We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple elegant charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Babi

Save Saved
You added Casa Babi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Babi
Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Vilanculos B&B and Inns
Stavanger
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simple elegant charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A simple unpretentious place with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Sabrina is a very affable and easygoing host with an eye for detail. The rooms are simple, elegand and well designed. They do not have airconditioning but they do have fans and even though we were there during the hottest time of the year, this was fine for us. All rooms have superb views over the ocean. Situated on a beautiful sandy beach with plenty of local activity to keep one entertained but never too noisy. The food is also superb. Home made preserves for breakfast, real coffee etc. Evening meals are very very good if you want to eat in. They also run odyssea dives- professional outfit. The dives are not cheap but you do have to travel some way out with the boats to the superb diving on two mile reef with a picnic lunch on the bazaruto islands. Plus you get a discount if you stay with casa babi. In short, highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks to you two for such a nice review and we're glad you appreciated the design of the room and our choice for natural ventilation! hope the winter in Norway is not too cold and to welcome you again on our premises. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sabrina and Denis have created a beautiful haven in paradise. Right next to the dive center is the building, housing 4 rooms. Each is simply and tastefully decorated with a lovely bathroom and the best views along the bay/coastline. Forget staying in a Lodge, where you can be anywhere in the world and paying ridiculous money which is frankly not what Vilanculous is all about. Casa Babi was a relaxing and glorious holiday... and absolutely right on the beach. We walked to other accomodation sites and none had the same 'on the beach' location. Remember to take high factor suncream as the sun takes no prisoners. We went horseriding and it was inspiring to canter/gallop and trot across the beach. We also took a walk through the actual town to see life in a different light - it is a very poor country so we were safety conscious and kept our wits about us (ie do not walk about at night). However this is common sense advise and we never felt nervous. We took malaria tablets and plenty of spray, although we got only got one bite between us the whole stay. In the mornings we saw the fisherman getting their boats ready and setting off right from the waterfront. In the late afternoon they return and the women come down to collect the fish and crabs. There is a 'boat bus' that takes all and sundry, including goats and pigs, from the beach in from of Casa Babi. This is a must to see. Sometimes children were playing in the early morning water - always happy and often waving and saying 'hello' (it is traditional to wave back, smile and say 'hello' too!). The sea is warm and the tidal activity produces some of the most vibrant colours - blues and turquoises mix with the different oranges of the sands and it is all so calming watching from the balcony of our room. The diving here is second to none - we saw manta's, a whale shark, reef sharks, devil rays, large groupers, bass... pretty much everything! The dive guys are professional and yet there is a real feeling of being in a fantastic family atmosphere. Casa Babi has great food too... just for residents. Meriam, under the watchful eye of Sabrina, has delicious menu's which differ daily. Our favourites were the crayfish/lobster, the advocado mouses, the octopus salad, the calamari.. and the steak (which Denis prepares) was sumptuous. Breakfasts are excellent.. but other reviews cover it perfectly (we already are missing the homemade mango and pear jams). Evenings are spent talking to the other guests, who were all so interesting with different backgrounds and stories (over a glass of wine, or two!). Denis and Sabrina are engaging and wonderful hosts. We stayed almost 2 weeks, primarily for the diving as the closeness to the school was an obviously bonus. Casa Babi and Oddysea Diving are amazing... it is the best place to be in the most beautiful location. The archipeleago is breathtaking... GO THERE AND STAY AT CASA BABI !!!. We loved it. x

Room Tip: All rooms have their advantage... you cannot go wrong whichever you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Gérant at Casa Babi, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks Nikki and Kevin for this long and kind report!

I especially like the "over a glass of wine, or two!"... Nothing about Savanna dry, gin tonic or 2M?

:)

Cheers,
Denis & Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Loved this place. Only 4 rooms, all facing out on to the beach and really nicely done. Denis and Sabrina were great and we really enjoyed spending time with them. The food was superb and we found oursleves eating there almost every night. Sabrina only cooks for the guests, so the eating style is informal and friendly with the other few guests. We loved this place, the people, the beach and the food and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for one of the upstairs rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello Alan & S, many thanks for such a nice review. It is so rewarding for us and all the staff to read all these lovely comments. Just before the beginning of chistmas season if gives us a lot of energy to make sure the guests who will share the end of the year with us will have as a good time as yours. We hope the rest of your visit to Mozambique was as good and that you'll come back one day. Best wishes for the new year, Sabrina, Denis, all the staff & the dogs & cats (who miss you lots!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Casa Babi guest house rooms are very comfortable and with nice decoration. They all overlook Vilanculos amazing beach.
Food is home made and delicious (although a bit overpriced) and the owners are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
many thanks for your review AC and for your comment on our meals. We sincerely think that an average price of 600 meticais (16 - 17€) for a 3 courses meal is pretty reasonnable compared to what one can get in town and for the quality we try to offer. But we get your point and will start thinking about ligher and cheaper options. we hope you'll come back to check by yourself! safe journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a week in Casa Babi and loved it. The accommodation is beautiful with ocean views, the service was great and the food was fabulous...all home made fresh produce! Owned by a french couple who are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMoz, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Many thanks from the French couple !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicchio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sister and I spent a week at Casa Babi to reminisce about our childhood in Mozambique. It was a perfect place to do so. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, mattresses excellent, very tasty breakfast with fresh tropical fruits, home made brioches and jams, and incredibly tasty dinners based on fresh fish and often Sabrina's home grown vegetables, different home made desserts every day, A real find! When we didn't go out on excursions to the islands of the archipelago, we just sat by the pool and watched the world go by below on the beach: fishermen bringing in their catch, children playing on the sand, friendly dogs strolling about, women with huge loads balanced on their heads elegantly walking to the boats as the tide rose. Sabrina and Denis are always there to organize outings, or just to chat over a glass of white wine. Thank you all, we want to come back every year.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is perfect for direct access to the garden. All rooms have views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
thank you so much for this beautiful comment. We shared it with the cooks and they are very proud! we sincerely hope you'll come back every year and as sincerely, hope we'll manage to come and see you in your little paradise! see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We can only recommend Casa Babi: we spent four fantastic days looking at the Ocean, having snorkeling, boat trips around Bazaruto Archipelago and riding horses on the beach. Casa Babi is not only a guest house but also an appreciated diving center.The rooms are very nice and comfortable, the italian-french-local style kitchen is marvellous and all the staff is really friendly, dedicated and helpful. Sabrina will be able to follow you in every single request and wishes.
We can suggest the area not only to divers but also to people who desire to admire and have a jump in an unspoiled nature.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabrov2, Owner at Casa Babi, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for all these nice comments. We hope this mozambican experience will bring you back here, maybe on the occasion of one of the projects you love so much. There is a lot to do... all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Babi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Babi

Address: Odyssea Dive | Rua do Palacio, Vilanculos 8000, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Vilanculos, overlooking the bay of Bazaruto, Casa Babi is the latest addition to accommodation in Vilanculos. Designed by Odyssea Dive as a "boutique hotel," our aim is to meet the needs of travellers, divers and non-divers, who wish to spend some time enjoying our unique decor in a cosy and familiar atmosphere, where details are important. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and T4B so you can book your Casa Babi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Babi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.