We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonda watch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
2 Kotu Stream Road | KOTU, Kotu 0000, Gambia
002204465555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Kotu
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, International, Healthy
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonda watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location if you like to sit take a drink, have a meal or sit and watch the Gambian street life pass buy, then this is a great local location. Located in an excellent spot right near hotels on the koto strip........this is not a 5 star by no means, but the staff and entertainment are fab not expensive in the slightest. This is a deffo go for you holiday makers ....Have a great time ...wonda

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    55
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Captains table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A relaxed affair, good food lovely surroundings, slightly more expensive than others but worth it, nice for a special occasion.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just off Kotu beach by the hotels Bungalow beach, Sunset Beach and Kombo Beach. It is part of Bakotu hotel and the staff are friendly and the food is great. Great fish as always in this country. It is down the road from Palm Beach and Badala Park. In the corner opposite Bungalow Beach. Nice atmosphere too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable African Food but a bit Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Overall the food was quite nice and the atmosphere was very pleasant but for what we ate we felt it was a bit overpriced. That said, if you're looking for a nice quiet meal somewhere else, it would be worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was completely taken by surprise how good the seafood here was - we had tried many of the advertised restaurants but were not satisfied. As good surprise was that my wife got the first good (red) wine here. We had tried even more places fr that but unfortunately many of them were completely ruined. (It is a tough call of course as so many locals do not drink any alcohol and wine is an imported, expensive delicacy that cannot be easily discarded even if the hot weather is hard for it, especially after opening it. So it was our fault of going for it, I acknowledge)

But at Captain's Table, You can "Wine and Dine". It was also quiet and cozy, partially "under African Sky" experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Kotu, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 
Kotu, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.