoons at the camp watching the world go by... Elephants, buffaloes, impalas, bird life, lions! And if this was not enough, the staff and the food were astonishing! The chef even cooked gluten free meals for me. So don't expect to lose weight during your stay!
The guides on the safaris are very knowledgeable and clearly passionate about their work. Also, everyone is very respectful of the wild life and nature which refreshing to see in a touristic place. This was a truly unforgettable stay in harmony with nature.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A wonderful camp in a sensational location. The food was great, the guiding was excellent and the host very friendly, highly knowlegable and great company. It is perhaps the best safari experience I have had. Would love to return one day and see other bushcamps (and stay about a week longer).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Zungulila is a beautiful camp and, as always with The Bushcamp Company, the staff are so friendly and welcoming. We were lucky that there had recently been a buffalo kill by a pride of lions (not so lucky for the buffalo) so we got to see them having their dinner. Food was delicious and rooms very comfortable. Added bonus having a plunge pool for those hot afternoon siesta times!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Zungulila is the most remote of the bush camps run by the Bushcamp Company and has a very special ‘old-world’ charm. The staff were wonderful and we really felt like adventurers at this camp, located a little further into the Valley, than most visitors get the chance to travel. We slept in truly luxurious tents and loved breakfast by the camp fire each morning. This was 5 star camping at its best!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have been to Zungulila on 3 visits, and it is as fabulous as the other reviewers say. However 2 things really stand out for me; firstly and most importantly the superb guiding by Misheck and secondly and less importantly the wonderful plunge pool in each room! Misheck has the gift of being able to share his vast knowledge in a way that makes it feel like you are just having a conversation. There is a real flow and not just a series of facts. I have been able to remember so much of what he has told me because of this. He can and does make anything and everything interesting for his guests. You always feel safe with Misheck too bearing in mind that the bush is the bush! I was so reassured by his calm manner when we encountered a rather frisky elephant and was delighted when he pointed out wild dogs. What a treat to see them. And even if things are a bit quiet Misheck will find something to interest you. On one night drive when the game was apparently anywhere we weren't, Misheck told me all about the stars of the southern hemisphere and the local stories and beliefs about them. So interesting. And of course Zungulila offers all the luxury and wonderful setting you'd expect from the bushcamp company.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Address: The Bushcamp Company | PO Box 91, Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Specialty Lodging in South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace reigns supreme at The Bushcamp Company's Zungulila, a charming tented camp that embodies the essence of old Africa and a bygone era. Set on the side of a raised knoll, the beautiful thatched tents look out over the sparkling Kapamba River and an expansive plain where natural springs attract huge herds of game. Camp can accommodate up to eight guests in four Meru-style thatched tents and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from May to January). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zungulila Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.