We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is possible at Asempa Lodge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asempa Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asempa Lodge
Save
You added Asempa Lodge to your Saves list
Kumasi Road | opposite SOS Childrens Village, Tamale 2325, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything is possible at Asempa Lodge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed for 2 weeks in the Asempa lodge and comparing this experience with other places in Ghana I've realy enjoyed it. Nothing is too much asked for the friendly owners and In my opinion the rooms are very nice for the price you pay. The breakfast and the food are quite nice and a fresh jump in the swimming pool is always possible. Also for advise, transport or other information the staff is always willing to take care of you.

Room Tip: A private hut combined with breakfast is a very good price/quality offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If your're looking for a quite place out of busy Tamale. Asempa Lodge is definately the right place for you. Is is around 6km out of town on the road to Kumasi. The staff is very friendly and tries hard to make you feel comfortable. You get quite a nice breakfast and dinner ist good as well.

Sometimes Asempa is troubling with running water or electricity, but I figured this out as a general problem in Northern Ghana. The Lodge works together with a local village called Zozugu. You can get a guided tour through the village and learn something about sheanuts and cosmetics production and the local way of living in a poor village. The money you spend for the tour goes completely into the development of the villages facilitites like waterpumps or connection to electricity

In general I must say, that I hardly found an Accomodation as good as Asempa in the northern part of Ghana. (at least in this price level...)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rooms are spacious and basic. The place is out of town, but has a good restaurant with a nice view on the highway: a great place to sit, relax and enjoy some nice food.

The staff is very friendly and can arrange visits to the nearby village, which I would really recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ås, Akershus, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited Ghana and stayed with this nice lodge and enjoyed their hospitality for 10 days. The rooms are simple but clean and the private bathroom is a welcome refreshment.

We visited the localvillage Zozugu on guided tour and had dance workshop with nice teacher. The lodge has a restaurant, but the owners also have a restaurant Sparklesin the center of Tamale.

The staff was very helpful for travel inquieries and through them we got to know nice places to visit in Bolga and the ecovillage of Mole. The lodge is out of town, but we enjoyed the rustic environment, closeby to the local villages, you can see the cow herders guide their animals to the fields. The donkey inside the lodge is also very funny!

We gladly return soon!

Room Tip: We prefered the private apartments for the extra space. The budget cabins are nice too, but we prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My 8-year old daughter and I stayed at the Asempa Lodge in Tamale, Ghana for a good two and a half weeks in June of this year. It was our favorite place to stay. Not only was it very convienent to have breakfast and dinner as apart of our stay, but it was also cleaned on a daily basis and had laundry service, which definitely came in handy. My daughter absolutely loved all the space, as well as the animals they have on property, which included a donkey, a cat and guinea pigs. All the animals were obviously very used to human interaction and this was great down time for not only her but me as well. Customer service was good, and the staff made sure and arranged anything I may have needed, like taxis into town, tours of the nearby village, etc. I will most definitely stay my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Asempa Lodge for 6 nights with a group of eight students and two teachers.
Just like like last year it was a great stay.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were spacious and clean. At the lodge they served great breakfast and diner, probably one of the best in town!

The rates for the rooms and the food are very good! Because of some maintenance to the pool we couldn't swim, but we had running water the whole period, even though Tamale is suffering from a big water problem.

We would definetly recommened this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

i don't need a lot of luxury and for sure, for that price you can't expect, that everything is fine/perfect. But, at least they could clean the toilet, bevor they give the room to the next visitors. I don't like stripes in the toilet.... Hairs in the washbasin, damaged toilet, NO mirror in the whole room (incl. bath), aircondition out of work and a pool... I don't know if there somebody goes swimming and i don't wan't to make believe, what gonna happened with human skin, if you jump into this "water".

So, at least the basics should work and a very bit of cleanness i can espect, even for small money.

I give 2 Stars, becaus of course, it was cheap...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamale hotels

Been to Asempa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asempa Lodge

Address: Kumasi Road | opposite SOS Childrens Village, Tamale 2325, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Northern Region > Tamale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tamale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our main attractive points are the open-air swimming pool (in a private location and only open to our guests), the large restaurant (open to both guests and passers-by) and the clean apartments in African style with grass roofs. We have 10 self-contained two-star rooms and 10 budget rooms (with a shared facility) available. We also organize tours to neighbouring villages and Mole National Park and have an airport pick up service available when requested. Enjoy real Ghanaian hospitality in Tamale! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asempa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.