We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterling value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonegate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sterling value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a wonderful experience to stay at this bed and breakfast. It was extremely good value at $100 for the charming and capacious blue suite. The bed was very comfortable and the room charmingly appointed. The same is true of the downstairs common rooms. My hosts, Neil and Jane, were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. They have a guest computer for those travelling without a laptop - though also wifi capability - which I used extensively. The breakfast was large, varied and of very high quality: an egg, sausage and onion casserole, apple pancakes and a pastry or muffin. There were also snacks and tea or coffee to be had through the day. I stayed there the night before and the night after a five night monastic retreat at Holy Cross monastery. I strongly recommend this absolutely first-rate hostelry.

Cab fare from Poughkeepsie railway station shouldn't be more than about $16. There are no metres on local cabs, so negotiate up front. I can recommend B&B taxi very highly: prompt, professional and reasonable on three different fares.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay near Minnewaska State Park but away from the college scene of New Paltz and we found it at Stonegate Inn.
This is a handsome Victorian structure among age old trees and pleasant landscaping, tuck away in a quiet hamlet but still close to everything.
When we stay at family run inns sometimes we dread the decor or enduring the narcissistic owners who insist on us recognizing their decorating talent. Not the case here, this inn happens to be boldly but tastefully decorated and the owners have a quiet confidence about it. The large public areas on the ground floor are nice and spacious and so are the rooms.
The generous and beautiful breakfast setting surprised us.
The other patrons who we happened to meet at the breakfast table were repeat guests and they all shared our enthusiasm for the place.
Thank you Jane and Neal. We are looking forward to staying at your place again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have an alcove with a cot or futon so your snoring partner can camp there:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although our stay was one night we would not hesitate to return in the future. Our hosts, Neil and Jane made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Fireside Suite which was well kept and spacious. Breakfast was yummy. Loved having coffee ready for early risers like ourselves.
All in all a very pleasant experience provided by a couple who love doing what they do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We needed to spend a night in the New Paltz area as we had a special office celebration to attend at the Monhonk Mountain House. I researched the MMH, but the "special" price for our one room was astronomical, just a waste of hard earned money. So I looked around on Tripadvisor and found this lovely B & B a few miles away. So glad we chose Stonegate. It is beautifully decorated and well kept. Our room had charming wallpaper--sprigs of violets! They are my Mom's favorite flower, and so of course I had to photograph them to send her a picture!

Loved our room--it even had a separate sitting room--was very nice and spacious and I wished we were staying longer. Lovely bathroom--modern and clean with plenty of room. Lots of TLC in this home. And breakfast was great! There were hot cooked items as well as cereals or pastries or fruit--whatever we wished. Neil and Jane were excellent hosts and gave us tips about visiting the area.

I should say that before our fancy dinner at the MMH, we went out to explore the walking bridge over the Hudson. Wow, what a thrill! It was a gorgeous spring day--perfect to hike the bridge and admire the mighty Hudson and surrounding mountains.

Would return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent one night at Stonegate Bed & Breakfast. The room was immaculate, the sheets nice and crisp, the room was so nicely decorated and when the sun rose this morning, OMG was it just beautiful! Jane and Neil were so friendly and gave us a few tips on how to be take advantage of the region. We will be back. Just not even 90 minutes from NYC, just 7 minutes from New Paltz (great restaurant). OH and LET US NOT FORGET, Breakfast! Jane you are an awesome chef in your own right. Stonegate is a great getaway without being far from civilization. We will be back!

Sylvie & Mike

Room Tip: Just be ready to enjoy Jane's breakfast and Neil guiding tips - THANKS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stonegate Bed and Breakfast has beautiful architecture, a calming setting, and a unique, eclectic feel. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to the aroma of a yummy home cooked breakfast and enter the dining room that always had an appealing table set. We also enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the evening.

The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. In the end it exceeded my expectations:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Stonegate Inn was a wonderful experience. Neil and Jane were great hosts. The breakfast was to die for! Love the front porch for unwinding with a glass of wine. Very close to New Paltz and the local wineries. Price was reasonble. A can't miss stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Road, Highland, NY 12528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.