We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best spots to grab a bite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of kunta kinteh

kunta kinteh
Kotu Beach | Kotu Beach the Gambia, Kotu Po box 3163 sere kunda, Gambia
9901283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 restaurants in Kotu
Cuisines: African, European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: next door to the palm beach hotel in kotu the gambia
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of the best spots to grab a bite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the place to go if you are staying in one of the nearby hotels!

Why:
Friendly staff;
Excellent food;
Fair prices;
Free beach beds;
Not so much bumpsters;
Organize any kind of tours with the friendly guy named Malik (he brought as to many places and made our holliday excellent)

Tip: do not book with your tour operator. The local experience is way better and the money goes to the people who need it in stead of your tour operator.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    45
    45
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

the food here very good you can have it on the beach or inside out side is much beter from sandwich to currys you can even get tea and cake witch my girlfriend had a few times they also do a juice made from old tree bark dont drink it it is foul

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach setting good food great staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We always spend a lot of time here on every holiday to the neighbouring Palm Beach Hotel as its a wonderful restaurant with service to the free sunbeds on the beach for drinks and food,a lovely terrace,a shop selling gifts at very fair prices where i had some lovely place mats made by the tailor,and Barry the loveable beach boy got the manager Seedy to show us the fantastic bungalows that are available to rent,and some new ones under construction,its going to be a wonderful place to stay,as well as to eat drink and spend the day.The staff are very friendly,the service is good and food very tasty and very well priced,we witnessed a wedding on the terrace when we were there.The beach is beautiful and we have already had a chat to the owner Ebrima about the lovely bungalows and his plans for future development.There is entertainment and a BBQ on some nights too with great African drumming so do pay it a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I ate here at lunch time, the chips are home made, they do bacon sandwiches, try the garlic chicken its lovely

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermitage
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunbed No. 16.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a great base for spending your hols in the Gambian sunshine. Kunta Kinteh beach bar & restaurant was like my second home. The staff are all fab; Bintu, Bernard, Jay, Malek, Cheeky, Joe, Alpha Romeo, Omar, Mo, Captain James and of course Seedy Colley the wonderfull General Manager. Seedy always takes the time to say hello to his customers every day and his staff have the upmost respect for him. Another bungalow is being built for renting. Seedy took me round a completed one and it is built to a very high standard. Imagine waking up every morning to the sound of the sea. Thank you Seedy for a memorable holiday and looking after me. See you in December xx

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kunta kinteh also viewed

Kotu, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 
Kotu, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 

Been to kunta kinteh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kunta kinteh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.