We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of responsibility” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sailaway Dhow Safaris

Sailaway Dhow Safaris
Rua Marginal, Bairro Central, Vilanculos, Mozambique
+258 82 387 6350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Vilanculos
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer all inclusive day and overnight dhow safaris to the Bazaruto Archipelago National Park. Accommodation options on overnight safaris include camping or lodge accommodation on the mainland whilst on safari. Excellent food, refreshments, snorkeling over reefs and exploring the islands in the Archipelago. Day safari rate from Mt 2,850 p/p and overnight safaris from Mt7,350 p/p.
Bruxelles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lack of responsibility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

we did 2 day trip: 1st day magarruque island, sleeping on Benguerra island, second day: 2mile reef , dunes on Bazaruto and back to vilanculos. the bazaruto archipelagus is beautyful!! Sailaway organisation lack of responsibility! we had a 3 staff cruise with us and we experienced bad situations with them: lunch of first day very poor, they had eaten most of our food; once arrived to the accommodation in benguerra the crew leader tried to share the house with us instead of going to sleep in their accommodation. in the morning we realised that the crew leader was completely DRUNK and therefore we started late our second day programme because he had to 'recover'. once back to Vilanculos we explained the situation to the Sailaway owner and he completely disregard our comments.
of course bazaruto archipelagos is very beautyful. with this review I would like to warn future travellers to choose an other company for a dhow safari to Bazaruto islands; in Vilanculos there is a lot of offer!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveSailaway, Owner at Sailaway Dhow Safaris, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Hi Sylvia
Our apologies for the problems you experienced on the trip. Having operated since 1997 we have provided thousands of safaris with very positive feedback from clients, and we do try our hardest to operate responsibly. I think there must have been some confusion regarding your lunch on the 1st day. Our staff never eat lunch before the clients do. According to the crew on the trip you said that you enjoyed the lunch that day? Secondly our guide Rogerio was informed by the house staff that they could sleep in the spare room in the house. After you objected they moved to quarters out back. Some clients actually insist that the crew occupy a room if it is not being occupied. As far as your guide drinking on safari this is unacceptable and not the norm. He has been disciplined about this and we offer our sincerest apologies about that. Our manager, Richard, did not disregard your comments, he went to find the crew to find out what had happened on the trip when you voiced your complaints on your return. When he returned to speak to you, you had already left our office. This was unfortunate as he could see that you had legitimate complaints and he wanted to deal with them. Hopefully if you return to Vilanculos one day we can offer you a safari without mishap.
Best regards
David Kimber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

One of the most amazing experiences I had while in Mozambique....

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly one of Mozambique's highlights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

As you can see by the previous 5 reviews, Sailaway is a highly rated operator and does these dhow safaris through these beautiful islands as it should be done. Note that there are two options as I didn't really feel like camping and later discovered that you could pay a little more to stay in a beautiful lodge for the nights.

Great food, great service, and a wonferful sailing trip on these classic old boats throught these islands. The snorkelling is wonderful

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect trip; incredible beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We did a two day trip. It was in one word 'perfect'. A beautiful region, perfect guides, excellent (sea)food. Very relaxing. Worth every dollar you spent.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanculos
1 review
“Fantastic day out with the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

If you are looking for a safe, comfortable day out with your family then this is the thing to do!! We spent the day with Sailaway Dhow Safaris at Margaruque Island and had a stunning time.. Snorkelling was excellent, beautiful white, clean beaches - truly a day in paradise.. Above all, the dhow staff are friendly, informative and always willing to assist - they prepared us a delicious lunch of fish and rice followed by local mangoes and bananas for dessert.. Tea and coffee is served on both trips to the island and back. Freshly popped corn is prepared on the fire in the "hot box" at the back of the boat.. This really is an experience not to be missed if you are in Vilanculos! Thanks so much to Dave, Richard and staff!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailaway Dhow Safaris also viewed

Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 
Vilanculos, Inhambane Province
 

Been to Sailaway Dhow Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailaway Dhow Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.