We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great Mexican in a really tiny town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Mexican Restaurant

Hacienda Mexican Restaurant
145 Main St, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1515
845-446-0406
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really great Mexican in a really tiny town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hacienda was a great little place that was inviting from the outside as we drove through the tiniest town of Highland Falls, NY. I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised- excellent service, unique authentic atmosphere and tasty large portions. We were greeted to thousands of strands of colored ribbon hanging from the ceiling and several smiling staff members who quickly seated us and put hot chips and salsa on our table. I had the chicken soup courtesy of recommendations from other review sites, which did steer me in the right direction – so yummy and full of chicken!! For dinner we both had combo dishes that were the perfect authentic cheesy Mexican fare you’d look for in any good Mexican joint. In a town with little to chose from- this place shines!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for the Middle of Nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a Mexican food junkie, I am very picky about what and where I eat. This restaurant is run by actual Mexican people who make pretty good food. They have an extensive tequila selection and a cool bar atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican north on the Hudson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Few restaurants to choose from in Highland Falls and this one is reasonable if you like Mexican Food. Not the best Mexican Ive ever had, but on par with many of the franchise Mexican restaurants like On the Border and Chevy's. Prices are reasonable as well as portion size. Staff is friendly and helpful

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We eat A LOT of mexican food amd this was among the very best. Planning on going back before we head out of town. However my husband will be sure to pronounce chimichanga more clearly as they brought him enchiladas. He said they were excellent enchiladas though! He is not one to fuss!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING in EVERY WAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We LOVE this place, and we will be back. VERY generous cocktails, outstanding Guacamole, food is only spicy if you ask for it that way. Absolutely top notch service!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Highland Falls, NY
Highland Falls, NY
 

Been to Hacienda Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.