We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect blend of beauty, comfort and respect for the local environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VOI Amarina resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added VOI Amarina resort to your Saves list
VOI Amarina resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amarina Resort Ambohiday | Hell-Ville 207, Nosy Be BP 202 , Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Nosy Be
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A perfect blend of beauty, comfort and respect for the local environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I really admired the thought that had gone into making the most of this location using local sustainable materials and employing Malagasy people. The whole setting was an excellent balance of utilizing the natural beauty of the coastline while ensuring that the business of tourism did not intrude or dominate the locale. A very clever, comfortable and sensitively executed concept. We received a really warm welcome there. There was plenty to do and learn about the location. Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    125
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
58
254
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Well, where to start!! If there is a better place than this on planet earth then i'd love to see it. Everything about this place is stunning.....the setting, the staff, the food, the rooms. You are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive via speedboat. Everything is thought of and nothing is too much trouble. This place is also special because it supports a local economy and protects the very delicate local eco-systems. I really don't know what to say to do this marvelous place justice. You've just gottta go and see for yourself. Thanks Daniel to you and all your staff>

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We were the only customers there at the time so were positively spoilt; eating on the beach, having a luxury suite, having hand tailored excursions etc. The staff are just lovely - Julien was the nicest guide and told funny (albeit a bit difficult to understand) stories, Marcello (the manager) made good conversation and Daniel looked after us very well.
The beach is amazing, unspoilt and with minimal deckchairs. Just walking around the site you can easy find chameleons which was nice for me. Excursions to Tanikely and Fanihi make fantastic views and snorkelling - recommended.
I was asked to post that the political situation in Madagascar should NOT put potential tourists off. Apparently the US government is trying to disuade everyone, which is a real shame because to be honest, if you're not staying in Tana for more than a few days there is really no risk. It is very sad to see all the hotels empty and suffering from a lack of clients, so my advice to would-be visitors humming-and-haarring about going is a defiant GO!
You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

From the moment we arrived everything about our stay went above and beyond our expectations. We were met at the beach by one of the hotel managers named Daniel. He was actually in the water to meet our boat. From there we were taken to the reception area where we were given cool towels, snacks and drinks as we waited for our room. We were booked in a regular room but we offered an upgrade to the most amazing oceanfront suite. Upon learning that in had forgotten to pack a swimsuit, and having no shops nearby to purchase one, Daniel offered to send an employee to town to pick one up for me. Not wanting to inconvenience anyone, I declined and then Daniel actually offered to loan me one of his personal suits for my use. Within a couple hours, five suits were in my room to choose from.

The facilities of the hotel were quite impressive. The grounds were immaculately kept. The pool are and the beach were really inviting. On one evening, about a half hour before sunset, we went to the beach in front of our suite for a late afternoon swim. We were almost as far from the main area of the hotel as can be, but within a couple minutes, an employee appeared out of the bushes with cushions for our lounge chairs. I still have no idea where he came from, but again, the service was above and beyond.

Two meals a day were included in our rate and they were among the best meals we had in the country. We were provided several choices to choose from and they were all good. On our last evening we were even given an amazing dinner on the beach. Surrounded by the ocean, flowers, beach and each other the meal was a great ending to our amazing honeymoon trip to Madagascar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Embassy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I, along with a friend went for 3 days. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royality! This was absolutely the highlight of my 3 year assignment in Madagascar. The hotel and every member of its staff ensured that we were always comfortable and all our cares were taken care of. The accomodations were beautiful and roomy. The food was absolutely delicious and the portions plentiful. Never once did we walk away from the table hungry. This was absolutely "heaven on earth"
Amarina, THANK YOU from the bottom of our hearts!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

The visit to Amarina Hotel http://www.unusualdestinations.com/madagascar/itineraries/article/1254/it06-a-madag.html was my favourite. The team is so professional and although there is a strong Italian and French flair, once in this resort hotel, you feel like you are in Mauritius. The beach is lovely and from the minute you arrive, you feel welcome and at home although surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens and comfortable, luxurious bedrooms. Amarina Hotel is ideal for conference and incentive groups and can accommodate 90 pax cinema style seating. From a recreation perspective, the hotel offers varied options, ie. Bicycle rental, volleyball court, fitness room, spa, etc. This hotel will be very suitable to the SA market and it is highly recommended that we offer our clients a fully inclusive option at this property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VOI Amarina resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VOI Amarina resort

Address: Amarina Resort Ambohiday | Hell-Ville 207, Nosy Be BP 202 , Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nosy Be
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VOI Amarina resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the northwest of Nosy Be in the middle of a tropical park next to the lagoon of Ambohiday, the structure is spread out over 6 hectares of ground and profits from a privileged framework. The hotel is established on the edge of the beautiful long beach Anporaha and the village of the fishermen. Conceived to preserve nature and softness to live so characteristic of Nosy Be, the hotel is the meeting of refinement and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your VOI Amarina resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Amarina Hotel Nosy Be
VOI Amarina Resort Madagascar/Nosy Be

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VOI Amarina resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.