We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my gosh, what happened to this hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pointers Echo Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pointers Echo Motel
Save
You added Pointers Echo Motel to your Saves list
1610 Route 9W North, Highland Falls, NY 10928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Highland Falls
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh, what happened to this hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

In a nutshell,
Horrible, torn carpets, mildew, musty odor, sheets with holes, blankets either dirty or stained, huge holes in skimpy towels, a a used washcloth hanging on the towel bar when we checked in, Non English speaking person at the desk, moldy shower curtains, transparent curtains in the bathroom. The crowning blow, the mattress in one of our 3 bedrooms had what appeared to be "bug trash" between the mattress and box springs. 2 of the 3 microwaves did not work. No fresh towels, no room cleaning! The person who checked us in did not know how to charge for 2 nights so told us to come back in the next morning to pay for the second night. The place was so dirty, we went out and bought sheets, pillow covers and candles for the odor. Before we spent the second night, we bought black garbage bags to cover the window to block excessive light from sign, The price and location , close to West Point and limited availability
in other hotels, and $73 compared to $300 at Thayer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011 via mobile

I'm greeted by an indian gent who can't speak english. I asked how much the rooms go for and he pointed to a sheet to fill out. I asked again and he said '50'. I then asked if he offered a military rate but go no response. On my way out the door he quickly said '45'. I'm always looking for deals and this price was good.

I get into my cubical sized room and start looking over the beds, the busted tv stand holding what could be a 17in tv with no remote, and the bathroom. There were hairs scattered all throughout the bed sheets and pillows, not to mention all the burn holes. Peeling paint on the walls and ceiling. The only impressing part is the tiny bathroom. Looks like a clean toilet, sink, and a decient stand-up shower. The room itself smells musky and the shower has an odor of mildew.

In all honesty, you get what you paid for. I stayed at the holiday in express last week down the street at a military rate of $124. This place was $45 cash. Would you be complaining if you just saved $80 for a place to lay your head for one night?

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Very quaint little motel in upstate NY. Was looking at westpoin and needed a clean place to stay. Pointersecho was clean, close by and a great little 3 start motel.

The owner - Hema is a Gem and gave us directions, helped us with a charger and provided great assistance to us with change, directions and extra linens. Great little place.

  • Liked — Service, Cleanliness, Staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
07450
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

ugly rooms looks like people have died in there before. people give dirty looks when you say that you're staying there.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — sleaping
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Highland Falls hotels

singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Beautiful location, clean rooms and last but not the least one of the most caring hosts you can ever find.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

This is a quite small motel that looks like nothing much from the outside. The room that we stayed in was very clean and well-kept and everything was in perfect order. The bathroom was especially clean. The owners of the motel helped us jump-start our car and offered us a ride into town, they went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — Not very close to restaurants/bars
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointers Echo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointers Echo Motel

Address: 1610 Route 9W North, Highland Falls, NY 10928
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pointers Echo Hotel Highland Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointers Echo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.