We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mukambi Lodge and the Plains Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mukambi Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kafue National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mukambi Safari Lodge
Save
You added Mukambi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Lusaka-Mongu road | Busanga Plains, Kafue National Park, Zambia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Mukambi Lodge and the Plains Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have now stayed at Mukambi Lodge and their Plains Camp twice. Mukambi makes a good place to kick off after flying into Lusaka (if you take overnight BA flight you will be there for lunch). Linda and her team provide great service and everyone is very friendly. The park is accessed by crossing the river by boat. The immediate vicinity seems rather barren but more remote areas are easily accessed by a graded wide road. In one evening drive we saw 3 male bushbuck (much less common then females), then as the sun sank we spotted some vulture activity which led us to 4 cheetah! another 2 Km and 2 lionesses which soon turned into a pride of 10! Brief glimpse of a leopard, several waterbuck and under the lamp a porcupine which ran alongside before heading off. Akim anticipated its route and we captured some great shots when it emerged. Not bad for one evening! Next morning we took a river cruise with Frazer who was an excellent guide spotting many birds and many hippos were seen.
The food is fine and filter coffee is available and service attentive and cheerful. The rondavels are well appointed and have showers and river views. The lodge also has a nice swimming pool.The campsite is well separated.
Mukambi is to be applauded for establishing a separate village for its workers and their families who also benefit from a school established by the lodge's owners.
Mukambi also have the PLAINS CAMP on the Busanga plains, a 5 hour safari drive north of the lodge. On this journey you will get many game sightings. The tstetse gauntlet this year was lessened by the jeep having a pot of burning elephant dung which proved very effective! The camp situated on an island is reached by a plank causeway (definitely no wheelchair access!). This is a more rustic camp with bucket showers but flushing loos and the tents are comfortable but not masses of storage space (leave bulk of your luggage at Mukambi). Improvements since our last visit included a new deck complete with spotting lamp as lion kills are common close by. The head guide Ferrison is probably the finest I have met, be amazed! Tyrone McKeith who runs the camp also has tremendous knowledge and proved an excellent host. I can wholeheartedly support a stay at Mukambi and Plains, I know I shall return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
34
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in Mukambi lodge in September '11. The place has a magic atmosphere. The rooms are luxurious, although with a back to nature feel. The great and unexpected attraction of Mukambi lodge is a local hippo, who was just wondering around the place when we arrived. The Mukambi lodge has a great location on the Kafue river and offers all range of game viewing safaris. The staff was friendly and very helpful, especially the Manager, Linda Forrest who professionally handled our difficult situation (our Zambian tour operator "Affordable Zambia" failed to book and pay our accomodation in several lodges). Overall, this place met our expectations and we would recommend it to anyone who plans to visit this part of Zambia.

Lange/Zukowski from Warsaw Poland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad , India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Nice people , Good service , Room size is Small , Go with Family suite its big and two bedrooms , they should offer private game drives , we saw lots of game , Dogs , Leopards , two different Lion Pride , nice river , even river boat ride was really nice , The guide will not take you near to elephants as most elephants are aggressive ,

Room Tip: Go for Family Suite , They only have one ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Mukambi tented camp in the Busanga Plains. What an amazing place! When we arrived at the end of July, the camp had only been accessible by vehicle for a couple of weeks - and even then, getting through the marshy areas was an adventure ! - so how Tyrone and his team manage to run an immaculate tented camp in this beautiful, isolated place is hard to imagine. But they do! The food is worthy of a quality restaurant, and the facilities are of a very high standard.
Tyrone is an excellent host, always around to cheer us on our way on game drives, and a source of many great stories round the fire or the dinner table. Game drives were fascinating, in a landscape quite different from the other areas of Zambia we visited. We saw a good range of game, including lions and cheetah. We would love to go back one day.
make sure you take a torch with you, and if you go during the winter months, layers of warm clothes for game drives - it really is cold in the mornings, though pleasantly warm by mid-morning - I was glad of my gloves!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Mukambi is a great place to go. The campsite is clean and very spacious. While the facilities are limited, there is all you actually need. The bomas over each tent pitch give great shelter. Each tent pitch has a fire place and staff will light fires on request. There is a large braai available to use with free charcoal also.

The campsite is next to the river and is perfectly placed so the sun sets through a gap in the trees over the river – a perfect sundowner spot.

The toilet block has flushing toilets and hot and cold showers – which are great after a day on safari.

There is also a kitchen area on the campsite with a few burners, running water and 2 electric sockets for those times when you just need something recharged (or to boil your kettle if you are a lazy camper)

The day we arrived we were greeted by a hippo wandering through the campsite in the middle of the day, then a herd of warthogs passing through for a graze. At night you can hear more hippos in the river, jackals, lions and hyena’s – all around the campsite, so it is good the fires can be kept going all night.

We camped in our own tents, but you can stay in their tents for a bit more of a fee and they are pretty large and luxurious. The tents are all situated together, so a group can still be together even if some are with/without tents.

The campsite is outside the actual park, so you only pay park fees for the days you go into the park. We saw lots of game in the park, but we did our own night drives along the main road after dark and managed to spot 7 lions in just two evenings.

The staff are very friendly and helpful but there is no mobile phone coverage, so communication to the outside is very difficult – good if you are trying to escape hectic work calls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We had 2 days respite from camping at the end of Easter, and it was great to sleep in a bed, have meals prepared, and have the fantastic outlook over the Kafue River.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at Mukambi for 2 nights with a friend in March. This was a break from a work trip in Lusaka. I have only praise for this gorgeous lodge.
We got the bus from Lusaka and were met at the main road by the Mukambi staff and promptly offered a cold drink!
When we arrived at the lodge we were had the pleasure of meeting Basil the local hippo who occasionally wanders into the resort. There are also monkeys, babboons, and warthogs around constantly.
It was the rainy season so the normal game drive routes weren't available but we still saw quite a few animals and had a great cruise up the river.
The place was paid attention to small details while it felt relaxed and comfortable. The managers were always present and the local staff were always up for a chat but also got the hint if you wanted some quiet time.
The rooms were lovely, the linen fantastic and the shower was heated by solar but always had ample hot water for us two girls!
The pool was lovely and the setting quiet-apart from the lion roaring his head off late one night!
The food was fantastic and the breakfast was an absolute treat.
I would totall recommend this place and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mukambi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mukambi Safari Lodge

Address: Lusaka-Mongu road | Busanga Plains, Kafue National Park, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Kafue National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Kafue National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mukambi Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mukambi Safari Lodge is your gateway to Kafue National Park, one of the biggest and last remaining true wilderness areas of Africa. We are located on the Kafue River and organize game drives, boat cruises and walking safaris at your request. We are open all year and are know for our beautiful location, good food, friendly staff and good atmosphere. We are open all year and are child friendly. Try us, you won't regret. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mukambi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.