We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Casa Rex was outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Rex to your Saves list
Casa Rex
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Bairra de Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Our stay at the Casa Rex was outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our stay at the Casa Rex was outstanding. The service was very satisfactory, the food was excellent (Dinner is a bit limited if you don’t eat fish – but what was on offer was excellent) and the staff always happy to help in anyway they can. The hotel organised a day outing to a nearby island where we experienced one of the best beaches I have ever seen (this was our 17th country we visited). While we were on the boat we saw dolphin and a sand bank full of pink flamingos not to gloat over the fabulous sea life we experienced while snorkelling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
54
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a great week-long stay at Casa Rex, where the breakfast spread was extremely impressive and generous! The kitchen was only outshined by the staff, who were attentive while also unobtrusive. Beautiful view, beautiful rooms. The Tripadvisor pictures don't do the place justice. Very charming. Only complaint is that the place was a little pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to have a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a 3 night break at Casa Rex on our way back to South Africa from Northern Mozambique. Vilanculos is still very ubderdeveloped with sand roads & few good shops. Casa Rex, however, is an excellent hotel.
Overlooking the beach below & set in tropical greenery, the rooms are spacious & well furnished with either a balcony overlooking the sea or a patio onto the pools & gardens.
The restaurant provides wonderful seafood which we both took full advantage of during our stay.
We had a great day out with Sailaway Safaris on their dhow trip across to Marguerete Island for swimming & snorkelling - our small crew were fab.
Vilanculos & beach - nothing special unless you're a fisherman or a diver. Casa Rex & Sailaway - top marks.

Room Tip: We had room 7 on the upper level which had great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our third stay at Casa Rex on our way to the islands. The service remains outstanding, the food was excellent and the staff always happy to help in anyway they can. We left our vehicle in their care and they were happy to take us down to the harbour and collect us after our island trip. We can highly recommend Casa Rex

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stopped over for only one night on our way to the Islands, outstanding rooms, food and staff, organised a lift to the airport the next day and on our return. Nothing seemed to much trouble and will certainly stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

In short, Casa Rex is "excellent". From the amazing coffee and home made jams to the hotel attendants who don't know the word "No" - it's just what you want for a luxury holiday getaway. I must say that room was superb, but the restaurant is also very, very good. I will be back for certain.

Room Tip: Ask for a "family" room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were recommended Casa Rex by someone who had a wonderful lunch there a few years ago overlooking the islands. From arrival to departure we felt that everyone couldnt do enough to make sure we were comfortable and very happy on our honeymoon.
In the days (where we werent diving or fishing) we lounged by the pool, the high vantage point meaning that you could watch the beach and the harbour which has dhows cruising in and out from the islands. In september locals fish with nets from the beach which was particularly nice to witness - you dont feel like you are isolated in a sterile resort environment.
Casa Rex management have a very good relationship in Vilanculos with all other service providers and were able to arrange at very short notice a brilliant fishing trip and two superb diving trip (Denis and Sabrina at Odysea dive run the most professional dive centre i have seen and I have seen 20 in india, thailand, australia and red sea).
I must mention the excellent food -even without with the daily specials there was plenty of variety for us over 9 days (8 of these we had dinner in Casa Rex). the colossal prawns, steaks and crayfish were superbly cooked and i would highly reccommend bringing home a tuna if you go fishing as the chefs can create amazing sashimi with only a bit of notice.
The management are effortlessly efficient, warm and friendly and the restaurant staff extremely talented at making us feel at home. You really feel like you are staying with friends and the perfect balance between attentiveness and overfussiness is always carefully observed.
In short we felt extremely fortunate to have chosen Casa Rex and were very sad to leave but look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: we stayed in the acacia room overlooking the pool which was big, had great views from the lounger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rex

Address: 19 Bairra de Outubro, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you arrive at Casa Rex you will instantly feel at peace, surrounded by the lush gardens overlooking the turquoise crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean. The various room types are extremely comfortable and charmingly decorated, with an individual style and breezy perspective of the bay.The lounge and dining area, with custom crafted wood furniture and fittings and comfy sofas, will make you feel right at home and for those guests wanting to keep in touch with the outside world, wireless satellite internet access is found throughout the hotel.Casa Rex is renowned for its excellent open air a la carte restaurant, including a magnificent array of fresh seafood dishes and imported wines, or you might like to try the delicious local beer.A range of activities are available from Casa Rex including scuba diving and snorkeling at magnificent world renowned sites. Unbelievable deep sea fishing and being based in Vilankulos allows for the opportunity to fish multiple areas around and past the islands. Take the time to take an Island dhow safari or a visit the islands by motorized boats. One of the most exhilarating experiences that you can enjoy is kite surfing and kiting safaris for experienced kiters. If you have never kite surfed before, lessons are available. Whale watching during the months of August to October and sunset cruises in traditional dhows. If you want a change from being on and in the water, try horse riding along the beach. Or explore the culture taking tours to the market, schools and visit the various craft shops. After an active day relax with Spa treatments from our visiting therapists and sip sundowners on the Casa Rex terrace or refresh yourself in the swimming pool overlooking the harbour, the perfect way to end a day…..or begin one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rex Hotel Vilanculos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.