We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable value for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archipelago Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilanculos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Archipelago Resort
Save
You added Archipelago Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“unbelievable value for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I stayed at Archipelago recently and although it was meant to be their quiet season, it was completely full. Once we had settled in, we could see why. The lodges are very much larger than what we have experienced in the past elsewhere. They are also very well spaced away from each other in beautifully kept gardens. And as for the view! Just magical.

My family went scuba diving which was awsome and although we didn't get around to it, we heard the horse riding is excellent as well.

Overall our impression was one of excellent value for the modest price.

Room Tip: All the front lodges are stunning, but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
16
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Microlight Club has just returned from this Fabulous Resort - we spent eight wonderful nights in the spacious, clean and very comfortable Casas. The restaurant was superb, the staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our Casa was spectacular, overlooking the ocean and beautiful white beaches. We will definitely be back next year !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We had a glorious stay at the Archipelago Resort. We loved the view from the casas overlooking the sea, we loved the trip to the totally unspoilt islands and we especially loved the affordable Resort and the great staff who work there. We wil return asap!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Fantastic spot, spacious, well kept casa, nice bar and restaurant, wonderful beach - all ruined by a noisy nearby shebeen that plays well into the night (and sometimes all night into the morning). No sleep possible for three of our eight nights here. Apparently representations by the management to the local authorities means nothing and stories of guests protesting at the bar ending up in jail not encouraging. What a shame - such a gem but there is no way we will ever return

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Archipelago is a superb place to stay for couples or families who is looking for a peaceful and friendly atmosphere. Especially if you want to combine it with adventures of scuba diving, snorkling and island trips. Very experienced and laid back people will take you out for dolphin and dugong spotting, diving at magnificent reeves or just relax at desolate beaches. The staff at the lodge are extremely helpful, you will feel very welcome and at home. The bungalows are large and charming. It's a rough ride from the city center though(sand roads), so it's probably best to have a 4''4 vehicle. (We barely made it with a 4*2). We spent 6 fantastic days at this lodge, be sure to check it out. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had two Casa's as we are a family of 4(teenage girls) and two friends from the UK. We could have stayed in one Casa, there was plenty of room but decided to go for more privacy.
Really lovely place,with nice trees and plants in the grounds,and stunning views of the sea, beaches and islands. The beach is not busy as the resort is away from the town, with a security guard to keep an eye on things. The tides go out leaving behind shallow rock pools, great for kids
.The Casa's are timber framed and very spacious with a great sitting out area, especially if you have a sea view. The Casa's are cleaned daily and to a high standard, the staff polite and helpful. The kitchen is fully equipped and has mains gas for the cooker. The resort has a generator which kicks in immediately if there is a power cut. The Casa's are very open and could be cold in the winter months, I didn't see any form of heating available. The restaurant on site is good but a little limiting, and the pool cool and crystal clear.
The downside can be your neighbours. We were unlucky in who we had staying next door but hopefully you wont be. There is no shop on site so you have to be self contained with self catering and I found the choice in the supermarkets in town to be very limiting in their selection We had a car which enabled us to get there and back. Everyday management checked that all was fine with the Casa's and on arrival we were given a brief and had questions answered. The Dive Center is on site (Dive Bazaruto) and they can arrange all activities for you.Thank you to Nick (accomodation) and Nicole (Dive Center) for a Great Holiday

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Great place to stay, very good value for money, great chalets. The ones with the sea view (don't forget to ask) are fantastics. You get plenty of space and a superb beach just below the chalet.
The bar and restaurant with the swimmimg pool are very nice and the food is really good. Patience is a must but the staff is very friendly.
I highly recommend the place and seeing many other lodges on the mainland in Vilanculos, I think this is the best.
Friends who went diving with the school on site were not very satisfied but there are many other diving centers in Vilanculos.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archipelago Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archipelago Resort

Address: Chibuene, Vilanculos, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Vilanculos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Vilanculos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archipelago Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is self catering and consists of eighteen chalets. There is a central area with a restaurant, bar and swimming pool. The chalets sleep six people each and have a fully equipped kitchen. For the more active, we boast an extensive knowledge of the area, with our Dive Instructor/fishing expert having operated in these waters for nearly 10 years. Our portfolio includes unexplored dive sites, fantastic surf, fly and big game fishing. A fully equipped SCUBA dive center, boats and fishing equipment for hire, wind surfers, para sailing, banana boating, island trips and transfers, dhou trips, and much, much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archipelago Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.