We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good camp,but not that good we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp
Save
You added Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Torra Conservancy, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A good camp,but not that good we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Damaraland camp is a good camp, the food is fine and the rooms are ok but we are missing the finishing touch witch will make this camp til a top camp.
People are friendly, food is good, The Boma evening was great. The guide does his job very well.
The basic rooms are clean but not more than basic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear

Thank you for your thoughtful review, we are sorry the camp did not live up to your expectations. We will address this with the Camp and Namibia Operations team to see what improvements can be made.

Our Classic camps offer an engaging and traditional safari experience in prime wilderness areas. We promise comfort, sincerity and learning, in a relaxed atmosphere catering to the discerning globally caring traveller. The camps are generally tented, although a few are built from permanent structures, and offer superb facilities and accommodation. Our rates are as all-inclusive as possible while on safari in our Classic camps with the core activities such as game drives, nature walks, boating, local drinks and all meals being included in the nightly rate. For game drives, we use customised 4x4 vehicles that are spacious and comfortable, providing “window” seats for all guests. Our knowledgeable guides accompany guests on all activities for the duration of their stay in any one camp. Children between 6 and 12 years are welcome on the basis that private activities and/or sole use of camps are booked and paid for.

Thank you again
The Team at Damaraland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful camp in a awesome location. Damaraland itself is truly spectacular. Very friendly staff who work hard.

We had a breakfast in the mountains - uuhh loved it.

Be prepared for loads of mossies and not to see the desert elephants as the area is immense.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Endaxi0815,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our camp. unfortunately due to the unusual amount or rain we have seen this summer in Namibia the numbers of mosquitos has increased significantly. We regrettably did not anticipate this and were unprepared for this. We have however in the interim, acquired the necessary preventions in our camps and this should no longer cause any upset.

Thank you again.
The Damaraland Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed a great time in this very special place. The team is very much committed to serving the guests, singing songs before dinner, serving excellent food and being very friendly. The excursions were full of awesome experiences in this bizarre landscape. We will come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear jamesmJ5367RW,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the staff's entertainment. We will be sure to pass on your praises.

Damaraland Camp in the Torra Conservancy exists within one of the driest, most desolate regions in all of Africa. In this arid environment the ceaseless processes of life revolve around harnessing the near non-existent water in the most economical way possible. Obviously this scrub landscape cannot support vast, concentrated herds of wildlife, but it nevertheless boasts a varied and breathtaking assortment of desert adapted species around Damaraland Camp. The Torra Conservancy supports healthy populations of rare desert-adapted elephant and a few Endangered desert-adapted black rhino. Oryx, kudu, springbok, Hartmann's mountain zebra, southern giraffe, lion, cheetah, spotted and brown hyaena are also inhabitants of this area. Birding is excellent, with over 240 species recorded.

Thank you again
The Damaraland Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

When entering the Damaraland camp we were disappointed, the cabins has a strange look and is placed in the landscape in a rather odd way. The distance and angle between them still makes it impossible to sit at your private balcony without looking directly into the next cabins water-tank and solar panels. All meals are served at one big table, no option for a private table.
Sleeping comfort was great. But the best was our guide - he was superb. This is probably the best place to stay if you want to see desert elephants, and they will get you close while still respecting the animals right. Very enjoyable. Good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Ducati40,

Thank you for your honest review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in camp and with your guide.

The camp was built in 1996, utilising the skills and labour of the local community, in conjunction with Wilderness Safaris which provided expertise, finance, project management and ongoing commitment to training on all levels. The very existence of the camp has been instrumental in alleviating poverty in the region, a fact that was validated in 2004 when it was awarded a UNDP (United Nations Development Programme) Equator Initiative Prize – awarded for outstanding achievement in the reduction of poverty through conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity. This was followed by the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) Damaraland Camp as the overall winner of the Tourism for Tomorrow Conservation Award in 2005, as the world’s leading example of best practice in responsible tourism. Damaraland Camp has become an inspiration for communities and conservationists throughout Africa and beyond.

