We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Are At Risk When Staying Here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   C27, Sesriem, Namib Desert | PO Box 90538, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibië, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Ynez CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You Are At Risk When Staying Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

When I say "at risk", I mean after driving half the day over bumpy roads and arriving at the hotel well away from civilization, you are met with inoperable air conditioning and no ice in the desert. You have no other choice as all other places in the area are booked. The architecture is pleasingly different, rooms large and unique & clean, nice pool area, beautiful desert views, good food, friendly but inadequately trained staff, lack of service personnel, poor management and a lack of good maintenance. NO AIR CONDITIONING. NO ICE. NO WIFI. And no one to fix the problems. All these problems were ongoing. Some rooms had AC but not the upstairs majority. Safes did not work and the staff did not understand how to use them. Just changed owners and personnel cuts must have been severe. No one on duty in the pool bar, no one on duty in the spa, no one with the key to open the liquor cabinet in the main bar area, coverage at the front desk spotty-------they were all elsewhere performing other duties. Too bad as this is such a lovely location and could be an excellent hotel. Those people in our tour that had AC had an enjoyable stay. But most of us did not have AC and were miserable in the desert heat, even at night with all our windows and doors open. So unfortunately I must warn you away from staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarten Z, Guest Relations Manager at Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear SYHighlander,

We appreciate your feedback, and are most concerned that we didn't deliver the experience for which we are renowned. Your feedback is certainly appreciated and will be acted upon.

We're pleased that you were satisfied with the hotel, the rooms and the food. And is is nice to read that you had an "Extraordinary Experience" at the sossusvlei. We trust that some of the positives could contribute to fond memories of your stay.

Kindest regards,

The Le Mirage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
21
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a bumpy drive from Windhoek (gravel roads), we were relieved to arrive at Le Mirage. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. We were given a refreshing welcome drink and then taken to our large room, which had a great view of the watering hole and the dessert beyond. The food in the hotel was lovely. I also made use of the spa facility by having a very relaxing massage. Only downside was the remote location means you need to drive quite a distance to get to Sossusvlei and when we came to pay, the credit card machine wasn't working so we had to use cash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were invited to a friend's birthday party at Le Mirage. After reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were rather sceptical, but - since the party was a very good friend's 50th birthday and we had already confirmed our attendance - there was no way out! However, after a 3 night stay at Le Mirage, I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this lodge!! The staff members went out of their way to please. Every request was met with a friendly response and prompt action. Breakfast and dinner was great, the latter enlivened by enthusiastic entertainment by all the staff members. Our children loved the pool and jacuzzi. Complimentary foot massages made lounging around the pool extra pleasant. The owner was present and I suspect this may have influenced the service levels, but we had a truly wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an amazing two day stay at Le Mirage. The friendliest and most helpful staff I had ever encountered anywhere in the world. The roooms were spotless, spacious, luxurious and the bed soo comfortable, the linen soft. The view from my room on the waterhole was exquisite. I could see oryx and springbuck and jackal and many different birds drinking - even during the night. The view of the mountains and the desert was stunning. The pool was cool and refreshing and clean, the beer was always cold and the staff ever ready with a fresh drink or advice or even a footmassage at the poolside. The function under the stars the first evening was magical, the food was great - the Eland potjie was amazing! - and the staff waited patiently into the early morning hours and never rushed us to clean up. Next morning we had a brunch prepared and served by the staff of Le Mirage at Sossuvlei, and the same wonderful service, hospitality and excellent food could be enjoyed. Supper at the castle resatuarant was, again, an experience to remember. The staff entertained us with song and dance and we thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Truly a trip I would never forget! Highly recommended! Thank you, Paul and staff, you were great!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you have any other options, we would recommend not staying at Le Mirage, it is not worth the money they're charging. Instead stay at one of the other hotels in this price range or at one of the lovely guest farms (the latter are only about half an hour to an hour further from the entrance to Sossusvlei, and offer high quality, great food and nice surroundings and especially friendliness - all that we found missing in Le Mirage).

Le Mirage is in the upmarket price range, and for us, hotel and service didn't live up to that. You cant expect the same value for your money hotel-wise in Africa because of the high cost of infrastructure (imagine having to have power in the middle of the desert), but friendliness, for example, doesnt cost. When we were there, with a few exceptions, staff members were not only not friendly (f.ex.not smiling back or answering your greetings) or hospitable (f.ex.refusing to bring drinks up to your room), but downright rude. It was so extreme it would've been funny if Le Mirage didn't market itself as an upmarket hotel. This is also the problem when it comes to the room and service: no warm water or only lukewarm, a pretty disagreeable breakfast, a pool area with feces all over, no internet (when we asked, they sait it had been down for a week - but they didnt inform the guests of this, and when we inquired if they were going to do sth about it, they simply said the manager was gone and he might look into it once he got back). All OK for a cheap hotel, but not for this price range.

Nice about Le Mirage is its location: the desert sky at night is simply delightful. So: If all other hotels are full, the area is very worthwile staying, and Le Mirage manageable if you know what to expect. If you find another hotel in the area, tho, we'd recommend trying a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel looked very nice from a distance. Arriving got some nice welcome drink. Swimming pool area stunning when arrive. Rooms BAD. 1 Towel, No working aircon, No Hot water, No water sometimes, (it is in the middle of the desert!!) Night time our room was flooded. Service in Restaurant very slow. Generator broke down - no electricity.
Staff all very friendly, but desperately need some leadership.
Wont recommend at all.

Room Tip: Book a room on the ground floor at least you will have water from time to time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A truen oasis at the desert, staff was friendly and worked hard despite the remoteness of this site. Food was very good and the sundowner and quadbike trip was super. The hotel is nice but definitely more actvities would make it a nicer stay for longer than a couple days.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa

Address: C27, Sesriem, Namib Desert | PO Box 90538, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibië, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Namib-Naukluft Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa is one of the most unique establishments in the Sossusvlei area. It is situated at 21 km from the Sesriem gate to Sossusvlei. This makes it one of the lodges closest to the Sossusvlei and the ideal place to stay when you want to visit the highest dunes in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mirage Desert Lodge And Spa
Le Mirage Desert Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Le Mirage Desert Resort
Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa Namibia/Namib-Naukluft Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mirage Desert Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.