We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vanila Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vanila Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Vanila Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 325, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Nosy Be
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of Sept / beginning of Oct. Nice stay, prompt service. We arrived quite late (about 00:30) due to delays by Air Madagascar (what a terrible airline, stay away from them if at all possible), service was still 100% even that time of the night. We had a problem with the aircon on the second night, they moved us immediately to another room. Will definitely go there again if at all possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location and delightful garden, friendly staff and great food. Excellent spa facilities too. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. Don't expect too much liveliness in the evenings as this isn't that sort of place. Excellent choice of excursions too. Highly recommended

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After leaving Andilana Beach Hotel, we used Trip Advisor again, and checked into Hotel Vanila. Tried to pay for 6 nights using our credit card, but because their signals are intermittant, the payment didnt go through. I had to subsequently pay with travellors cheques. It was better than Andilana for sure, but not much. The pool area and garden was the only stunning part of the hotel. Not enough pool loungers, and staff were very forgetful. Food was bland again, and I was told by the chef, that the food is prepared to the palates of French and Italians. Very small selection at breakfast, only 3 cereals, a small selection of fruit juices, 2 types of pastries, croissants and eggs. Restaurant Manager Mark was excellent though and did his best to please. We left 2 days early, and the manager refused to refund us 290 euros, as we had paid by travellors cheques. He said that he had to pay commission on the travellors cheques, thats why he couldnt refund us. A bit unfair, as we paid by travellor cheques because his credit card machine wasn't working.
A suggestion was made that I play tennis at Royal Beach Hotel, which I did do. See my next review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanila-Hotel-Spa, Communication officer at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for this review.

In fact our garden is one of our strong points. Thank you for mentioning it.
Debriefing on your comment, Marc, our restaurant Manager was astonished you found our meals “bland” because you showed much enthusiasm on our buffets.
As you wrote, Marc “did his best to please” you. He does it with each and every host. If you had told him you found the food “bland”, we could have adapted your dishes specially to your own taste.
Concerning the palates of Italians and Frenchs, we are happy all the South-Africans (which are more and more numerous at the Vanila Hotel & Spa) and other Anglophones find our food excellent.
Fruit juices at the breakfast are freshly made with seasonal fruits. We propose 3 to 4 fruit juices every day. Should we propose some Ceres youngberry juice to remind you home?
Finally, you forgot mentioning that we refunded you the extras and the half-board for the 2 days you didn’t stay at the hotel, but for which you booked.
Know that no other hotel in the world would have refunded you anything.

You said you would write a bad review on TripAdvisor, if we do not refund all. There we go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I had a really hard time picking a hotel in Nosy Be based on the reviews. I finally picked this little gem and we were thrilled. Local design with three small pools one above the next, in one area, and an infinity edge pool in the central area. All had great views out to the ocean.

The room was basic but clean and comfortable. A small TV, and since we took a cheaper garden room, we didn't have the views, but were right next to the pool and the restaurant.

We didn't take the meal plan, but ended up eating at the restaurant every night anyways - it was cheap and the food was amazingly good. Local with a French twist.

I had worried about the beach after reading reviews - and it's true that it was rocky in the ocean and best wear water shoes to go swimming, but the sand was nice enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanila-Hotel, Communication officer at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your comment. Your message is one more source of motivation. Happy to see that our efforts making a hotel integrated to the original landscape of Nosy Be are appreciated by our hosts.
We are also pleased that our new French chef made you satisfied.

See you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My Wife and I recently experienced a wonderful Holiday at this Hotel. We went as part of a dive group and I wasnot expecting too much as it was rated as a 3 star Hotel and after having had recent dissapointments in Kenya and having seen reports on the beach not being a swimming beach I was not expecting much.

What we got was a stunning hotel, very clean, great service, wonderful food (Well done Mark! F&B Manager). We had the Sea facing room and it was a treat! The beach was great to walk on and a swim is not out of the question at all. A visit to Sakatia Island for a little Kyaking and a little taste of paradise did not go amis. Diving is good especially at the Marine Reserve where you can have an awesome Dive in just 6m of water, however you must be prepared to be diving in Buddy pairs without a Dive Master, but this is also ok as there is very little current to battle with in terms of drifting. Previous reports complain about lack of communication at the Hotel, People, be realistic. You are visiting a Country where English is not their first language, it is not even their second language so let's respect that fact and enjoy the exposure to their Language and the challenges associated. Personally there was not a single moment where a request could not be understood either by the immediate recipient or another employee close by.

All in all an absolute pleasure to have had this experience. If there were not so many beautiful places in this world to explore I would definitely have this on my return list.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean View, the sunsets are unbelievable!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Wow! Excellent stay in this beautiful hotel. Thanks for the warm welcome! I went there to celebrate my birthday and they organised a fantastic private party for my friends and I !! The ocean view rooms offer a marvellous sunset behind Sakatia Island (even more when you’re having one of those great cocktails). Thanks to Nosy Be Original for the wonderful excursions we had.
Madagascar is an amazing place, Vanila Hotel was the cherry on top!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view! Ocean view! Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Not exactly what we expected, had an ocean view room three flights of stairs up and not very close to the sea. Beach is not a swimming beach! Food very average. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the diving was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanila Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanila Hotel & Spa

Address: BP 325, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vanila Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Vanila Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanila Hotel And Spa
Vanila Hotel Nosy Be
Vanila Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Nosy Be

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanila Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.