Thank you again.
The Damaraland Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Damaraland for four nights in December, and absolutely loved it.

The camp and accommodations are beautiful, the food was excellent, and the landscape is surreal. But the staff - their collective personality and commitment to making you feel at home - are what truly set this camp apart. And management goes out of their way to fill your experience with lots of little surprises.

To be clear, this is NOT a classic safari. If you're looking for the Big Five, look elsewhere. The only big game you can expect to see are the few desert-adapted elephants; if you're really lucky, you might see some mangy lions. This is a hard, rugged country, and it doesn't sustain much more than the hardy oryx and some ostriches.

But that's not what this place is about. It's about the way the desert changes colour at sunset. It's about a gin and tonic and a good book under a shady shepherd's tree. It's about stones, and birds, and a landscape barely scraped by mankind.

My wife and I have been on a ton of safaris. We've seen it all. What we were looking for this time was silence and relaxation...and we found it. Damaraland is the Zen of Africa.

One of our all time favourite camps. Well done to the team, and we look forward to being back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two rooms that's a bit disconnected from the rest of the camp. Highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Rains_Down,

We have read your wonderful Trip Advisor report, and wanted to thank you most sincerely for posting this.

Not many of our guests truly understand what Wilderness Safaris is offering in Namibia, and although we aspire to offer a great safari experience , in sometime very tough and adverse conditions, we can not compete with the major ‘Big Five’ destinations of Africa.

The way you have worded your report personifies exactly what a Namibian safari is all about. We have sent this to all our Sales, Marketing and Reservations personnel to share with future guests in out attempts to give them accurate, honest and exceptional information.

It’s obvious that Namibia has had an impact on your soul, and the fact that we could have been a small part of that is extremely rewarding.

Thanks again for the super review.

Kind regards
The Damaraland Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I spent one night in this adobe-styled, thatched unit camp during September 2013. My room was very spacious with two single beds. Bed was firm and comfortable. It was so nice that staff put a hot water bottle when they turn down the bed at evening, because it was really cold at night. The room provides mosquito net and spray. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Towels were clean. From large viewing deck I was sitting there enjoying the magnificent sunset and I also saw two springboks having breakfast right in front of my unit.

Breakfast and dinner, which including wine was very good. Complementary coffee and tea was offered in the reception area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There is also a nice pool besides the bar.

Note:
You can charge your electrical device in the office.
Do bring a torch since it’s quite dark at night.
Water is cold, make sure before jump into shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, and the staff was very good and the rooms comfy. The manager, Willem, was always around to chat with and to help with anything we needed. Our dinner in the Boma was a highlight! It is very remote, and things to do and animals to see were a bit far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp

Address: Torra Conservancy, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Damaraland
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Damaraland Camp is situated in the Huab River valley in one of the best wilderness areas in Namibia, offering endless vistas across stark plains, ancient valleys and a stunning ochre-purple mountain backdrop. Ten large en-suite adobe-style thatched units are raised off the ground, each with a walk-in dressing area and a large deck on which to sit and contemplate the desert. The spacious living area comprises a dining area and swimming pool. New technology combined with ancient knowledge has produced an eco-friendly yet high performance design in this unique camp. An open campfire and outdoor ‘boma’ are enjoyed during the calm evenings and stargazing is superb, thanks to the crystal-clear night skies. Activities include nature drives and walks during which guests can see species such as desert-adapted elephant, gemsbok, kudu and springbok, and black rhino as well as rare succulent plants. Further afield, ancient rock art and the Petrified Forest are just some of the geological wonders in the area. Damaraland Camp is the result of an award-winning partnership between Wilderness Safaris and the Torra Conservancy ; visits to the local farmstead allow guests to see this relationship in action. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Damaraland Camp Hotel Damaraland
Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp Namibia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris Damaraland Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.