We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of African Village Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
African Village Hotel
Save
You added African Village Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Atlantic Boulevard, Bakau, Gambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“basic, but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was just an overnight stay, as we were on our way 'up country', working with a charity.
It was the first time I had stayed at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms were adequate, as was the food. It was great to watch the fishermen launching their boats - you had a feel of the real Gambia, not just the tourist face.The best part was that there were less bumsters about on the beach - but they were the usual irritation the minute you stepped outside the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
22
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here over a period of 11 days on a bed and breakfast basis; I've previously stayed in larger hotels but I wanted to immerse myself in the 'real' Gambia as a solo female traveller, and on reflection this was the best place to do that. I stayed in a single room which contains 2 beds, en-suite bathroom, mosquito net and a fan, clean towels and sheets are provided for those that travel light. (African Village has it's own electricity generator so regular power outages do not impact on your stay).
I arrived late evening in the darkness with my luggage and was welcomed with a cheery smile and warmth, the genuinely helpful staff ensured my stay was safe and comfortable.
I really loved my stay here and if staying in Bakau will always stay at African Village...Abaraka ba ke!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay there was thoroughly enjoyed. The room was clean. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment and the relaxing atmosphere. Although the weather was very hot inland it was very comfortable there by the ocean. We have recommended this Hotel/Resort to several people. We hope to return again in 2014

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I like this Hotel, it is very close to the real life of The Gambia, the staff have always been very helpful. On the street nearby its cool, nice people, they don't have a lot so you will get a little pestered, go with a sun tan! It will help.
The rooms are simple too but it's The Gambia don't expect back home. I have been several times and always gravitate back to the same Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for AC or a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

As other contributors have said, this is a place to stay in Africa. If you want to pretend you are somewhere more affluent, then go to the bigger, plastic hotels. Here, there's a pool, shady and sunny areas to relax, a couple of bars, a private beach down the steps (and btw a really helpful batik producer who will also give classes). Get up and see the sunrise, and then go in for a great breakfast.
The food is more than fine, and certainly compares in quality, quantity and price with all but the swankiest restaurants out of the hotel complex. The staff are friendly, it's the most bug-free place I've stayed in the Gambia, close to the bank, very close to the taxis (private and bush taxis) - certainly a good place for those who want to explore the coast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had an amazing week at the African village hotel!
I was there to teach in The Gambia, and felt like I was living a life of luxury compared to some other people outside the hotel, that live in poverty. Therefore with this in mind the service was great, the food was great and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was clean and the pool/bar area had a lovely chilled atmosphere.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. For me, I was there for the experience not to stay in a fancy hotel and moan about every little thing. I was great full for a working shower and bed :) my whole experience in The Gambia was one I will never forget and the hotel contributed to this.

Room Tip: just enjoy the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a lovely trip here in April, rooms are basic but it is important to remember to compare this hotel to other African hotels, not European ones. Staff were SO friendly and lovely which made our time at this hotel even more enjoyable. Shared a room with two other people and found we had lots of space. Being a vegetarian I encountered no problems at this hotel. Beautiful country, with beautiful people, well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Village Hotel

Address: 98 Atlantic Boulevard, Bakau, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Hotel Class:2.5 star — African Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
African Village Bakau
Hotel African Village
African Village Hotel Gambia/Bakau, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.