We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fort tucked away in the Namibian Desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C27, Sesriem, Namib Desert | PO Box 90538, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibië, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Blockley, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fort tucked away in the Namibian Desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Driving northwards on the C27 to Sossus Gate in the Namibian Desert, you scratch your eyes. Is that a fort standing defiantly in front of the mountains. Yes it is. Le Mirage is a lodge and spa situated in a desert garden, and the concept is that of a Dutch builder, who has pursued this dream over ten years.It comprises a central block of a dining room, bar and facilities, partly rendered to match the colours of the desert, and a further block of bedrooms which is furnished in rough stone. You enter through the fort gate and there is an oasis of gardens and swimming pool in front of you. The bedrooms are huge and well furnished. The staff are very attentive and helpful, and in the evenings after dinner entertain guests with their singing and dancing. Each evening at 6.30pm sundowners are served at an outside bar with log fire and views across the desert to a waterhole where oxyrx gather.
There are many activities available including quad biking, balloon flights and the massive dunes at Sossusviei some 24km distance.It seems churlish to criticise - when the sheer logistics of this enterprise are mind blowing - but the restaurant is a little disappointing and needs a more experienced hand in the kitchen. Nonetheless this is a memorable experience and I rate it highly.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
21
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When you approach Le Mirage, it really does look like a Mirage - a medieval stone looking structure plopped down in the middle of the desert. Once you step inside though, the magic of it all hits you - stunning views of the desert at sunrise and set, nicely appointed rooms and an incredibly friendly staff. The desert heat immobilizes you at some point of the day, and Le Mirage offers you a comfortable place to relax and a pool to keep cool in. Dinner menu was surprisingly good with creative, tasty and generous meals. Two things I would say need improvement: the air conditioning in the rooms really were not keeping the rooms optimally cool - daytime was not comfortable in the rooms because it felt hot. The pool also needed some cleaning. Otherwise, the kindness, helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff and the amazing backdrops make this place worth a visit. Thank you to the Le Mirage staff!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It was hot, by midday on the 03rd Dec. I drove the 22km to the lodge on my own in a sedan vehicle, drifting and feeling the bumpy road. I parked my vehicle in the designated parking area, as i looked towards reception Sioni stood at the main entrance with a smile upon her face and in her hand a tray with a refreshing beverage and refreshing towel. Wow!! I felt fantastic and special.
She gave me an orientation of the lodge and wow, the 1st impression i cannot forget it.
The lodge is not what i expected, it exceeded my expectations. Food YUMMY - Seymour - 10/10 for you! The pool no doubt welcoming and a refreshing drink not far away at the Pool Bar where you can access wifi. Rooms - are as per the images on the web - smiley face. Hearing water everywhere really adds tranquility to your stay. The bedrooms are beautiful and even a balcony what a lovely touch, to sit out there even watching the sunset (depends which room you are booked into).
I was sad to leave, but hopefully return again one day.
This was a fantastic educational visit. Thank you to everybody who made the experience special.
Kind Regards
Vanessa Stanley - Albatros Travel

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at Le Mirage on a tour of Namibia and it was fantastic. A superb base in the desert, 20km from the entrance to Sossusvlei. Very friendly and attentive staff, huge rooms, an excellent 5 course set dinner (incredible given the remote location) and a welcome pool. Such a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. We drove ourselves to Sossusvlei but tours are available if required. Wifi is accessible and as good as can be expected in the middle of nowhere. A bonus was good game viewing from the hotel eg a jackal outside our bedroom, oryx and ostrich, also lovely sunsets. Really recommend staying here when visiting Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review of our lodge. We will forward your feedback to the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namibia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We asked for a tower room with sky room for a special anniversary and were very disappointed when we go an old room over the entrance of the lodge, where a bus load left early the next morning and the generator going all night. This building in need of maintenance to wood work stone formations.
Staff were very helpful and organised a balcony room for the next night. That was very airy and pleasant. Sky room is a joke. It is not connected to the luxury room and not private.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. It was most unfortunate that the tower room wasn't as expected. Because it's a sky room, It gets prepared after sunset, with fine linen and lovely decorations. So it's more luxurious as you saw during the day.

We're pleased that you were satisfied with the alternative room.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and then the 'generator noise' issue will probably be fixed as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful views over the desert, cool, Morocconstyle rooms with big beds with crispy white cotton bedding and both tasteful and practical mosquite nets. Very nice food, five course dinner presented in a lovely way and expertly served by such friendly young people. Presley gave us a very nice tour into Sossusvlei. Thoroughly recommendable place to stay in that area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your five-star review. I will definitely let our staff members know about your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A surprising hotel, tucked away round a bend when you think you will never arrive. Not exactly a mirage, but a welcome sight after a long drive on a dirt road. We stayed here for two nights, and would happily return. It is a strange place, a mixture of 5* aspirations and very down to earth, friendly, helpful staff. (That is a compliment:they were lovely). The strange thing was the Spa- my husband went looking as I quite fancied a relaxing treatment after a long day, or to make an appointment for the next afternoon. At just after 5pm it was deserted and he had to search for a price list and list of treatments. When he found one, we eventually worked out that a manicure appeared to cost about £25 -£30. I can't be sure of that - there was no one to check it with! - but it did seem to be high.
Our room was cool and of course quiet, and very spacious. We were in the main building with a lovely pool and healthy looking fish giving a calm atmosphere.
I liked it very much. It is a true original.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying at le Mirage. We're pleased to hear that you were so satisfied with the lodge and our team.

The massages are very extensive, as in a complete experience. You make valid suggestions e.g.. reading matter about the provision of these information. I will forward your feedback to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa

Address: C27, Sesriem, Namib Desert | PO Box 90538, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibië, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa is one of the most unique establishments in the Sossusvlei area. It is situated at 21 km from the Sesriem gate to Sossusvlei. This makes it one of the lodges closest to the Sossusvlei and the ideal place to stay when you want to visit the highest dunes in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mirage Desert Lodge And Spa
Le Mirage Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Le Mirage Desert Resort
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.