We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Njaya Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Njaya Lodge to your Saves list
Njaya Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chiklae Beach | Box 223, Nkhata Bay, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Nkhata Bay B&B and Inns
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Awesome stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were suppose to be staying at Mayoka Resort but it was booked out, so as a last minute decision, we found this place. It was a little hard to find (we did arrive at night). The staff were absolutely amazing. Special mention must go to Gilbert and Mr Lubley Dubly, one of our waiters. They just made the stay that more enjoyable. WE had a 4 bed cabin down at the bottom by the lake which was clean and comfortable. I wouldnt recommend the bottom rooms if you have bad hips, knees etc as the climb up and down was quite arduous. In saying that, it only took a couple of minutes to walk up, so it wasn't like you were doing a hike! They were helpful at arranging some dug out canoes for us to have a go in (this was an extra cost). Be prepared, if you are ordering meals (which you need to as there is no self catering kitchen) it takes a couple of hours to get your meal, so if you want dinner at 7pm, we would go up to the restaurant and order and 5pm then grab some drinks and admire the lake views. Meals were huge! I would definately return here if I was to travel back to Nkhata Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a wonderful and peaceful place at the shores of Lake Malawi. The service is wonderful. The meals are one of a kind. But the very best things are the surrounding areas. To stay in a house here and wake up just before sunrise and see the sun get born out of the Lake is really something extra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night and would have stayed longer if the service had not been so poor. The first room I was shown had no taps and no shower head so I was eventually offered another room - with functioning bathroom. I let the staff know that I would be dining in the restaurant that night (as there were no other guests I thought this was a wise thing to do) around 7pm. The service was so slow that just before 9pm I gave up and went to bed without dinner - not a big deal in the scheme of things but I had ordered a pizza - which I later found out was a frozen pizza, which only needed heating and should not have taken 2 hours to heat and serve. I was given all manner of excuses by the staff who tried to convince me the chef had been making the pizza dough from scratch and waiting for it to rise...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took a while to getting round to write a review but have very fond memories and wanted to share how great a stay we had at Njaya, mainly due to the incredible friendly staff that every other traveller seems to comment on. The location is perfect and it's worth paying a little extra to have a lake front bungalow. Beautiful. It was extremely good value for money.
The downsides would be the lake flies and mosquitoes which obviously they have little control over, and the bathrooms (which were shared for some rooms) were terrible and filthy, but maybe renovated by now. The balcony was lovely overlooking the lake but you are eaten alive! The food was fairly good.
We would definitely go back if we returned to Nkhata bay, if only for the friendly service and our favourite staff member 'Lovely Jubbly'!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Outstandingly beautiful, staff who go out of their way to help, gorgeous rooms.... a very difficult place to leave.
My friend and I had a week at Njaya and I can safely say it was not long enough.
The rooms were very comfortable, and ours was located right on the edge of the lake, with the sound of the water easing us into sleep each night.
It was quiet when we were there, due to it being the rainy season, but that was perfect for us.
The staff are so friendly and welcoming that I totally agree with the previous comment likening them to being a family. They went out of their way to ensure that we had all that we needed and organised a great boat trip to see the Fish Eagle and to go snorkelling.
Everyone was welcome, and one of the highlights was a local musician, Gasper, playing in the bar. Within minutes there were lots of children dancing along. Fabulous.
If I go back to Malawi I will definitely be returning to Njaya Lodge. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Njaya Lodge can mainly be described as a family! As guests, my partner, myself and in particular my 18 yr old som, were made to feel part of that family and for that I cannot thank them enough. Gilbert, Dixon, James, Catherine and John are wonderful, warm people and made us feel right at home.

The surroundings are stunningly beautiful too, so it's well worth that extra effort to get there. I can't recommend this gorgeous place highly enough!!

Njaya also plays host to a cookery school for young people run by Dixon & James. These lovely brothers offer 6 month courses in catering and hospitality, free except for cost of materials, which give the youngsters life skills and improves their chances of employment. They want to extend their facilities at the main school, situated down the hill at their home to include accommodation for the students, teaching rooms and a larger kitchen. If you can help in anyway please contact:
 
Dixon and James Phiri, Muzimo Cookery School, c/o Njaya Lodge, PO Box 223, Nkhata bay, Malawi
Tel +265999343625
Email simeonmzimu@gmail.com

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from Njaya after a gap of 16 years. The Lodge has matured nicely and is a fabulous place to stay. Ideally situated overlooking Chikale Beach, it's a haven from the bustling town.

We stayed in the cheapest accom (lakeside bandas) but there is a variety available. Food is good and plentiful and anything can be ordered.

However, what makes Njaya special are the staff; everyone was hinest, kind, friendly and welcoming. There was a huge sense of fun allied with a commitment to great service in everyone we met.

It would be unfair to name some and not others so I won't.

Won't wait another 16 years before returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Njaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njaya Lodge

Address: Chiklae Beach | Box 223, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nkhata Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Njaya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Njaya Lodge was a magical spot. The kind of place you could wake up in one morning and realize that you were supposed to be back at work months ago. Swahili for 'the broken hearted' by Peter More (Bantam Books). Njaya Lodge is Nkhata Bay's first "Responsible travel" retreat, opening its doors for business in 1994. Since then thousands of international travelers, flash-packers and holiday-makers have arrived, stayed and then stayed for a bit longer….Visitors have included, from the music world, Andy Kershaw, Will Young and veteran crooner David Essex! Njaya is the perfect destination for a two week beach holiday, or as a refreshing stop off on your way to the islands or after a game viewing trip to the Nyika Plateau or South Luangwa in Zambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Njaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Njaya Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Njaya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.