We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Hutte Inn & Restaurant

Swiss Hutte Inn & Restaurant
Route 23 S, Hillsdale, NY 12529
413-528-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Hillsdale
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice menu well executed by first class chef.
Food excellent.
Daily specials and desert recited by waitress w/o prices though.
Surprised when check came with $30.00+ desert tab for two. (1 Irish coffee, 1 Cappuccino, 1 creme brulee).
Would return but skip desert.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delicious european meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Rich flavor, classic Swiss, nice vies, warm atmosphere and good service. Always ineresting and fresh specials. Fabulous onion soup, nice smoker fish plate home made pate. Save room for dessert!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Swiss cuisine and gracious service = Wonderful evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visit the Swiss Hutte at least twice a year to have dinner with friends. What consistently stands out after each visit is the professional, truly welcoming service. Even when the dining room is packed, the staff always keep the tone relaxed. On more than one occasion, we have shared great cuisine and a tremendous evening of socializing with friends. When you visit, I am sure you will notice the genuine hospitality of the entire staff.

To be sure, you will be pleased with your meal as well. Gert and his kitchen staff continue to send out tasteful entrees. The schnitzel is a "can't miss" entree, and the pork chop and caramelized apple dish has become my favorite. The breads accompanying the meal are also exquisite.

If you want to truly enjoy an evening of great food (warm, hearty dishes) served by a welcoming staff, the Swiss Hutte is a great choice. A truly enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best of the Berkshires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Swiss Hutte for many years - the food is the best in the Berkshires in our opinions. I have never been disappointed with a meal. I can feel myself relax the minute I get there. We prefer sitting in the lounge with the fireplace - so cozy. They also carry a bar menu for lighter meals.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Swiss Hutte is a hotel as well as a restaurant, on the edge of the Catamount ski slope. The night we were there, the slope was illuminated, and people were still skiing on the man-made snow (December being an unnaturally warm month, virtually all the slopes in the area were naked). The restaurant is pretty, the service attentive, and the food is quite good for the area. It is not out-of-the-ordinary great, but you can have a really nice meal there. N.B. If you order (as one of our party did) a bottle of Hennepin Beer, don't be surprised if it is enough for the entire table; it is nearly a full quart (for about $7)!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Hutte Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Swiss Hutte Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Hutte Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.