We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Savannah House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Savannah House Inn to your Saves list
The Savannah House Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay a 3rd Night Free
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Ballston Spa, New York
1 review
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I had a great stay here. The option to get a massage in the room was fabulous and JoAnne was great. The room was cute and quaint and comfortable. Pat was nice and was great with suggestions of where to eat and winerys to visit. The best part about Savannah house it is smack dab in the middle of wine country, and walking distance to 3 vinyards. We will stay here again-

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
What great guests. In that you come from Ballston Spa, we know you recognize the many wonderful things our area has to offer, and your comments mean a lot. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    34
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
100
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Charming, country-cottage style amenities, with such a personal experience. Smack dab in the middle of the best Finger Lakes wine country on Seneca Lake. we had a perfect place to base ourselves on our two day wine country adventure! Pat and Brenda have whipped this 12 room motel into a little slice of comfort with an awesome view of the sunrise overlooking the lake. this is a definite stay this summer, this time with friends! the owners really make you feel like you are an old friend who's just reconnected. I stood in the lobby to get our morning coffee, talking with Pat for an hour while my wife thought I got abducted by the ghosts of vineyards past! Please make this a destination once and you'll go back again and again! Forget the limo tours that rush you around...take your time and hit the wineries off the beaten path. What a great new way to enjoy the jewel of New york State!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate your glowing comments very much. You were both a delight to spend time with. Your visit coming in the heart of winter was especially welcome - adding additional warmth and friendship on a cold winter weekend. We look forward to spending many occasions with you and your friends. Your enthusiasm and offer of help for a Wine Trail Film Festival which we hope to initiate, is most heartening - and we can't wait to tap into your energy and excitement. Thank you Scot and Jill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rented the cottage at 37 Seneca Street in Dresden, NY and it was just delightful. In winter, the cottage is warm and inviting with a stunning, unobstructed view of the lake from the hot tub. I highly recommend this as a getaway for anyone looking for a quiet, picturesque vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments about our cottage. It is a delightful place - well liked by those who stay there. You were very gracious in your direct comments to us in person, and it made our day. We hoope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were welcomed at the Inn with open arms, even though we probably woke Pat the owner up with our late arrival, but he didn't let on if we did. What a divine room we were given, it felt like home when we first entered, the care and pride taken in the decor and fabulous bedding was very much appreciated. Our room was spotless. Thick comfy flannelette sheets and a cozy fireplace were just what we needed at the late hour of our arrival. What a surprise when we woke up the next morning to look out the window at the back of our room to see a spectacular view of Lake Seneca. The coffee awaiting in the front lobby which is more like a little antique cafe was delicious and the company (Pat and his animals) were very welcoming and educational to hear what was awaiting us in the surrounding area. Watkins Glen is a nice country drive close by where we visited the Watkins Glen International Speedway, unfortunately for us it was closed for the season, but you can bet we will be visiting again and be driving that track for $25. There are wineries and antique stores galore. A fabulous little coffee shop/bakery/restaurant is right on the main street of Watkins Glen. In nearby Waterloo, NY we shopped til we dropped at the Outlet Mall. With a big hunger on we headed into Himrod, NY to The Himrod Eagle which came highly recommended at first look from the outside we weren't sure what to expect but upon entry we found a cozy comfy bar and grill filled with locals, and after our meal we understand why - fabulous food with a very friendly atmosphere. Sunday after another interesting conversation with Pat we visited the nearby Corning Glass Museum and Studio where we did our own glass work and toured the museum for hours. Time went by too quickly and we wished we could've stayed longer but you can be guaranteed we will be back. I highly recommend the Savannah House Inn if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, exquistly decorated, friendly place to stay. It's like visiting an old friend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments, and that you took the time to tell others about all that you experienced. There is so much here in addition to the wineries and micro breweries That our guests can take advantage of. Having enough time is the biggest challenge. Thank you and please come back. We are delighted to make your friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

1 Large lake, 2 planning sessions, 3 daring couples, 4 days of adventure. So many wineries -so little time!
Outcome of our adventure was nothing short of EPIC!
Pat was so helpful and kind returning emails and phone calls with answers to all my questions regarding the area. Once we arrived, he and Brenda made us feel like family.
The Savannah House embodies everything you could want in a quaint country inn. This is all made possible by two wonderful souls who truly put their guests comfort and needs first.
Add to that Pat's morning coffee and you have one awesome experience.

Jess K
Connellsville, Pa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Jess you are something else - making two old retirees feel it's all worth it in a big way. You, like all our guests, are wonderful to meet and connect with, and bring so much joy to us. Thank you for visiting and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a lovely inn. The room was beautifully decorated with so many little personal touches. You felt welcomed as soon as you walked into the office. Pat and Brenda are so nice. The location on the lake was perfect too. There is a beautiful view from the hillside and lots of chairs and fire pit outside to enjoy every night. If you're looking for a clean room, soft comfortable beds with reasonable rates this is the place for you. Go enjoy your stay and have fun visiting the wineries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Barb - thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience at our inn. We enjoyed spending time with you, striking up a new friendship, and seeing your enthusiasm. Your return cannot come soon enough. We miss you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great for many reasons, it is VERY clean, pat and Brenda are the nicest people you could meet and their pets are adorable :) they were so helpful with anything you needed at anytime! They were always close by! Brenda ( I'm assuming) decorated the rooms so lovely, lots of little details like books and great smelling soaps :) for the record, I have never written a review before. Typically I like to stay at a new ( fancy as my husband would say) hotels. You know the ones with granite countertops for the sinks and every bell and whistle you could think of. Let me just tell you, I would stay at the savannah house over any other hotel hands down. Consider yourself lucky if they have a room available for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
After reading your review, we want to stay there too :) It was great spending time with you and experiencing your enthusiasm and appreciation. Your comments are very humbling - thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savannah House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savannah House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.