We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing place with great food,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakatia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakatia Lodge
Save
You added Sakatia Lodge to your Saves list
Nosy Sakatia, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing place with great food,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We came as a group of 4 after 2w of hurtling round Madagascar seeing birds and lemurs and the few bits of remaining original forest--and the lovely people-- and found that all those reviews were right-Isobella Jose and Jaques run a calm relaxed well sited small setup with very comfortable bungalodges with good ensuite facilities and views across the bay towards the rising sun. The food is excellent and plentiful and the staff brilliant. There was no being hassled on the beach and one could swim out to the offshore reef to snorkel or go off to dive sites with Jaques--or even have a lazy day on a pirogue dipping in whenever you got hot to have a peek at the coral and plentiful reef fish--Excursions could be arranged for fishing--visits to a marine reserve or you could just 'chill'--albeit a somewhat hot chill--A great open 'Boma' adjacent to the beach was a great place for a beer or a game of cards and the tastefully stocked tropical garden was home to visiting lemurs and chameleons---------Go there--You will not regret it!

Room Tip: All seemed to look out towards the rising sun over the mile of water that separates it from Nosy Be
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    12
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Ever since first visiting Sakatia lodge 6 years ago, when holiday time starts to come around again, there is no question as to where we are going. The perfect hosts Jose and Isabelle, on a perfect island far from any maddening crowds. Jose and Isabelle are always around to see to your needs, jacque is in charge of diving and tours, I don't dive but Tim will not go anywhere else, the reefs are in good condition, wrecks, fish, and one of the most competent dive schools around. the house reef for snorkelling is excellent, at low tide you can walk most of the way there!!The food is fantastic, ,most of the staff have been around for the past 6 years, that says a lot. the rooms gardens beach are all clean and constantly maintained, easy access by the lodge ferry to Nosy Be, but really who would want to leave!
Hilary

Room Tip: Wifi is available for a nominal charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Excellent destination to scuba fanatics. Lovely lemours every evening by the bungalows. Fab customer service on the surface and down delow :). WE RECOMMEND HIGHLY!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi, Ghana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

If your idea of a dream vacation is a bungalow right on the beach, a calm bay for swimming, and good snorkeling directly off shore.... if you are comfortable with rustic but clean and attractive but unpretentious accommodations... if you prefer affordable rates over fancy cuisine...then Sakatia Lodge is perfect.

We came for a week but couldn't bear to leave, so we extended our trip an additional three days. We enjoyed the other guests; we loved being greeted each day by the beautiful, smiling staff. We spent our ten days barefoot and blissful. Each day we swam, snorkeled, napped in our beautiful villa that opens onto the beach, enjoyed drinks on the veranda before dinner, and fell asleep to the gentle lapping of the sea on the shore.

One added surprise. The dive master, aptly named "Jacques," is uncommonly good. He was attuned to our needs as older and infrequent divers. He loves the under-sea life and showed us new ways to interact with it playfully and yet respectfully.

This place is beatiful, simple and unspoilt. Our advice: come and enjoy it while it lasts!
Leah and Chuck FIsher

Room Tip: The "villa" rooms right on the beach are definitely worth the extra cost. The smaller bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our group of 7 friends stayed here for 4 days as the final step of our Malagasy adventure.
the hotel is quite small, which allows for a very intimate feel. The location is a secluded tropical paradise. The beach was superb (With access to a great reef out front for snorkeling at low tide where we swam with sea turtles) and the views were spectacular from all locations on the grounds. There were an abundance of flowering & trees on the grounds that added to the wonderful secluded and tropical feel. They even had a family of resident lemurs that came to visit!
Jose, Edith and the staff arefantastic. they made sure that we were always well taken care of and very well fed!! The food was amazing!
We participated in the snorkeling day trip that was offered as well as the piroge tour of the island. They were well worth it. There was an abundance of healthy coral, turtles and tropical fish.
My fiance and I planned to have our "wedding ceremony" while we were there with our closest friends and the staff went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for. They suprised us by decorating the vila on the beach with fresh floral arches, created magnificent bouquets for us and set up a romantic dinner table on the beach surrounded by lanterns. They provided staff that took care of only us all evening and dinner included fresh oysters, snapper, prawns, smoked fish and they even made us our own wedding cake!
It is clear that the staff at the lodge wants to ensure that their guests have a wonderful time on the island. Additionally, it was nice to see that they were also concerned with the environment and surrounding communities. They recommended that we be cautious with our water usage and they supported the effort to build and maintain a school for the local village.
I would highly recommend this hotel you plan a stay near Nosy Be. It is definitely worth the 10 minute boat ride to Nosy Sakatia to spend time in a secluded tropical paridise!
I have not yet had a chance to sort through the pictures, but will post ASAP.

Room Tip: Ocean 3 or 4 have a spectacular view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here in August and had a great and relaxing time. The staff and owners are very friendly, the bunglows are roomy and very clean, the food was fantastic, and the views are phenomenal. We spent some time on excursions set up by the owners and the other half just relaxing, looking at the ocean, reading, and watching the lemurs jump from tree to tree. We weren't divers, but there was still plenty for us to do and we had a great time. The staff was the friendliest we had ever met and we really appreciated them putting up with our bad French.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

12 days of great peoples, 5* food and peaceful paradise...I can't recommend a better place...We went for spearfishing but there is also diving...the wild life is unique..if your goal is to stay away from stress and technology this is the place to be....very clean, peaceful and very comfy..

Room Tip: all rooms are great...the ocean bungalow got the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakatia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakatia Lodge

Address: Nosy Sakatia, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Nosy Be
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sakatia Hotel Nosy Be
Sakatia Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Be

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakatia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.