We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Great place to stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Djoliba

Hotel Djoliba
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Segou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Djoliba
Save
You added Hotel Djoliba to your Saves list
BP 119 | Centre ville, Segou, Mali   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Segou
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

After a long, hot bus ride from Burkina Faso it was great to arrive somewhere with good AC in the rooms and a nice bar to sit in and have a cold drink. The room was a good size, clean and had a good shower (although we had to wait for the water pressure to crank up as we had a room upstairs). There was also a mosquito net.

The restaurant downstairs has a good range of dishes and you can sit outside under a canopy. Breakfast is not included but is reasonably priced and tasty.

The hotel is in a good location, a short walk from the River although taxis don't pass by much.
The staff were friendly and helped us to get public transport to Djenne the following day and taxi to the gate routiere.

Just a note on security - everything seemed fine while we were there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely clean and cosy hotel just in the center of Segou. Big rooms and spacious bathroom with hot water anl lovely towels (scarce product in Mali). Very comfortable big bads.
Good restaurant and bar. Nice green gaden in the patio. Helpfull staff. Hotel changes money if the banks get closed.
The best place I tried in Mali.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Really clean hotel with a nice restaurant (food os ok but not memorable).
The best of Segou.

Restaurants next to hotel are better and cheaper.
The hotel has a nice staff and the owner is now canadian.

Be sure to ask if our room is in the main building of the hotel. The hostel has an annex 10 min walk from the main building. If you don't mind walking in the dark by night if you have a question....

Nice place to go with children.
No swimming pool at the hotel. Would have been a plus but cannot complaint too much about it.
You have the Niger 5 minutes walk from the Hotel if you need to see some water. I won't recommand to swim there. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

It's been a long time since I stayed at the Hotel Djoliba, but I have fond memories of my nights there. The hotel is very well-kept, with an excellent restaurant. The courtyard is charming and calming, and there is a terrace where guests can have a drink in the evening and where the pizza is baked on the weekends in a wood-fired oven.

The German owner also generally has draft beer available, which is very appealing when you are in the middle of Mali. There is a sense of calm order, too, that is very welcoming. If you headed east from Bamako, I would strongly suggest that you make the Djoliba a rest stop on your way to wherever you are going. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Though I did not plan but I stayed here by chance while visiting the city. The hotel though samll is neat and clean. Food served was also good and resonable. Above all when I checked my Iphone could get free wifi access and could check my mails and reply in a zip.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

in the middle of Mali's second most important city lies this little oasis of german culture.
great food, great place, would always go back there again

Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

nothing fancy about this place, but it was clean and had a nice bar. the beds are comfortable , and it was definitely one of the nicer hotels we stayed in Mali. the food was OK, nothing special, same with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Djoliba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djoliba

Address: BP 119 | Centre ville, Segou, Mali
Location: Mali > Segou Region > Segou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Segou
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Djoliba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.