We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Seneca Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savannah House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Savannah House Inn to your Saves list
The Savannah House Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay a 3rd Night Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Seneca Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this property. Pat and Brenda are the host/hostess who aim to please. It's a no frills motel but the rooms are kept very clean with fresh towels and linens; I especially liked the colorful towels we got each time they gave us clean ones that smell so sweet you'll feel like you are visiting mom. Brenda decorates each room with beautiful bright colors, antique accessories throughout the rooms and the peace you get staying at this inn is what makes it worth the stay!.

There is a BBQ grill for the guests to use if they opt not to go out to dine, picnic tables, adirondeck chairs for relaxing after a day of wine tasting and touring. There is a fire pit where you can sit and chat with other guests if you wish too or just take a stroll around the property for a quiet time alone or sit on the swing under the tree with your partner. There is coffee and tea in the main building where you can mingle with others or chat with Pat who is always available to share some stories from when he lived and worked in New York City's financial district. Not to mention that Brenda offers some suggestions for places to see and spend the day exploring. It's a short drive to Watkins Glen town which is a much visit location. I guess my most memorable moment was when I said good-bye to Pat and he gave me a bear hug; I felt like I was leaving my friend's home. I would definitely recommend staying at the Savannah Inn if you are looking for a clean, quiet and economical place to stay with all the comforts of home!

Cheers to Pat and Brenda!

Room Tip: You can ask for the Green room when booking which is Room No 1 and it's not attached on the righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    34
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
100
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Brenda and Pat were so great. They gave us such a warm welcome when we arrived. Gave us great places to visit in the area, and made sure everything was perfect in the room. The property is beautiful. Make sure you eat at Emiles in Geneva, food is delicious and staff are great. Make sure you get what you need before you get to the Inn as there is nothing around to pick up snacks, beer etc. Do not let that deter you from staying there the place is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Reading other reviews and the percentage of positive reviews to negative. The water pressure in the room we had was a trickle. It appears that we were in the percentage of the negative reviews. I contribute this to having higher standards..as were presented on the internet..but not received in reality. A cute place..unorganized as some call it or laid back as Pat calls it. Being nice matters and so does knowing what a confirmation means when you are running a business. When you pay for a service the consumer should get what is advertised.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are stunned at this reviewer's comments, because the whole time they were here all they offered were exceptionally positive comments. None of the comments herein were presented to us. To begin with, as in every reservation we do which includes a private wine tour, we advise the guest that we will try to get the vehicle they prefer because tour requests at all limo companies are very heavy - plus this guest did their reservation only 2 weeks prior to arrival. After taking this reservation, we contacted the limo company and they advised that they only had a luxury van - no limos available - they were heavily booked. We then contacted this guest and advised them of what the limo company told us. Guest advised they would accept the van. They weren't happy about it, but they agreed. If they had not found the van acceptable, we would not have charged them for the tour, and they were told this. Upon arrival, they told us that their rooms were beautiful, and they seemed very happy with everything. The next morning they did their tour, and when they came back they told us that they apologized for their attitude at time of reservation, because they thought they were going to be in "some sort of plumber's van", but it was very nice and they had a great tour. At one point, guest approached Brenda, put her hand on Brenda's shoulder, and told her to be sure to tell Pat that she apolgizes for her mistake and the misunderstanding about the van. They told us they were "all happy and things were great". Again when departing, guests made a point of telling us their stay was great and they were going to be back again in the future. As for the water concern - we are noted for 2 things when it comes to our water system - the hot water is very hot, and the water pressure is very high. If guest's water was at a "trickle" as they claim, why then did they not come and tell us. This review is the first time we have heard this, and guest's claim completely contradicts observations of many other guests. In 7 years of operation, and 170 guest reviews, no one has ever made a similar claim. In 2014, it is very rare for the owners to be present and running a motel. We are here every day for our guests and we are very responsive to their concerns. We were here for these guests. They had the opportunity to tell the owners directly of any concern they might have. They did not. All they told us was how great everything was, and even apologized for assuming the van would not be as we described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I just got back from a wonderful stay at The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake. A friend and I -- we live at opposite ends of New York -- decided to meet halfway in the Finger Lakes to visit some wineries and spend a day in Watkins Glen State Park. When we pulled up to the motel, we received a very warm welcome from Pat and Brenda. We felt more like we were being greeted by dear old friends than the proprietors of a motel. Brenda brought us up to the second-floor suite we had booked to show us around, and I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised by all the warm and welcoming touches. The lights were on, and there was very relaxing music playing. It was obvious there was a lot of care and thought given to decorating the space, not to mention that everything was spotless. The suite is really more like an apartment with a bedroom, kitchen, living room with a futon, a full bathroom, and a small balcony overlooking the lake. It was perfect for our three-day stay. Before checking out, Brenda invited us to look at some of the queen rooms located on the ground level. Although they are not super large, they are all so cozy and welcoming and beautifully decorated, each with its own theme and color scheme. The pictures of the rooms on their website do not do them justice.

Every morning there is coffee and tea served in the office. There is an area located on the side of the motel with a fire pit, picnic tables and Adirondack chairs, all with a lovely view of the lake. What a great spot to relax and enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day.

