We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Eugenie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Eugenie
Save
You added Chez Eugenie to your Saves list
| Andilana, Nosy Be, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Nosy Be B&B and Inns
Sendai, Japan
1 review
“Feel like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is one of the grestest familly running guest house I ever stayed in the world.
The owner is so friendly and usefull also make good cooking, and the Malagasy style room is very clean and comfortable.
Off course you can go to amazing Andilana beach anytime, because it 's only ten minuites walk from your room.
As Lonely Planet guidbook says, Andilana beach is most beautiful beach in Nosy-Be.
Especially you don't have to miss to spend the time there in the beautiful sunset time.
So don't hesitate to stay Che Euzenie!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I stayed here for 9 nights in December 2010 to unwind following some fieldwork and had a wonderful time. I hadn't travelled solo before and was a little nervous, especially as my French is poor. What a joy to be welcomed so openly in to Jean-Marc and Eugenie's home and family where French, English, Italian and of course Malagasy are spoken. I ate here every night and was delighted by the quality of the food - fresh, locally sourced, responsible (i.e. no lobster served during the breeding season) and delicious. Fresh seafood, succulent zebu steak and more topped off with exquisite desserts! The room was large with its own shower and flushing toilet and a comfortable king-size bed with mosquito nets. I was given lots of local information by Jean-Marc and was able to organise excursions to Hell-ville, Nosy Komba, Nosy Fanhy and the Lokobe Reserve. Eugenie accompanied me to the zoo and touring the ylang-ylang distillary and despite our language barrier was wonderful company. I loved my time at Chez Eugenie where there is a perfect mix of traditional Malagasy life and guesthouse comfort. Nosy Be is a fantastic destination, as yet mostly unspoiled by tourism, where you can combine natural history with beach relaxation and really get to know the kindness of the Malagasy people. Thanks again to Jean-Marc and Eugenie for turning my holiday into the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Chez Eugenie is a great place to stay if you want to experience the real Madagascar in comfort. The hotel isn't directly on the beach but is only a 5 minute walk away. The price is 35 euros a night for a double room including breakfast (coffee, tea or hot chocolate and fruit juice with fruit and hot baguette). The restaurants food was the best I tasted while in Madagascar! A 3 course meal costs about £10 not including drinks and this is plenty of food for one person. There aren't many restaurant in the area but the Chez Eugenie's menu changes slightly everyday.
The rooms have mosquito nets and a fan with a toilet and shower. The rooms are very clean but aren't spacious and the shower isn't private as it has no curtain.
The host is French and very welcoming and helpful and he speaks excellent English. Just ask him for information about what to do in the area and he has lots of torist brochures, you can also hire snookles and a boat and go snookling Andilana's reef near the hotel for about £4 each.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Me (French) & my partner (Chinese) stayed 3 nights "Chez Eugenie". To feel being among the Owner's Family that is running the business and international clientele was great. Our host "Jean-Marc" was empathetic at all time and provided us with wonderful tips and honest insights. 5 minutes from the best beach of Nosy Be without all the disturbances of mass tourism. Anyone in search of serenity, simple pleasures and relaxation atfer hard journeys of trekking and "Taxi-Brousse" in madagascar will love this place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We visited for two nights before heading to a another hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the intimate atmosphere of Chez Eugenie. From the start the owners made us feel welcomed and looked after. The room was a little small, but clean and well appointed. The location is about 5min walk from the beach and the owner is able to organise activities like boating and snorkelling. The beach is billed as the best on Nosy Be and is probably a bit better than the other three beaches we visited.
The set meals seemed a little pricey ~14euro, but are fairly standard of most places in the area and in the end the seafood meals were well worth it. They were also able to cater for our gluten free requirements.
I think what made this cosy place stand out was the personal attention given, something which the other hotels/B&Bs on Nosy Be lacked. We even managed to get a feel for local life and a bit of Nosy Be's history from one of the owners - Jean Marc.
Altogether it was our best hotel experience on Nosy Be.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We visited Chez Euginie for our September break, and couldn't leave (in fact we rearranged our trip so we could come back!). The owner and staff made us feel at home, and superbly catered for. The food - which is without exception locally sourced - was amongst the best we'd had anywhere in Madagascar. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and offered great value for somewhere so close to the gorgeous Andilana beach. You can organise boat trips from here for a day trip to smaller islands nearby, which are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Eugenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Eugenie

Address: | Andilana, Nosy Be, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family guesthouse created in 2006 managed by a french malagasy couple.(3 children)200 m.far from the Andilana beach.Single,double ,family and suite-rooms.Nice restaurant serving tipical dishes (seafood,lobsters) and large mixed grilled.Lot of activities around us like diving,quads,scooters,and other island excursions to Nosy Komba,Tany Kely or Nosy Iranja. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Eugenie Madagascar/Nosy Be

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Eugenie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.