We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food great chef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngala Lodge Restauarant

Ngala Lodge Restauarant
64 Atlantic Boulevard, Fajara 4901, Gambia
+220 449 4045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Fajara
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Established in 1995, Ngala Lodge restaurant has a well earned reputation for fine dining in a beautiful clifftop location. Popular with visitors and local residents, as well as our guests, booking is recommended from November to March. House specialities include the sumptuous fruit de mer and 'Hot from Thailand'. First class low key entertainment is available 7 nights a week. Sunday night is African evening with traditional food and dancers. Ngala Lodge - where romance isn't just for Valentines Day!
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food great chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent a week at ngala lodge which gave us the benefit of the restaurant being "the local" what more could we ask .... Great food every day, freshly cooked breakfast and well thought out lunch and evening daily specials by the chef Jonathan who strives to achieve excellence with his creations. Hotel guest or not don't miss out on this fabulous restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Jonno, Chef de cuisine at Ngala Lodge Restauarant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. So glad you enjoyed our efforts. We do hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Ate here for my 50th birthday. Food, service and atmosphere 5 star. Not cheap but worth every penny thank you

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Jonno, Chef de cuisine at Ngala Lodge Restauarant, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Gill,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your 50th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice for a special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good ambiance, excellent food, fantastic service. Booked for special family occasion didn't disappoint.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Jonno, Chef de cuisine at Ngala Lodge Restauarant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda2408
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this online before we went and the whole place and ambiance was fabulous. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Jonno, Chef de cuisine at Ngala Lodge Restauarant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Linda, Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groombridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lights that revealed all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was a guest at the Ngala Lodge and we ate in the restaurant for the whole of the holiday.
I especially went to the Restaurant entrance to take a photo shoot of the famous "lights
that revealed all" but to my disappointment the offending light had been removed, no doubt
due to a previous complaint. Don't be spoilsports, have it insitu for my next visit please.
Jenny and Jonathon will know who the author of this review is - ha ha !! The clue is in the
"seeds".

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Jonno, Chef de cuisine at Ngala Lodge Restauarant, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Rita,
Thank you for the seeds. Our kitchen gardener is always happy with unusual herb, salad and vegetable seeds to grow for me. The restaurant door is still in situ for lovers of "African art" to enjoy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngala Lodge Restauarant also viewed

Fajara, Banjul Division
Fajara, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Ngala Lodge Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngala Lodge Restauarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.