We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Point Motel

Save Saved
You added West Point Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Point Motel
156 Main Street, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Highland Falls
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

The rooms were clean, neat and well laid out. The bathroom was impeccable. The staff was friendly and attentive. The coffee was great. Checking in and out was a breeze. Great location. In walking distance to West Point and very close to the Storm King Art Center. Will definitely return!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you very much for such kind words. We are always trying to improve our little motel here in the beautiful Hudson Valley next to West Point. As we speak we continue to remodel our rooms with new bedding, furniture, bathrooms, carpets, wall coverings and sinks. We feel our new and repeat customers will notice the difference and value the improvements to our property. Once again, thanks for the kind review and hopefully see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
12
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Nothing fancy, but they provide a clean room at a decent price especially in that area. Decent muffin spread in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
We value your feedback concerning our rates. Even though we are the closest motel within walking distance of West Point we are always concerned with our rates. They are very, very competitive with others properties within the area. Our biggest plus is the fact that all our rooms have two queen beds: standard. In order to accomplish this, we constructed all our rooms, from the start, to be larger in square footage to hold this bedding and furniture. We continue to receive comments from our loyal customers concerning the large size of our rooms. We feel when you put a little extra from the start, over the long term, our customers benefit from it. And it shows. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington ma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My family stayed here for UMSA graduation. The rooms were clean and good sized. I had always avoided it when visiting because I didn't know anything about it. It's not fancy. Wish I had stayed earlier for other USMA events. The staff was courteous and most helpful. If I have to go back again for any reason, I will definately book here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My brother is currently a cadet at USMA-- and as many of the families of cadets know, lodging can be expensive/hard to find. We (my brother and I) stayed at the Army Five Star Inn the first night, but unfortunately they were booked solid the second night of our trip (also a good place to stay-but only available to family members and active duty). Luckily the West Point Motel was able to put us up for the second night. I really can't find reason to complain. It's not a Hilton, but honestly, for the amount of time we spent in the room, it was worth it. It's a standard motel, which I would probably rank higher than your average Super 8 or Econolodge. There was one gentleman there who was checking us in and out, he was pretty nice and down to earth. The hotel isn't too far from the post, though it advertises "walking distance" to WP-- it depends on what someone considers walking distance. It seemed like it was a 15-20 min walk I think-- so not too bad, but it could waste time if you were in a hurry to "be on time" (early- for those of you who know how WP works). The room seemed clean enough. The hotel seems like it is on the older side, but nothing was breaking/falling apart from what we could tell. We paid $107 with tax, which is comparable to the price range you are going to pay anywhere in Highland Falls. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

What a DUMP!!!!!!! Great location to West Point; however, the motel left a lot to be desired. The carpeting was not only dirty but also had dried gum and cigarette burns in it. I don't believe a piece of furniture had been moved in years as the dust was unbelievable. In the shower/tub area, apparently the rod where you hang your wash cloth had broken, so they replaced it with a rusted pipe and bolts. They should have paid US to stay there. In addition, they had a snack area with no snacks and looked like the place hadn't been tended to in years. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Liked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!!!
  • Disliked — DISGUSTING.....DIRTY....NEEDS MAJOR RENOVATION
  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Since operating the motel from 1985, I have had very few compliants like one displayed above. Our good name in this business is everything. If a customer is not happy with our accommodations we make every effort to set it right, immediately. However, sometimes the customer must make us aware of this. In this case we were not afforded that opprotunately to set it right. We only wish we had the chance to do so. If this person were to return, we believe he or she would have a vastly different opinon of us now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Address: 156 Main Street, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Point Motel is a cozy, independently owned family business located in the historic Hudson Valley of New York State. Three modern buildings comprise extra large accommodations within a short stroll of our nation's service academy at West Point. All our rooms have two queen size beds, 25 inch cable-ready TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, direct dial phones, wake up service, and free high speed internet. Ample parking and a short walk to area stores, library, places of worship and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.