We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but more expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj India

Taj India
Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Bakau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food but more expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant for three straight years. The food is always good, but it is quite a bit more expensive than other restaurants with similar food quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Indian, Gambian style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This restaurant is quite nice but not what I call an Indian restaurant. The food is good but dose tend to lack the true Indian taste.
They do other food too and I can recommend the fish and chips. Its the 'Lady Fish' which is local and very nice.
They also have a very well stocked bar with friendly staff.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friends staff and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Really friendly and just over the road from the hotel!. Food was lovely, we visited twice and would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

First night, almost opposite the hotel. lets go to for an Indian. Great food, good price (compared to the UK), very attentive service could not fault it. my advice here if you would like to tip the waiter/waitress pay for the bill and then tip the waiter/waitress direct.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakau, Gambia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

First time we when tweets where almost sat on the street then we got moved the food was ok the next time we went we had a better table but the food was horrible I had it packed up like a takeaway and gave it to a Bumster outside the hotel he said it was great.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj India also viewed

 
Bakau, Banjul Division
Bakau, Banjul Division
 

Been to Taj India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.