We so enjoyed our stay at The Savannah House. It was very comfortable and relaxing. Pat and Brenda are such wonderful hosts, and we loved talking with them each day. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
You bring out the best in us :) Very engaging - enjoyable guests. We were sorry to see you leave. Those are beautiful and much appreciated comments. Looking forward to your return. Thank you very much for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and The Savannah House Inn was recommended by a co-worker. I'm so glad we took her advice because we had a fabulous time!!! The owners, Brenda & Pat, were extremely gracious, pleasant to chat with, and, overall, just nice people who made us feel right at home. Our room was quaint and comfortable - and clean. The location ended up being perfect for visiting the many wineries in the area. Pat's suggestion for dinner in Penn Yan at "Top of the Lake" got thumbs up from us - great atmosphere and delicious food!!! Brenda made sure the fire pit was burning each night and we had a great time sitting around & talking to the other guests. We had such a wonderful time that we cannot wait to come back. I would definitely recommend the Savannah House - I have to agree with another reviewer who wrote: you get a more personalized experience than you would just staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We enjoyed your group immensely. Yours was probably the best girls group we've had stay with us, and we have about 60 girls groups each year. These groups are a joy to have. You all were so respectful of our place, and a lot of fun to visit with. It speaks well of Pittsburgh :) Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Run, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Savannah House Inn for our 20th wedding anniversary getaway. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by Pat, one of the owners and were met by the ladies who were going to do our couples' massages. I wasn't sure how I felt about that, being immediately when we arrived, but I highly recommend it now! It set the mood for the whole weekend! After our massages, we asked for a recommendation for dinner. Pat and Brenda directed us to The Eagle (I think). Very nice place with an amazing, welcoming, home-town feel. Upon returning to our deluxe suite, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the deluxe suite and retired for the evening. The next morning, coffee was available down in the office and I had a nice chat with Pat again. He recommended a couple of places for us to go have breakfast. These people are very friendly, warm, kind-hearted people who truly care about each of their guests. We hiked the Gorge trail at the falls in Watkins Glen Saturday and then drove up one side of the lake to see all the wineries and then back around to the west side to Savanah House. Saturday night we went on Captain Bill's dinner cruise and enjoyed three hours out on the lake, finishing off with a gorgeous sunset! We were able to enjoy the Jacuzzi one more night and check out the next morning. Pat and Brenda were visible at all times, whenever we needed anything (even late at night asking for clean washcloths because we used like four in one day) and were there to make sure we had a pleasant experience. They truly care what your thoughts are on places they recommend so they know where to continue or not continue recommendations to their future guests. I would definitely recommend Savannah House to anyone. You get a more personalized experience than you would just staying at a hotel. Wonderful place, wonderful people!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite has a living room, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, Jacuzzi, and a deck overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We are grateful that you took the time to share your experiences with us and the area. It was wonderful having you as guests, with your enthusiasm and desire to explore. Thank you for your very, very nice comments. We strive to provide our guests with a very nice time away from home, and your response is our payback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After driving 5 hours we pulled up to motel, it was 2:40, woman said we do not allow check ins before 4, there was(1) car in the whole parking lot, no I'm sorry, or a recommendation of what to do for the hour and 20 minutes...When we checked in later at 5:30, they were much nicer. Room was clean, could of used more than one beach type chair in room (blue room) but was a nice room. In my opinion, was way overpriced for what you got, around $150 a night with taxes for a motel room in the off season. The third night was free, but no one stayed, due to work and weather issues. I'm guessing this whole area is overpriced, so I have nothing to compare it too. Good location to visit wineries, and they were helpful in recommending places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are a bit surprised at this guest's comments, especially given that they have "senior reviewer" status - which presumes they are quite familiar with traveling and the process of doing a reservation. In this case, the guest was part of a group of 4 couples that reserved together. As we do in all reservations, we go over the details of the reservation on the phone at the time of the reservation, and then follow that with a confirmation email, with the same details. One of those details is the check-in time, which is from 4pm on. We clearly state not to arrive before 4pm unless the guest makes that arrangement ahead of time. This allows us to prepare the rooms for our arriving guests in a manner keeping with our well known standards of excellence - and to get a breather before our guests arrive. These guests arrived at 2:30 pm, while the rooms were still being prepared [Brenda greeted them with an armful of linens as she and our housekeeper were preparing the rooms], and were politely reminded of the proper check in time. The reason the parking lot was empty of guest vehicles was because all the other guests didn't arrive until 4pm or later, including the other 3 couples that were part of this couple's group - because they knew the check-in time. Also - the room rate was $129/night with a 3rd night free plus a Wine Trail Passport - which entitles our guests to free wine tastings and discounts on wine and other purchases - average savings per couple is usually about $50 - $100. No other hotel or motel that we're aware of was offering this deal, which is the main reason these guests came to us. If they had stayed the 3rd night, their effective rate would have been $86/night [$96.32 with tax] - a super deal. They decided to leave after 2 nights because the weather was very cold and it was beginning to snow, and they wanted to try and get ahead of the storm. That still does not negate the fact that they had a very nice place to stay in the heart of the Wine Trail at a very reasonable rate. This guest also failed to comment on the 6-hour stretch limo wine tour they took with the Passport, which the others in their group had advised was a great time - well done. We're disappointed that this guest misrepresented what took place when they came to stay with us. Normally we continually try to improve our service whenever we can, and we look to our guests' comments - both in writing, and in person - for things that need to be addressed when needed, especially when the guest is an experienced reviewer. In this case, we are unable to find anything helpful to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savannah House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savannah House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.