We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Parcela 32, Chigamane, Vilanculos, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our stay at Villas do Indico was just perfect. We first stayed 1 night (on our way to Gorongosa) at the 4x4 campsite, which was one of the nicest we have seen on our trip through Mozambique. The shower blocks are really quite luxurious and spacious. Real value for money.

After Gorongosa we planned to return to Villas do Indico to stay a few more nights in one of the sea front bungalows. We ended up staying for 5 nights because we loved it so much. During the day we divided our time between spectacular diving in the Archipelago and relaxing around the beach, pool and the lovely veranda of our bungalow. We have been travelling in low season and it hasn't been very busy in most of the places we've stayed, but during dinner time at Villa's do Indico it was always cosy and nicely crowded, with a fire outside and a great vibe in general.

We had great sea food every night, prepared by the manager/chef Paulo (especially the squid we just loved!) with lovely Portugese wines. The owner Oscar and not to forget Paula and Melissa were also extremely welcoming and helpful. They told us that their aim is for people to arrive as guests and leave as friends, and that is just how we felt.

We definitely hope to return one day. Very warmly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CapeTown : South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here in late May, we had a very spoiling and relaxing 3 day stay (far too short) , having discovered the accommodation by chance through our booking for Sailaway dhow safaris (this is one of their accommodation options)
The Manager / Chef Paulo and his wife Melissa were delightful and welcoming, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay , definitely the best appointed and most comfortable accommodation in our 4 week trip to Mozambique.
The rooms themselves ,are not styled externally with much Mozambique character, but this is more than made up for by a high level of appointment inside , bathroom and bedroom – a touch of discerning and furnished with excellent taste (and one of the most comfortable huge beds we have slept in we almost overslept every breakfast!)
The accommodation is very reasonably priced
The restaurant is open air and similarly stylish, the menu is quite exceptional for Mozambique, ( a bit more costly than most , but the quality and combinations of Portuguese/Mozambique and Azores was very good and a very interesting dining experience)
Similarly the sparling rim-flow pool with its tasteful loungers around the deck was also great- I think that this would be a great place chill for a week or so (perhaps a second honeymoon!) We were the only visitors at the time and the spa lady was away so did not have the opportunity to enjoy this facility – similarly there is a wide range of activities that Paulo can take you on – on our next visit I will definitely do another snorkelling trip to 2 – mile reef between Marguerite and Bazaruto islands – this is a really exceptional experience .
Access is approx. 10 km out of Vilanculos , the sand is not for the feint hearted – a 4 x 4 IS necessary ( we even managed to get stuck even with our 4x4 low range and difflock! )- just ensure that you maintain sufficient momentum.
A great stay and romantic experience.

Room Tip: A front row room is best (facing the sea)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Villanculos, with it's crystal clear water and gorgeous blue sea, is more than worth a visit, and Villas do Indico is the place to stay when in Villanculos. It's a great hotel on an amazing beach, with superb food, top-notch service and surprisingly affordable prices. The rooms are spacious, with air-con, large comfy beds and practically on the beach. Any minor issues we had were dealt with promptly. The boat trip to the islands is an absolute MUST!! And do walk up the sand dune, even if it feels like you'll never get to the top, the views are worth it! Many thanks to the staff at the hotel for making it a perfect stay, specially Paulo and Melissa. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at Villas do Indico over Easter 2012 with our young family. The location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is sparkling and the service is very friendly and good. The lodge is very family friendly. We particularly enjoyed the amazing Azorean/ Mozambican/ Portuguese cuisine which was absolutely delicious - they bake their own bread and prepare whatever is caught in the ocean that day - in some ways, the food really made our stay.

The only thing I would say is that I am not sure exactly where the "Eco-Resort" status comes from (other than self-appointed); and rather than a spa with a comprehensive menu, there is a simple tented room on the beach for massages which is very ably run by a lovely masseuse. In addition, it is 10k out of town (a plus for us) and you can't reach do Indico without a 4x4. We would not hesitate to recommend do Indico as one of the nicest places to stay in Vilanculos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a great hotel - the previous reviews have said it all, really, but I would underscore the biggest advantages (in my mind), which are value, cleanliness, food, and service.
- This isn't a backpackers hostel, so you wouldn't expect to pay backpacker prices, but I think the price is very fair.
- The hotel is impeccably clean, despite being in nearly untouched natural surroundings which could easily take over if were not diligently maintained.
- The food is EXCELLENT; best seafood I've had in ages, all incredibly fresh and based on what's available that day. Highlights for us were some perfectly cooked lobster and crab. I salivate just remembering it.
- Every member of the staff is charming and helpful - great job all around.

The cons, as stated in other reviews, are the cost of food and the distance from town, which could be undesirable for travelers looking to socialize/party, or those on a strict budget. That said, we would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe suite. Every room appears quiet, but some are more removed from the beach than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We loved this beautiful place on the beach! We enjoyed the hospitality of management and staff, the beauty of the environment, the beach, the archipelago, the food and the wonderful, beautifully decorated rooms. Good service, nice and clean and in a peaceful setting 10 kms outside town.

We came for a restful beach holiday and got exactly what we wished for. We certainly would like to come back some time

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We spent a week of our honeymoon at Villas, and we couldn't have been happier. Beautiful rooms, stunning location, incredible pool, and the friendliest service you could wish for. And the food! We had 4 course feasts every night that we will remember for many years to come...

A really really special place, all the more special for the fact that it's miles away from town! Also the perfect place to stay while doing a Sailaway Dhow Safari - which they can organise for you. Highly highly recommended.

Loved it, and can't wait to go back once the spa is built!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa

Address: Parcela 32, Chigamane, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas do Indico Ocean Eco-Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.