We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Brewery

The Brewery
8 West Main Street, Honeoye Falls, NY 14472
(585) 624-7870
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. Marty, the waitress, literally came up to our table and said "what do you want"....this, after waiting 30 minutes without anyone asking us if we wanted drinks!

Martha was rude. So was other waitress.

Food was the worst. We returned two dishes. The spicy pasta dish was literally franks red hot and pasta and dried sausage with about 1.5 soggy shrimps.

My mother ordered something and was served something completely different than what was on the menu. The waitress just tried to tell her it looked different. The menu listed ravioli. She was served HAM. I'm not making this up.

Anyway, won't be back. I would avoid this place at all costs. It's a glorified diner with a prison chef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A nice place to go for a nice meal or a quick burger. It is always decorated tastefully for the appropriate seasons. Love the view of the falls!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's great to sit out on the port h in the warm weather and near the fireplace in the winter. The food is good, and it's nice not to eat at a chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food from a small-town pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ate dinner here with my wife and daughter earlier this summer and was impressed by the variety and quality of the food. The menu ranges from basic bar food to more high-end entrees, and we tried both ends of the scale; I had a burger with fries, my daughter had mussels, and my wife had a salmon special. We were all pleased with our meals, which were all well prepared. And though I didn't partake, they did have an interesting beer list, contrary to what another reviewer wrote. Not entirely local, no, but varied enough to please most palates.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had heard good things about this restaurant, so we decided to check it out. Not pretty by any means, it does have a fantastic view of the falls from their back patio. However, our visit was during a heatwave so we sat inside. Their beer selection was minimal, which surprised me because we had been told they feature a lot of local beers. There were 2 on the menu.


The menu for entrees was slim, basic sandwiches, and the specials board had two more inventive meals, but nothing we were interested in. My husband ordered a basic chicken sandwich on a roll with lettuce, tomato and mayo. It was nothing special. I ordered the chicken breast on foccacia. It came out on toasted white bread. It was too weak to hold up to the pesto, roasted red peppers and spinach and quickly became soggy. The fires were bland, obviously frozen.

As much as we wanted to like The Brewery, we just didn't. The view is great, the food just basic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brewery also viewed

Honeoye Falls, Finger Lakes
Honeoye Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Honeoye Falls, Finger Lakes
Honeoye Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.