We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and friedly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiling Coast Guesthouse & Brasserie

Smiling Coast Guesthouse & Brasserie
Old Cape Point Road, Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
002204494653
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Bakau
Price range: $20 - $49
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and friedly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

nice food, and atmosphere. Super friendly staff. Sensible prices and close to main hotels. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Dance the night away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a great time here and food was great, We had the steak :). Mondays and Friday nights they have live band . :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good food and entertainment. Had dinner on two evenings at the smiling coast. The salad is lovely a the service is very good very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Many plusses, huge water problem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here as a guest in december 2013, and I ate dinner here 6-7 times. Most of the dishes tasted great and could be recomended, but some of the food was disapointing.

I think the problem is a too ambitious menu for the staff working in the kitchen. The stroganoff with rice and salad was correct made and tasted great. Also I only heard positive comments about the fish dishes. On the other end the "thai shrimp with traditional sauce" was fried shrimps burried in spoons of garlic and chilli, with a cup of very asedic lemon juice to go with it, was uneatable. If they rewieved their menu and only offered food the chef knows well, the restaurant could be marvelous!

At the time they have outdoor live music mondays and fridays from around 8 pm to 11 pm, and it is usually full house with dancing throughout the evening. They have a big TV on the inside for football fans, and the first customer showing up usually get to pick the game for the night.

The staff is very positive, helpfull and friendly! Most of them are professional and atentive, but the management would probably benefit from training some of the empolyes a little more. It happened more than once that my glas was empty while staff either was dancing to the live music or gave the impression of standing up sleeping at the spot.

The rooms above the restaurant are newly renovated. They have different size rooms with different number of beds. All rooms have balcony, but while the rooms at the front have great oversight of the area its nothing to see at the back (but quiet). My room had a comfortable double bed, a good chair, TV with news channels in english, a small fridge, water boiler, sink to wash dishes and a safe with key. The closet for clothes was new.

In the bathroom it was a toilet, sink and a shower.

I would have rated my room excellent value for money, but unfortunately they had severe problems with the water on the majority of days. Either they dont get enough water from the ground or they have too small water tank capasity, or maybe both!

Most days I did not have water to shower or flush my toilet after beach. Most of days it took 12 hours or more to get it running again. When you are unable to shower after swimming in the salty sea or flush the toilet after having "travellers stomach", it affects the quality of your holiday!

It also affects the restaurant experience because the toilets can not be flushed!

The hot water worked two times in two weeks, and the water from the ground is actually very cold. They have very low water pressure at the time the water is actually working, so I chose to screw down the elephant head sized shower head, and that helped a lot.

I have been several times to Bakau and I love the area for the laid back atmosphere. If you are staying at The Smiling Coast you are in 5-10 minutes walking distance to the beach, restaurants and drinking places and most things you need for a relaxed holiday!

After a day or two the bumsters know you are not a customer and they will greet you in a more friendly than pushy manner. There are plenty good places for food, and I especially recomend Calypso and the Indian restaurant. There are several supermarkets in the area with a good selection.

If youre looking for parties its only 10 minutes with taxi to the nightlife in Senegambia.

The manager of The Smiling Coast has "promised" to fix the water situation, and if he gives me the room for free the days the water is gone for more than 4 hours, I will definately stay with them again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate here one evening after walking back from The Bakau Guest house where we watched the fish coming in one evening.
Staff were friendly. I had pan fried fish and my husband had shrimp piri piri , both were excellent. We shared a large fruit salad for dessert , washed down with beer . Bill came to approx £ 15 including tip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiling Coast Guesthouse & Brasserie also viewed

Bakau, Banjul Division
 
Bakau, Banjul Division
Bakau, Banjul Division
 

Been to Smiling Coast Guesthouse & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiling Coast Guesthouse & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.