We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Namib Desert Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namib Desert Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Namib Desert Lodge to your Saves list
Namib Desert Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Marloth Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Namib Desert Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely lodge in a beautiful setting. The staff are friendly and professional. The nature guides, especially Chantal, are knowledgeable and helpful. This is a lodge that I will make a point to visit again if ever the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for complimenting our staff, we will forward your comments to the lodge manager and thank Chantal especially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    107
    37
    5
    0
See reviews for
57
104
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good service and friendley and well trained staff.
Food was well presented with great atmosphere!
Clean cosy rooms with every thing you need at hand.
Beautiful suroundings and sceinery.
The lovely open spaces and the water hole at the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing a Gondwana Collection destination and for taking the time to write about your experience. We will forward your review to the staff and really hope we get the chance to accommodate you again at one of our many destinations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good service very clean. Rooms is basic but comfortable.
Very helpful staff and kind.
Need to work on more tracks to walk.
Food was excellent. Can serve coffee complimentary during the day. Excellent overall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review about your stay and thank you for your suggestions. We are always exploring opportunities to improve and we will consider your recommendations. We have forwarded your review to the lodge manager to thank the staff for their friendly and helpful nature. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a short stay overnight only, but nevertheless I can say the place has a perfect atmosphere fitting to the surrounding desert. Rooms are excellent, food excellent and service excellent. A few mats in the toilet ( for cold winter nights) and a hook or two in the rooms to hang up my jacket, pants, shirt, hat etc. would help and are necessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at a Gondwana Collection establishment and really hope we get the chance in the future to welcome you back. Thank you for the review and for your suggestions. We will make sure these suggestions are considered, to give visitors to Gondwana an even more relaxing and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very quite place with a beautiful view. Food is good, people working there is very friendly and fast. They are very well organized. You have the possibility to do two different nice walks around the lodge by yourself. Rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting Namib Desert Lodge, we are also thankful for your review. We hope to get the chance again in the future to accommodate you at one of our establishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Unfortunately we could not stay very long. Very friendly service, clean rooms, great food and a huge variety, super value for money, especially with the Gondwana card and definately worth going back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you an excellent time at Namib Desert Lodge. Your feedback has been passed on to the lodge management and staff. who will be delighted to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay, all the staff members were extremely friendly and helpfull, from the guy at the gate to the reception staff, waiters, etc.. The food was unfortunately not always of the best quality, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Namib Desert Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for making time to give us feedback on your stay at Namib Desert Lodge. Your compliments regarding the staff have been passed onto to various department of the lodge who will be delighted. We are taking positive as well as negative feedback seriously and would like to assure you that we will look into the issue regarding the food. We would like to invite you to stay with us again on a the future visit to Namibia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namib Desert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Desert Lodge

Address: Nelson Mandela Ave 42 | PO Box 80205, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Namib Desert Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main building and the chalets of Namib Desert Lodge are spread out along the foot of the fossilised dunes of the ancient Namib. A comfortable sojourn is guaranteed by 65 en suite rooms with air conditioning. A restaurant and bar, an inviting terrace with views of the fossilised dunes and two swimming pools beckon you to linger and relax. Oryx antelope and springbok make frequent appearances at our illuminated watering place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Namib Desert Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namib Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Namib Desert Lodge Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namib Desert Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.