We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fits The Bill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Point Motel to your Saves list
West Point Motel
156 Main Street, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Highland Falls
Minnesota, USA.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fits The Bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

West Point Motel is exactly what their website communicates. Great location. Clean. Spacious rooms. Accommodating staff. FREE continental breakfast. We stayed a couple of nights, and would have no hesitation staying again. It fit the bill for what our family wanted and needed for the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear MNTraveler59:

Greetings and Thank You for your kind review on TripAdvisor during your stay with us. Yes, we believe we are what we are and nothing else. As you mentioned our rooms are indeed clean and spacious. We try our best to achieve this day in and day out. Plus, our rates are more than competitive with those of our neighboring hoteliers, even the large chain hotels. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Gus Koutsourades, Manager, West Point Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
13
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Doing business at West Point, I needed someplace nearby and inexpensive to stay. Used to having a more generous budget on projects and staying in chain hotels, I was not particularly enthused by the idea of a motel. My expectations admittedly were not high, but I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to my room at the West Point Motel. I can't speak for all the rooms (seems like they may vary a bit), but mine had clearly been renovated recently, and it was renovated by someone who paid attention to detail. The carpet was new and soft, there was a new 39" Samsung LED flat screen on the dresser, new wallpaper, and big crown moldings all around. The bathroom was new floor to ceiling; nice tile on the floor, AND on the walls above the bath/shower stall (no peeling mildewy wallpaper as other reviewers have mentioned), and the toilet was a new Kohler one-piece (less crevices for stuff to hide). Bath/shower fixtures were new, brushed-nickel, and easy to operate. All the grout and caulking was new and clean and nothing about my room smelled musty. The sink/vanity outside the bathroom was also new and clean, and had a beautiful big mirror over it with good lighting.

Other reviewers should recognize that it's a family-run establishment in a quaint/rural (but beautiful) NY town. It's not going to stack up to a Marriott, and shouldn't be reviewed as such, but it was exactly what I needed for my time in Highland Falls, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends/coworkers. I know ownership/management keeps an eye on these reviews, so thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, General Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear raqu2: You have just restored our faith in humanity! Thanks for being objective in your recent TripAdvisor review. Yes, we are a small, family run business. Yes, we are a motel. Yes, we are not a Marriott. However, we believe we offer a product almost on par with most of the big boys. We will continue to improve and hopefully make current and future customers happy with our accommodations in this beautiful Hudson Valley region. Once again we salute you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy state of the art hotel this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep while in town this is the place. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the room was an ample size.

Room Tip: If you are unable to navigate steps make sure you ask for a room on the first floor. Also, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed at a few hotels / motels in Highland falls and this one was the best. Best value great location close to West Point. Nice clean rooms. Loved the free coffee and doughnuts! I stayed there twice. Friendly professional staff. If I went back to Highland falls I would definitely stay at the West Point Motel!! They even had fresh flowers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Best deal in the area. Had relatives staying at the Thayer( 2 1/2 times more) and at the
Holiday Inn Express (70% more) and our room was just as large and clean and even came
with a very sufficient continental breakfast. Great staff, nice quiet room and the $95 made it
even better. About a half mile from the main gate at west point and about a 1/4 mile
from the town of highlands. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We paid $95 a night for this motel. There were a grand total of 6 other rooms occupied (based on the vehicles in the parking area). They put us directly under what sounded like a herd of cattle as all they did all night long was stomp on the floor. We were located in room 101 -. The room was musty however it did look like the wall covering, plumbing fixtures and carpet were all recently renovated. The TV was small and not the new flat screen type. They must have had an issue with the reception because the picture would go grainy every hour or so. Could have been the TV's age now that I think of it. The person that checked us in was not American - and we had a small communication issue at first. The keys stuck in the door, no chain or bar on the inside to secure the room like I was used to. No plastic bags in the ice bucket or trash can.
They say the hotel is within walking distance to West Point Not so unless you plan on going for a substantial hike. If you are elderly do not stay in this hotel because of the lack of any level walking area. I would probably not stay at this hotel again simply because of the lack of security I felt. It's not in the greatest area, but then again Highland Falls isn't the best area.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor motel room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I would like to respond to a recent review that showed us in an unfavorable light in TripAdvisor. This concerns the review for August 28, 2013. First off I must say that at anytime anything is wrong with the accommodations, the customer should always let the management know of the problems. This reviewer did not mention any problems with the room either during the stay or at checkout. With that said, I just want to run down a couple of facts concerning the review.

All our rooms have double locks: once when you close the door and then with the dead bolt in the handle. We are not required to have additional chains or bars on the doors. After checkout it was noticed that a spring in the lock broke and make the key "stuck" in the door. That concerned was repaired. We never ever had an issue concerning safety and security at the motel.

About the "musty" room, all our windows do open and, as mentioned before, if we were notified, we would have made another room available.

TV: we are unaware of any problems with our reception. However, we are looking into this concern.

Walking distance to West Point: according to Map Quest, and the odometer in my car, we are 1/4 of a mile from West Point's main gate, closer if you want to go to the Visitor's Center. This is 10 to 15 minute walk; "substantial hike" I and most of my customer would say no. Unless, of course, the earth's plates have slipped, we are still at that current distance.

Next: number of rooms rented that night: according to our reservation booking we had 21 customers in house.

No plastic bags in trash cans: guilty. However, our trash cans are always clean upon arrival. We will take up this subject with motel because apparently some people have a big "concern" with trash bags.

Next: we have eight rooms that are at parking level, according to last count. This is evident in photos of the motel.

Lastly, "the person that checked us in was not American - and we had a small communication issue at first." I really take exception to this one. After reviewing the check-in with our in house camera, nothing was noticed as a "small communication issue." Moreover, our assistant manager, who was about to begin his shift, when asked did not notice, or heard, anything out of the ordinary. But then again, my wife, who checked these "guests" in, and who has a slight accent from Greece, must not be an American because of this accent even though she was nationalized as a U.S. citizen in 1985 according to her immigration papers. How about that!

In conclusion, I feel these reviewers would have rather been elsewhere then at our business. This is evident with their statement: "It's not in the greatest area, but then again Highland Falls isn't the best area." To this I would honestly say: Please, Please, stay someplace else next time you are visiting our home town.

Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the motel on a Sunday night. It is convenient to town and to West Point. The room was average and was clean. The beds were comfortable.The folks at the front desk were very friendly. Breakfast was minimal. The coffee was excellent. Would not hesitate to return. We thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Address: 156 Main Street, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.